APA Style 7th edition links
- 7th edition grammar and style guidelines for APA"APA Style provides a foundation for effective scholarly communication because it helps writers present their ideas in a clear, concise, and inclusive manner. When style works best, ideas flow logically, sources are credited appropriately, and papers are organized predictably. People are described using language that affirms their worth and dignity. Authors plan for ethical compliance and report critical details of their research protocol to allow readers to evaluate findings and other researchers to potentially replicate the studies. Tables and figures present information in an engaging, readable manner."
- 7th edition reference examples"More than 100 reference examples and their corresponding in-text citations are presented in the Publication Manual. Examples of the most common kinds of works that writers cite are provided on this page for your ease of use. Note that print and electronic works have the same foundation; look for the type of work (e.g., journal article, webpage) to determine the format to follow."
- Paraphrasing in 7th ed. APA style"When you paraphrase, cite the original work using either the narrative or parenthetical citation format.
Although it is not required to provide a page or paragraph number in the citation, you may include one (in addition to the author and year) when it would help interested readers locate the relevant passage within a long or complex work (e.g., a book)."
Paraphrasing is covered in Sections 8.23 and 8.24 of the APA Publication Manual, Seventh Edition - Tables and Figures in 7th edition APA"A table usually shows numerical values (e.g., means and standard deviations) and/or textual information (e.g., lists of stimulus words, responses from participants) arranged in columns and rows. A figure may be a chart, graph, photograph, drawing, plot, infographic, or any other illustration that is not a table.
The goal of any table or figure is to help readers understand your work. The best tables and figures are also attractive and accessible to all users. The APA Style guidelines for tables and figures help ensure your visual displays are formatted clearly and consistently, thus contributing to the goal of effective communication." - APA Style Blog (Great for odd questions you may have)"The APA Style Blog is the official *companion* to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. ... including reference citations of every sort, grammar and usage, the publication process, and social media." [website]
Citation Help page at SAU
Articles
A Scholarly Article from a Psychology databases
Here is an example(below and linked) of a 'single-study' research article (not a review article). Learn to identify what an experiment article looks like.
Contents should include:
- Abstract
- Method
- Participants
- Measures (a scale/test/measure of some sort, but not always)
- Data Analysis
- Results
- Discussion
Psychology journal article search
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from EBSCO indexes over 1,400 scholarly journals and contains over 8,000,000 bibliographic citations. A portion of the content is available in full-text.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from ProQuest includes over 150 high-prestige, full-text scholarly journals. Widely considered the premier psychology database.
- Research Library: Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowThis social sciences database from ProQuest contains nearly 1,900 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 350 magazines pertaining to the fields of social sciences (the 5 most prominent social science fields being economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology).
- Psychology This link opens in a new windowThis creatively-named psychology database from Gale contains over 400 full-text scholarly journals.
Helpful vids
- Using The Thesaurus in APA PsycArticles databasea 7 minute video by an SAU librarian giving tips to using the thesaurus to check for terms being official subject headings greatly focusing your search to articles actually about the concept you seek.
What is a Literature Review?
SAU Reference Librarian
Psychology Research Librarian
The Librarian, Stella Herzig, is available for individual help as well, as needed, by appointment for in-person or webex or by email or phone.
You may also just simply drop by the Research Help Desk in the Library Atrium. It is manned by a helpful Librarian M-TH 8am-9pm , F 8am-5, SA 8am-4pm, SU Noon-9pm
We also have text-a-librarian: AmbroseLib (563-607-5653) OR Email us at librefdesk@sau.edu OR phone 563-333-6245
other helpful handouts
- Student Title Page Guide, APA 7th edNOTE: These guidelines should be used to create title pages for student papers. However, if instructors or institutions provide different guidance, students should abide by those directions.
- Using PsycArticles in ProQueststep-by-step guide