LibGuides: Psychology Research Guide: PYSC105 & 215

Recommended Books in the SAU library collection

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Library, First Floor Reserves BF76.7 .P83 2020 and in Reference First Floor REF BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2020
The standard in the field of Psychology for citations and writing papers. 7th edition now standard.

General Book and Article Searching: Library Central

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!

LC Call numbers for Psychology Books

Where Psych books are on the Library shelves
This handout will give you specific call numbers to locate the books on the second floor of the library

Helpful Handouts

If you are in a database and want to get the PERMALINK of an article.
Do not use the browser URL, look here for where the permalink lives in the database detailed record for an article you find.
APA Classification Codes
"Every record in PsycINFO receives a classification code, which is used to categorize the document according to the primary subject matter. These classification codes can help you target your search by allowing you to restrict retrieval to a specific category."
How to recognize an original research study article (not a review article)

Some psychology journals are in Print form on our shelves, Ask your librarian to see them!

Reference Hours when classes are in session

Monday-Thursday, 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday, 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, No reference services; building open 1-5pm
Sunday, 1pm - 9:00 p.m.

Reference Desk 563/333-6245
Email at : librefdesk@sau.edu

Do you have a specific Assignment?

The class assignment sheet given to you by your particular professor lists any specific criteria the article must meet. Be alert!

The Librarian is available for individual help as well, as needed. We can meet at the library or on Webex. Contact us to set it up.

Psychology journal article search

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This psychology database from EBSCO indexes over 1,400 scholarly journals and contains over 8,000,000 bibliographic citations. A portion of the content is available in full-text.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This psychology database from ProQuest includes over 150 high-prestige, full-text scholarly journals. Widely considered the premier psychology database.
Research Library: Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
This social sciences database from ProQuest contains nearly 1,900 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 350 magazines pertaining to the fields of social sciences (the 5 most prominent social science fields being economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology).
Psychology This link opens in a new window
This creatively-named psychology database from Gale contains over 400 full-text scholarly journals.

Helpful vids

Using The Thesaurus in APA PsycArticles database
a 7 minute video by an SAU librarian giving tips to using the thesaurus to check for terms being official subject headings greatly focusing your search to articles actually about the concept you seek.

An example Article

Zvolensky, M. J., Cougle, J. R., Johnson, K. A., Bonn-Miller, M., & Bernstein, A. (2010). Marijuana use and panic psychopathology among a representative sample of adults. Experimental and Clinical Psychopharmacology, 18(2), 129-134. doi:https://doi.org/10
"Abstract: "This study examined the relations between marijuana use and panic attacks and panic disorder using a large representative survey of adults (N = 5,672; 53% women; M age = 45.05 years, SD = 17.9) conducted in the United States (Kessler et al., 2004). After adjusting for sociodemographic variables (age, marital status, income, education, race, and sex) and the presence of a lifetime substance use disorder, lifetime marijuana use was significantly associated with increased odds of a lifetime panic attack history. Lifetime marijuana use also was significantly associated with an increased risk of current (past-year) panic attacks; however, this relation was not significant when controlling for nicotine dependence. Lifetime marijuana use was significantly associated with increased odds of a lifetime diagnosis of panic disorder as well as a current (past-year) diagnosis of panic disorder. Current (past-year) marijuana use was significantly associated with both lifetime and current panic attacks, but not current or lifetime panic disorder. Results are discussed in relation to the novel information they offer in regard to understanding the putative marijuana use–panic psychopathology association(s). (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2016 APA, all rights reserved) (Source: journal abstract)"
more...less...
Methodology: Quantitative Study & Empirical Study
Subject:
Anxiety (major);
Cannabis (major);
Major Depression (major);
Mental Health (major);
Psychiatric Symptoms (major);
Onset (Disorders);
Psychosis

Need something we don't have here?

Have you found the perfect article but don't know if we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.

1. We may have access to the journal in another database. In Library Central, you'll find the Journals A-Z List. From here, you can check a search by journal name and retrieve a comprehensive list of databases in which our journals appear.

2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public--you might find an openly available copy of your article.

3. Using Interlibrary Loan, the library can ask other libraries that subscribe to the journal to send an electronic copy of the article you want. Set up a free user account with your SAU network login to request articles and books. Interlibrary Loan is a service offered to SAU students, faculty & staff only.