Skip to Main Content

PHIL 101 (FA 21): Books and Articles

Recommended Databases

Journal of Social Philosophy Special Issue: "Gender, Implicit Bias, and Philosophical Methodology

Volume 43, Issue 3 September 2012

For SAU users only, if off campus, right click and copy link address, then go to https://libguides.sau.edu/az.php then Wiley Interscience, then once there, paste url into the browser.

Films on Demand database

The Battle in Your Mind Full Video (52:26) Has segments on Bias (includes transcript from which to quote and provides citation)

SAU Interlibrary Loan Portal

Search Tips

  • Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases.
    • Ex: "cognitive bias" or "climate change"
  • Experiment with a variety of keywords. Brainstorm synonyms and more/less specific terms.
    • More specific for "cognitive bias": "confirmation bias" or "anchoring bias"
    • Less specific for "cognitive bias":  "bias" or "heuristics"
  • Depending on your topic, you may need to broaden or narrow the scope of your search.
  • Different disciplines use different words to talk about "bias" and "cognitive bias." 
    • Psychologist use "bias," "cognitive bias," and more specific terms like "anchoring bias" or "confirmation bias"
    • Health Professions use "bias" 
  • Subject Term Suggestions: 
    • Topic: Climate Change and Cognitive Bias
      • Climactic change
      • Climatic change--Psychological aspects
      • "Partisan bias"
      • "psychological bias"
    • Topic: Health Care and Cognitive Bias
      • "Bias" and "Cognitive bias"
      • Decision Making
      • Cognition and reasoning
      • Stereotyping
      • Racial Bias
    • Topic: General Science and Cognitive Bias
      • Experimenter Bias
      • Research design bias 
    • Topic: Education and Bias
      • Test bias
    • Topic: Immigration and Bias
    • Topic: Life/Work Balance and Bias
      • workaholic* AND bias AND balance
    • Topic: Political dialogue and Bias
      • subject(politics) AND bias AND dialogue       -for ProQuest Central database-
    • Topic: Rehabilitation of prisoners
      • convicted and bias and prisoners and employment
    • Topic: Social Media and Bias
      • "social media" and subject(bias)    -for ProQuest Central database-
    • Topic: Racism and Bias
      • subject(racism) and subject(bias)       -for ProQuest Central database-
    • Topic: Vaccinations and Bias
      • subject(vaccin*) and subject(bias)        -for ProQuest Central database-

How to find books in Library Central