Annotation Web Sites
- Annotated BibliographiesThis sitet will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation.
- Creating an Annotated BibliographyThis brief, but informative page goes over what is an analytical, an evaluative and a summative type of annotation. Check with your teacher for what is required of you.
Books in the SAU collection
Writing the Annotated Bibliography by Call Number: Third Floor Stacks Z1001 .B395 2021ISBN: 9780367408879Publication Date: 2020Written by the director of the SAU Library, Luke Beatty
"This comprehensive and practical guide covers the elements, style, and use of annotated bibliographies in the research and writing process for any discipline; key disciplinary conventions; and tips for working with digital sources. Written jointly by a library director and a writing center director, this book is packed with examples of individual bibliography entries and full bibliography formats for a wide range of academic needs."
Annotation Helps
- How to write an AnnotationHandout for what basics to include in an annotation.
- Annotated Bibliographieswith examples.
Annotation helps
Abstracts Guides
- AbstractsThis handout provides definitions and examples of the two main types of abstracts: descriptive and informative. It also provides guidelines for constructing an abstract and general tips for you to keep in mind when drafting. Finally, it includes a few examples of abstracts broken down into their component parts.
- SIX SAMPLE ABSTRACTSFor more help contact the SAU Student Success Center, Ambrose Hall 243 x6331
- How to Write a Scientific AbstractPublished online 2013 Jun 28. doi: 10.1007/s13191-013-0299-x
