Hot Topics: Terrorism: Law and Legislation

Includes bibliographical references and index.--Contents:
The challenge of universality and cultural/religious legitimacy. Islamic ambivalence to political violence : Islamic law and international terrorism -- Problems of universal cultural legitimacy for human rights -- Toward a cross cultural approach to defining international standards of human rights : the meaning of cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment -- Prospects of mediation for the paradox of universality and state self regulation. State responsibility under international human rights law to change religious and customary laws -- Islamic foundations of religious human rights -- Cultural transformation and normative consensus of the best interest of the child -- Toward an Islamic hermeneutics for human rights -- Regional and global perspectives. Competing claims to religious freedom and communal self determination in Africa -- Globalization and jurisprudence: an Islamic perspective -- The politics of religion and the morality of globalization -- Global citizenship and human rights: from Muslims in Europe to European Muslims.

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.--Terrorism and political violence as a field is growing and expanding. This volume provides a cross-disciplinary analysis -- political, philosophical and legal -- in a single text and covers the full spectrum of issues, including torture, terrorism causes and cures, legal issues, globalization and counter-terrorism.

Includes bibliographical references and index.--Terrorist attacks regularly trigger the enactment of repressive laws, setting in motion a vicious cycle that threatens to devastate civil liberties over the twenty-first century. In this clear-sighted book, Bruce Ackerman peers into the future and presents an intuitive, practical alternative. He proposes an "emergency constitution" that enables government to take extraordinary actions to prevent a second strike in the short run whileprohibiting permanent measures that destroy our freedom over the longer run. Ackerman's "emergency constitution" exposes the dangers lurking behind the popular notion that we are fighting a "war" on terror. He criticizes court opinions that have adopted the war framework, showing how they uncritically accept extreme presidential claims to sweeping powers. Instead of expanding the authority of the commander in chief, the courts should encourage new forms of checks and balances that allow for decisive, but carefully controlled, presidential action during emergencies. In making his case, Ackerman explores emergency provisions in constitutions of nations ranging from France to South Africa, retaining aspects that work and adapting others. He shows that no country today is well equipped to both fend off terrorists and preserve fundamental liberties, drawing particular attention to recent British reactions to terrorist attacks. Written for thoughtful citizens throughout the world, this book is democracy's constitutional reply to political excess in the sinister era of terrorism.

Includes bibliographical references and index.--Ball reminds us once again that, in a time of war, there will always be a great tension between the need for security and the constitutional protection of due process. Ultimately, he tells a troubling story about the relationship between absolute presidential power and the principles of representative government, one that thoughtful readers cannot afford to ignore.

In 2008 there were 149 militia groups in the United States. In 2009, that number more than tripled to 512. Johnson offers a detailed account of the growth of right-wing extremism and militias in the United States and the ever-increasing threat they pose. He provides case studies and interviews with leaders which reveal their agendas, how they recruit, and how they operate around the country. A comprehensive account of an ever-growing security concern at a time when this threat is only beginning to be realized, and is still largely ignored in many circles.