LC Call numbers for Philosophy Books
B Philosophy (General)
BC Logic
BD Speculative Philosophy
BF Psychology (stuck in the middle of Philosophy!)
BH Aesthetics
BJ Ethics (and world religions)
located on the NW corner on the level 2 in the SAU Library.
Recommended Books in the SAU library collection
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: REF B51 .R68 1998 Vol. 1-10, First floor In House Use only. We have a scanner.ISBN: 0415073103Publication Date: 1998Includes bibliographical references and index. --The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy has over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length - thematic, biographical and national 10 volumes consisting of over 5 million words of text plus considerable bibliographic material Over 1200 authors from all over the world. Many entries for your topics will be found here.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: REF B51 .E53 2006 vol. 1-10 SAU Library First Floor In-house use only. We have a scanner.ISBN: 9780028657806Publication Date: 2005Includes bibliographical references and index.--
Also try typing into a title search in Library Central Advanced Search
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy
(these include 14 different companions in a wide range of Philosophy subjects from Arabic Philosophy to Socrates.)
Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF DF757 .E53 2000ISBN: 1579581412Publication Date: 2000
Graphic of Ancient Greek Philosophy
The Stone
- The Stone"A forum for contemporary philosophers and other thinkers on issues both timely and timeless. The series moderator is Simon Critchley, who teaches philosophy at The New School for Social Research."
Syncing Google Scholar to your SAU google account
Library Central
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowLibrary Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
Philosophy Subject Terms in the SAU Library Central
Use these terms (one at a time) na search for books and articles in Library Central. Limit to BOOKS under the search bar, if you like.
- Happiness
- Nihilism
- Pragmatism
- SocratesTo get a list of Socrates as a SUBJECT, not as an author, use advanced search and drop down to SUBJECT in Library Central
- Plato
- Epictetus
- Classical Philology
- Philosophical anthropology
Philosopher's Index database for articles
- Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database designed to help researchers easily find publications of interest in the field of philosophy. Please remember we can get any article for SAU students through Interlibrary Loan
Journal of Science Fiction and Philosophy
- Journal of Science Fiction and Philosophy"a peer-reviewed, online, open access journal that aims to foster the appreciation of science fiction as a medium for philosophical reflection. It focuses on the analysis of philosophical themes in science fiction in all formats and on their use for the discussion, teaching, and narrative modeling of philosophical ideas.
The journal aims both to serve as a medium for academic dialogue and to attract and introduce a non-academic public to philosophical discussions."
Streaming video
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis database is restricted to SAU community users only. These users can create an account in Films on Demand to save searches and videos in personal playlists onsite.
- Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new windowThis streaming video product includes over 13,000 video clips and over 5,000 full-length videos covering a range of historical topics and eras.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a video streaming service that provides access to over 30,000 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. Can be viewed on-and-off-campus and is completely free for the SAU community.
All Individual Databases at SAU for Journal Articles
Good Philosophy Websites
- The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)"The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article. The IEP articles are written by experts but not for experts in analogy to the way the Scientific American magazine is written by scientific experts but not primarily for scientific experts."
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)" the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). "
- A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names"This is a concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy."
- Credo Reference Sources on PhilosophyFor SAU students and faculty/staff only.
- Quotation reference books online (SAU Users only)Have a quote and not sure who said it? Look here!
A note to users concerning database searching
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.
PhilPapers.org - Free Articles on Web
- PhilPapers.orgPhilPapers uses advanced trawling techniques and large-scale crowd-sourcing to monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. Our index currently includes 2,481,698 research books and articles. Over 5,000 individuals have contributed content to our index.
PhilPapers includes an Open Access archive that is integrated with its citation index. This innovative fusion has enabled PhilPapers' archive to quickly become the primary open access archive of research in philosophy.
PhilPapers' index and its archive are integrated with the largest structured bibliography in the field. PhilPapers' structured bibliography organizes half a million entries into 5,638 topics at different levels of generality. Classification is maintained by a combination of automatic classification, crowd-sourcing, and curation work done by approximately 400 appointed academics.
SAU Reference Librarian
Helpful Handouts
- Helpful tips for writing Philosophy papers.This handout includes a list of the print journals in Philosophy that we own in the SAU Library. It also has links to citation style help.
Need something we don't have?
Have you found the perfect article but don't know if we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.
1. We may have access to the journal in another database. In Library Central, you'll find the Journals A-Z List. From here, you can check a search by journal name and retrieve a comprehensive list of databases in which our journals appear.
2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public--you might find an openly available copy of your article.
3. Using Interlibrary Loan, the library can ask other libraries that subscribe to the journal to send an electronic copy of the article you want. Set up a free user account with your SAU network login to request articles and books. Interlibrary Loan is a service offered to SAU students, faculty & staff only.
- Using Google Scholar Effectively as an SAU studentLink your gmail profile to Google Scholar to see an Access@SAU link to our databases!