Recommended Books in the SAU Library collection
Handbook of Psychology by Call Number: REF BF121 .H213 2013 V. 1-12 SAU First Floor In Library Only. We have a scanner.ISBN: 9780470619049Publication Date: 2012-10-16PROFESSOR RECOMMENDED -Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
APA Handbook of Forensic Neuropsychology by Call Number: St. Ambrose University Library Third Floor Stacks RA1147.5 .A63 2017ISBN: 9781433826948Publication Date: 2017-07-01Includes an excellent chapter on Mild traumatic brain injury / Moderate to severe traumatic brain injury .
The Cambridge Handbook of Forensic Psychology by Call Number: RA1148 .C36 2010 SAU Third FloorISBN: 9780521878098Publication Date: 2010-04-29Includes bibliographical references.--Forensic psychology has developed and extended from an original, narrow focus on presenting evidence to the courts to a wider application across the whole span of civil and criminal justice, which includes dealing with suspects, offenders, victims, witnesses, defendants, litigants and justice professionals. This handbook provides an encyclopedic-style source regarding the major concerns in forensic psychology. It is an invaluable reference text for practitioners within community, special hospital, secure unit, prison, probation and law enforcement forensic settings, as well as being appropriate for trainees and students in these areas. It will also serve as a companion text for lawyers and psychiatric and law enforcement professionals who wish to be apprised of forensic psychology coverage. Each entry provides a succinct outline of the topic, describes current thinking, identifies relevant consensual or contested aspects and alternative positions. Readers are presented with key issues and directed towards specialized sources for further reference.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: 7th edition by Call Number: First floor REF BF 76.7 .P83 2019 AND to take home SAU Library Second Floor BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from citation examples to the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language.
APA Handbook of the Psychology of Women by Call Number: HQ1206 .A723 2018ISBN: 9781433827921Publication Date: 2017-10-01From modern sexism to gender microaggressions: Understanding contemporary forms of sexism and their influence on diverse women.
Films on Demand (SAU users only)
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis database is restricted to SAU community users only. These users can create an account in Films on Demand to save searches and videos in personal playlists onsite.
- Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new windowThis streaming video product includes over 13,000 video clips and over 5,000 full-length videos covering a range of historical topics and eras.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a video streaming service that provides access to over 30,000 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. Can be viewed on-and-off-campus and is completely free for the SAU community.
Need something we don't have?
Have you found the perfect article but don't know if we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.
1. We may have access to the journal in another database. In Library Central, you'll find the Journals A-Z List. From here, you can check a search by journal name and retrieve a comprehensive list of databases in which our journals appear.
2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public--you might find an openly available copy of your article.
3. Using Interlibrary Loan, the library can ask other libraries that subscribe to the journal to send an electronic copy of the article you want. Set up a free user account with your SAU network login to request articles and books. Interlibrary Loan is a service offered to SAU students, faculty & staff only.
- Using Google Scholar Effectively as an SAU studentLink your gmail profile to Google Scholar to see an Access@SAU link to our databases!
Psychology Research Librarian
The Librarian is available for individual help as well, as needed, by appointment or drop by the library reference desk.
Psychology journal article search
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from EBSCO indexes over 1,400 scholarly journals and contains over 8,000,000 bibliographic citations. A portion of the content is available in full-text.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from ProQuest includes over 150 high-prestige, full-text scholarly journals. Widely considered the premier psychology database.
- Research Library: Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowThis social sciences database from ProQuest contains nearly 1,900 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 350 magazines pertaining to the fields of social sciences (the 5 most prominent social science fields being economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology).
- Psychology This link opens in a new windowThis creatively-named psychology database from Gale contains over 400 full-text scholarly journals.
An example of a scholarly article that you can find in PsycINFO & PsycArticles
These peer-reviewed journal articles are not free from a Google Search, SAU subscribes to them through ProQuest Central:
It is articles like these your professors want you to use in papers and projects.
- Leadbeater, B. J., Ames, M. E., & Linden‐Carmichael, A. N. (2019). Age‐varying effects of cannabis use frequency and disorder on symptoms of psychosis, depression and anxiety in adolescents and adults. Addiction, 114(2), 278-293. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.This is an empirical quantitative study - original research article.
(If you click on the title, once in, click on Get Full Text green button to the right)
Helpful vids
- Using The Thesaurus in APA PsycArticles databasea 7 minute video by an SAU librarian giving tips to using the thesaurus to check for terms being official subject headings greatly focusing your search to articles actually about the concept you seek.
Interlibrary Loan at SAU
- Order any article or book (if it is not full-text or physically in the SAU librarySign in with your usual SAU creds (like for Blackboard or the Portal)
Book Subject searches for Psychology
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowLibrary Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
-
Try using the advanced search in Library Central and limiting to SUBJECT on the left drop down menu.
