LibGuides: BIOL 200L: Slugs: Home

Background Information on Slugs: Web Resources and Databases

Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides reliable, general background information about slugs from academic reference sources (like encyclopedias and handbooks).
Land Snails and Slugs of the Mid-Atlantic and Northeastern United States
A resource from the Carnegie Museum of Natural History with background and species information on slugs.
Slugs: A Guide to the Invasive and Native Fauna of California
This guide from the University of California Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources provides detailed background information about slugs and specific species descriptions (Distribution, ecology, descriptions).
LibrarianTip: Use the Control + F keyboard shortcut to search for a specific slug species by scientific or common name.
Wild About Illinois: Land Snails and Slugs
This resource from the Illinois Department of Natural Resources contains basic background information about the features, behavior, and range of slug species found in Illinois.

Background Information on Slugs: Reference Books

The following three books are on reserve for BIOL 200L at the SAU Library. You can ask for them at the Circulation Desk (left of the Library main entrance), and check them out for 1 day.

Slugs of Britain & Ireland: Identification, Understanding and Control by Ben Rowson
A detailed guide for slug identification, including images and diagrams.
Terrestrial Slugs by A. South
A detailed reference book on slugs with extensive information about anatomy, lifecycle, and ecology.
The Secret World of Slugs and Snails by David George Gordon; Karen Luke Fildes (Illustrator)
An introduction to slugs with general and species-specific information.

Scholarly Articles: Library Databases

Library Central
Library Central allows you to search multiple SAU Library databases at once.
Librarian tip: Remember to check the "Full Text Online" and "Peer-reviewed Journals" limiters on the left side of the results page.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database with strong collections in Biology and Environmental Science.
Librarian tip: Make use of the Advance Search function.
ScienceDirect
This science/social science database contains Elsevier's Physical Sciences & Social & Behavioral Sciences journal packages. Provides access to 3,700 full-text scholarly journals with coverage in the sciences and social sciences.

Search Tips

Try different combinations of keywords. Think about the common and scientific terms related to your experiment.
- Ex: Deroceras reticulatum, gray field slug, slug, gastropoda
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase.
- Ex: "Deroceras reticulatum"
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to narrow or expand your search.
- Ex: “Deroceras reticulatum" OR "gray field slug" OR "gray garden slug"
Use Advanced Search forms to structure your search.
Look at the bibliographies of useful articles–you can often quickly find additional relevant articles.

APA Citation

Reference examples - APA 7th
Citation examples tailored to the types of sources used in BIOL 200L classes.

APA Reference Guide
More than 100 reference examples and their corresponding in-text citations are presented in the Publication Manual. Examples of the most common kinds of works that writers cite are provided on this page for your ease of use. Note that print and electronic works have the same foundation; look for the type of work (e.g., journal article, webpage) to determine the format to follow.
Recommended Citation Generator: BibGuru
A reasonably reliable citation generator. It is important to ALWAYS CHECK GENERATED CITATIONS.