LibGuides: Philosophy: A Guide to SAU Library Resources: Home

Online Reference Books (SAU only)

Credo Reference: 27 full-text reference books on Philosophy
You can also do keyword searches in them.
more...less...
Available only to the SAU community
Quotation Books online

Online Full-Text eBooks (SAU students only)

Streaming video

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This database is restricted to SAU community users only. These users can create an account in Films on Demand to save searches and videos in personal playlists onsite.
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
This education database contains over 750 films which might be of interest to Education majors.
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
This streaming video product includes over 13,000 video clips and over 5,000 full-length videos covering a range of historical topics and eras.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an video streaming service that provides access to over 30,000 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. Can be viewed on-and-off-campus and is completely free for the SAU community.

LC Call numbers for Philosophy Books

Where Philosophy Books are on the Library Shelves
This handout will give you the call numbers to browse the shelves.

Recommended Books in the SAU library collection

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig (Editor)
Call Number: St. Ambrose University Library First Floor Reference REF B51 .R68 1998
ISBN: 0415073103
Publication Date: 1998
"Includes bibliographical references and index. --The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is the most ambitious international philosophy project in many years. Edited by Edward Craig and assisted by thirty specialist subject editors. Over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length - thematic, biographical and national 10 volumes consisting of over 5 million words of text plus considerable bibliographic materialOver 1200 authors from all over the world. The importance of the REP is not to be found just in the sheer size of the project but also in its breadth of subject matter. It covers: The core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions The usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy The philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America" Professor Approved!
Encyclopedia of the Mind by Harold Pashler (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF441 .E53 2013 - Library First Floor Reference, we have a scanner.
ISBN: 9781412950572
Publication Date: 2013
"Description: It's hard to conceive of a topic of more broad and personal interest than the study of the mind. In addition to its traditional investigation by the disciplines of psychology, psychiatry, and neuroscience, the mind has also been a focus of study in the fields of philosophy, economics, anthropology, linguistics, computer science, molecular biology, education, and literature. In all these approaches, there is an almost universal fascination with how the mind works and how it affects our lives and our behavior. Studies of the mind and brain have crossed many exciting thresholds in recent years, and the study of mind now represents a thoroughly cross-disciplinary effort. Researchers from a wide range of disciplines seek answers to such questions as: What is mind? How does it operate? What is consciousness? This Encyclopedia brings together scholars from the entire range of mind-related academic disciplines from across the arts and humanities, social sciences, life sciences, and computer science and engineering to explore the multidimensional nature of the human mind."
Dictionary of Early American Philosophers by John R. Shook (Editor)
Call Number: REF B 851 .D53 2012 Vol.1-2, First Floor In House Use only. We have a scanner.
ISBN: 9781843711827
Publication Date: 2012
Ethics - Questions and Morality of Human Actions by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: REF BJ63 .E54 2019 -- Library First Floor Reference, we have a scanner.
ISBN: 9781682179284
Publication Date: 2019
"Description: Volume 1: Wondering about ethics -- The concepts of ethics -- Theories & traditions -- Theorists and practitioners.
Volume 2 : Politics, government, law, human rights and war -- Politics & government -- Law & human rights -- War.
Volume 3: Ethics & professional practices -- Bioethics: health, medicine & morality -- Economics & business -- Science, technology & the environment.
Volume 4: Ethics & human identities -- Religion & ethics -- Gender, sexuality & reproduction -- Race, ethnicity & tribalism -- Hope, happiness & the future.
The third edition covers topics of recent interest in the twenty-first century, such as Heroic Medicine, Gender Identity, Wealth Inequality, LGBTQ Issues, and more. This encyclopedic work includes more than 1,000 essays organized by broad categories related to ethical issues."
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Donald M. Borchert
Call Number: REF B51 .E53 2006 vol. 1-10 SAU Library First Floor In-house use only. We have a scanner.
ISBN: 9780028657806
Publication Date: 2005
Includes bibliographical references and index.--

Philosopher's Index for journal articles and eBooks in Philosophy

Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database designed to help researchers easily find publications of interest in the field of philosophy. Please remember that SAU students and faculty can use Interlibrary Loan to obtain materials in this index that are not full-text there.

Jstor database

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Choose the Philosophy journals in Advanced Search screen.

Using Jstor for Philosophy topics: A Guide
Step-by-step guide.

Proquest Central

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.