-
PsychologyCheck the narrower terms too:Psychology -- Research -- Methodology.Psychology, AppliedPsychology, ExperimentalForensic psychologyGenetic psychologyPsychology, PathologicalPsychophysiology
E-books in Psychology at SAU - fulltext
- Full-text E-books on Psychology at SAUSAU users only. Once in, add your keyword to the search or explore the left side menu of that result list for Subject or for Category.
- Full-text "Very Short Introduction" series eBooks on PsychologySAU users can sign into Library Central on the upper right corner once in this list to access the full-text.
Selected Scholarly Web Sites
- Psi Chi -- International Honor Society in Psychologyencouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology. Membership is open to graduate and UNDERGRADUATE men and women who are making the study of psychology one of their major interests, and who meet the minimum qualifications. Psi Chi is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is an affiliate of the American Psychological Association (APA). It has information about the field, internship opportunities, grants, publications they can access and so on.
- National Institute of Mental Healthan authoritative source.
- Statistics from the NIMHin sections by Prevalence, Suicide, Disability and Cost. An excellent source for data.
- Classics in the History of PsychologySorted by Author - from York University, Toronto, Canada
- The American Psychological Association"The largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States. APA is the world's largest association of psychologists, with more than 134,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members."
- DSM-5 -- The Fifth Edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.The site includes information on implementation of the manual, answers frequently asked questions, lists DSM-5 corrections, and provides a mechanism for submitting questions and feedback regarding implementation of the manual. Researchers and clinicians will also soon be able to provide us with feedback on the usefulness of the forthcoming online assessment measures of cross-cutting symptoms, disorder severity, personality, and disability. We will soon also provide links to educational webinars about the DSM-5, and listings of planned trainings across the US and abroad. The site will continue to provide historical information about the development process and overall rationale for changes from DSM-IV.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR by Call Number: St Ambrose University Library First Floor Reference REF RC455.2.C4 D54 2022ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022
- DSM-5 Information CenterNews stories about the new DSM and includes videos too.
A note to users concerning database searching
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.
Current News on Mental Health and Mental Disorders
You can do more in-depth searches for current news in mental health topics page at
NYTimes Topic pages on Health
Loading ...
Narrowing your Topic
- Developing Strong Thesis StatementsThis guide from Harvard Writing Lab "will help you develop and refine the arguments in your writing."
- PsycInfo Classification Codes"Every record in PsycINFO receives a classification code, which is used to categorize the document according to the primary subject matter. These classification codes can help you target your search by allowing you to restrict retrieval to a specific category."
- Writing for Psychology Majorsfrom Harvard University
SAU Reference Librarian
Helpful Writing Guides
Undergraduate Writing in Psychology by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks BF76.7 .L36 2021ISBN: 9781433833892Publication Date: 2021"Why psychology students (and not just English majors) have to write -- Starting your paper : finding the thread of your story -- Extracting the useful nuggets from a literature search -- How to write your psychology paper with style : general tips -- Bringing the audience up to speed with literature reviews -- Telling an original story through a research paper -- The rest of the story : title, abstract, references, and tables -- Reshaping your story for different audiences : other types of writing in psychology.
"This accessible, practical guide to undergraduate writing takes the reader step by step through the process of developing research questions or theses, conducting literature searches, analyzing and synthesizing the literature, writing the paper, and more. Students will learn how to analyze and organize ideas for literature reviews, as well as how to prepare each section of a scientific research paper (introduction, method, results, discussion). e chapters are full of advice and resources, including a checklist and self-quiz, a sample grading rubric that an instructor might use, example reference formats, and several before-and-after writing samples showing marked-up changes. Bonus guidance is given for communicating effectively with instructors and preparing conference posters."--Publisher."
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BF76.7 .B35 2018ISBN: 9781433827075Publication Date: 2018"This primer explains how to write clear, compelling, well-organized research papers. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision--each step is broken down and illustrated with examples. In addition, a bonus chapter discusses how to combat procrastination. You will learn that the best writing is done in chunks over long periods of time and that writing is a skill that improves with practice. By following the advice in this book, you can not only get through dreaded writing assignments, but also become a more proficient writer. This book is part of APA's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish."
Helpful Handouts
- Experimental Method The prime method of inquiry in science is the experiment. The key features are control over variables, careful measurement, and establishing cause and effect relationships. An experiment is an investigation in which a hypothesis is scientifically tested. In an experiment, an independent variable (the cause) is manipulated and the dependent variable (the effect) is measured; any extraneous variables are controlled. An advantage is that experiments should be objective. The views and opinions of the researcher should not affect the results of a study. This is good as it makes the data more valid, and less bias. There are three types of experiments you need to know: Find them here.
- Where psych books are on the SAU library shelvesThe LC call numbers on second floor.
- Using Google Scholar effectively as an SAU studentStep-by-step directions for syncing your SAU google email account to Google Scholar so as to see what results from the scholar list SAU may have full-text in our SAU subscription databases.