What is a Reference Source?
A reference source provides quick facts or a brief overview of a topic.- Some common reference sources are: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and almanacs.
- Reference sources provide background information and expand your basic understanding of your topic.
Image Credit: "Encyclopedia Britannica volumes" by Todd Mecklem is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Assignment For Professor MacLaughlin's class
Students will begin research for a paper on "cognitive bias" as related to various areas (in medicine, climate change, vaccination, algorithm creation, etc.)
Reference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis background and reference database contains over 1,200 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 3,500,000 full-text articles and/or chapters. Think of it as a Wikipedia you can use in your papers!
Print Reference Books
The entries you find in the reference books below can be scanned into a pdf and emailed by you.
Ask a librarian how!
Handbook of Social Psychology by Call Number: REF HM1011 .H37 2010ISBN: 9780470137475Publication Date: 2010Look in the index under Bias
APA Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF BF31 .A65 2015ISBN: 9781433819445Publication Date: 2015Look on page 123
Encyclopedia of Media and Politics by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF P95.82.U6 E47 2007ISBN: 9781568028354Publication Date: 2006Look on page 149
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF P90 .S178 2019ISBN: 9781483380834Publication Date: 2019Look on page 269
Education Today - Concepts, Issues, Policies and Politics by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF LA210 .E38 2018ISBN: 9781682177129Publication Date: 2018Look on pages: 2288, 2312-14, and 2560
Encyclopedia of Deception by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF BF637.D42 E53 2014ISBN: 9781452258775Publication Date: 2014look on pages, 223, 202 and also156, 954, 277, 955-56, 852, 954, and 959
See also Investigator bias, lie bias, and truth bias in the index.
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics, 9 Volume Set by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF BJ63 .I58 2013ISBN: 9781405186414Publication Date: 2013Look on page 4753-57, 1389-90, 1925-6, 1936, 1939, 4757
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF BF31 .E52 2000ISBN: 1557981876Publication Date: 2000Look on page 242 and page 408-09 of volume 1
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF HM1271 .E485 2015ISBN: 9781442216044Publication Date: 2014Look on pg 715
Culture Wars by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF HM1121 .C85 2014ISBN: 9780765683021Publication Date: 2010Look on page 415
Reference Websites
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a collection of peer-reviewed articles written by philosophers of an wide range of philosophy topics.
- Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.