Using ProQuest for Philosophy Research in biomedical ethics
A step-by-step guide
Using ProQuest effectively for Business Ethics
A step-by-step guide

Library Central

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!

Journal of Science Fiction and Philosophy

Journal of Science Fiction and Philosophy
"a peer-reviewed, online, open access journal that aims to foster the appreciation of science fiction as a medium for philosophical reflection. It focuses on the analysis of philosophical themes in science fiction in all formats and on their use for the discussion, teaching, and narrative modeling of philosophical ideas.
The journal aims both to serve as a medium for academic dialogue and to attract and introduce a non-academic public to philosophical discussions."
more...less...
The Journal is free; registration is not necessary. Registering as a Reader allows you to receive updates whenever new articles are posted, or when there is a new Call for Papers. We will not use your information for any other purposes.
SAU Professor Dr. Alfredo Mac Laughlin is the editor.

Good Philosophy Websites

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
" the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). "
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)
"The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article. The IEP articles are written by experts but not for experts in analogy to the way the Scientific American magazine is written by scientific experts but not primarily for scientific experts."
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CONCISE CONCEPTS BY WOMEN PHILOSOPHERS
compiled by professors of Philosophy
A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
"This is a concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy."
A guide to Logical Fallacies
"The point of an argument is to give reasons in support of some conclusion. An argument commits a fallacy when the reasons offered do not support the conclusion. These pages describe the known logical fallacies."

SAU Journals List

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy in the SAU Library Central

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy
Myriad different companions in a wide range of Philosophy subjects from Arabic Philosophy to Socrates. Try typing "Cambridge Companions to Philosophy" into SAU Library Central Advanced Search Screen under TITLE. Click on the link above.

A note to users concerning database searching

If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.

SAU Reference Librarian

Stella Herzig

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Library 124

563-333-6056

Subjects: English & Literature, Hot Topics, Philosophy, Psychology, Theology & Catholic Studies

Need something we don't have?

Have you found the perfect article but don't know if we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.

1. We may have access to the journal in another database. In Library Central, you'll find the Journals A-Z List. From here, you can check a search by journal name and retrieve a comprehensive list of databases in which our journals appear.

2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public--you might find an openly available copy of your article.

3. Using Interlibrary Loan, the library can ask other libraries that subscribe to the journal to send an electronic copy of the article you want. Set up a free user account with your SAU network login to request articles and books. Interlibrary Loan is a service offered to SAU students, faculty & staff only.

Using Google Scholar Effectively as an SAU student
Link your gmail profile to Google Scholar to see an Access@SAU link to our databases!

Helpful Handouts

Helpful tips for writing Philosophy papers.
This handout includes a list of the print journals in Philosophy that we own in the SAU Library. It also has links to citation style help.

PhilPapers.org - Free Articles on Web

PhilPapers.org
PhilPapers uses advanced trawling techniques and large-scale crowd-sourcing to monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. Our index currently includes 2,481,698 research books and articles. Over 5,000 individuals have contributed content to our index.

PhilPapers includes an Open Access archive that is integrated with its citation index. This innovative fusion has enabled PhilPapers' archive to quickly become the primary open access archive of research in philosophy.

PhilPapers' index and its archive are integrated with the largest structured bibliography in the field. PhilPapers' structured bibliography organizes half a million entries into 5,638 topics at different levels of generality. Classification is maintained by a combination of automatic classification, crowd-sourcing, and curation work done by approximately 400 appointed academics.

Podcasts about Philosophy

History of Philosophy
The podcast recommended as excellent by SAU professor Dr. MacLaughlin.
philosophy bites
podcasts of top philosophers interviewed on bite-sized topics.
The Philosopher's Zone
"The simplest questions often have the most complex answers. The Philosopher's Zone is your guide through the strange thickets of logic, metaphysics and ethics."
The Minefield
"In a world marked by wicked social problems, The Minefield helps you negotiate the ethical dilemmas, contradictory claims and unacknowledged complicities of modern life."
Philosophize This!
"For anyone interested in an educational podcast about philosophy where you don't need to be a graduate-level philosopher to understand it. In chronological order, the thinkers and ideas that forged the world we live in are broken down and explained."

Online Multimedia

University of California Television: Philosophy
"University of California Television (UCTV) is a public-serving media outlet featuring programming from throughout the University of California, the nation's premier research university made up of ten campuses, three national labs and affiliated institutions."