Citation Help Page: Other Styles, Chicago, CSE, and more

This site contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resourcescontains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in 2017.

from the George Mason University Writing Center

Easy to follow along.... includes layout of the paper as well as instructions about footnotes. Created by Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab).

The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems: (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and the nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.
The notes and bibliography style is preferred by many in the humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.
The author-date system has long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.

Lots of instructive videos for all sorts of citation styles and how to format your papers.

Quick and Easy!

This section describes the style guidelines for writing in the sciences recommended by the Council of Science Editors in Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 8th ed.

This resource covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, formatting the references page, and accepted manuscript writing style. The bibliographical format described here is taken from the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 4th edition.

With examples **only on this first page**.

from Murdoch University