Home - Biology 200 - Slugs - LibGuides at St. Ambrose University

Background Information on Slugs: Web Resources and Databases

Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides reliable, general background information about slugs from academic reference sources (like encyclopedias and handbooks).
Land Snails and Slugs of the Mid-Atlantic and Northeastern United States
A resource from the Carnegie Museum of Natural History with background and species information on slugs.
Slugs: A Guide to the Invasive and Native Fauna of California
This guide from the University of California Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources provides detailed background information about slugs and specific species descriptions (Distribution, ecology, descriptions).
LibrarianTip: Use the Control + F keyboard shortcut to search for a specific slug species by scientific or common name.
Wild About Illinois: Land Snails and Slugs
This resource from the Illinois Department of Natural Resources contains basic background information about the features, behavior, and range of slug species found in Illinois.

Try different combinations of keywords. Think about the common and scientific terms related to your experiment.
- Ex: Deroceras reticulatum, gray field slug, slug, gastropoda
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase.
- Ex: "Deroceras reticulatum"
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to narrow or expand your search. (Learn more about Boolean operators)
- Ex: “Deroceras reticulatum" OR "gray field slug" OR "gray garden slug"
Use Advanced Search forms to structure your search.
Look at the bibliographies of useful articles–you can often quickly find additional relevant articles.

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central allows you to search multiple SAU Library databases at once.
Librarian tip: Remember to check the "Full Text Online" and "Peer-reviewed Journals" limiters on the left side of the results page.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database with strong collections in Biology and Environmental Science.
Librarian tip: Make use of the Advance Search function.

SAU Citation Help Guide
This citation help guide contains sample papers and citation generator information.
APA Style Blog
This site contains excellent examples of APA citations and detailed guidance about formatting.

The following three books are on reserve for BIO 200 - ask for them at the Circulation Desk (left of the Library main entrance).

Slugs of Britain & Ireland: Identification, Understanding and Control by Ben Rowson
A detailed guide for slug identification, including detailed images and diagrams.
Terrestrial Slugs by A. South
This is a detailed reference book on slugs with extensive information about anatomy, lifecycle, and ecology.
The Secret World of Slugs and Snails by David George Gordon; Karen Luke Fildes (Illustrator)
An introduction to slugs with general and species specific information.