LibGuides: War and Peace: The Book: Home

SAU Library Holdings

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy; Larissa Volokhonsky (Translator); Richard Pevear (Translator)
Call Number: Library Third Floor Stacks PG3366 .V6 2008b
ISBN: 9781400079988
Publication Date: 2008
The Great Comet by Steven Suskin (Editor); Dave Malloy (Notes by); Oskar Eustis (Foreword by)
Call Number: Library Third Floor Stacks ML50 .M355 N38 2016
ISBN: 9781454923282
Publication Date: 2016
Description: CD: Dust and ashes -- Charming -- Sonya alone -- Balaga -- The Great Comet of 1812.
Presents the annotated script of the musical inspired by Leo Tolstoy's "War and Peace," and includes behind-the-scenes photographs, interviews with the cast and crew, and details on the costumes, set design, and lighting.

Format: ix, 208 pages : color illustrations ; 29 cm + 1 audio disc (4 3/4 in.)..

Voĭna i mir (War and Peace in Russian)
Library Third Floor Stacks PG3365 .V6 1960
Language: Russian
War and Peace: Norton Critical Edition
Library Third Floor Stacks PG3366.V6 M3 1966
Includes Literary Criticism
War and Peace: Online Edition
This web edition published by eBooks@Adelaide.
more...less...
To the best of our knowledge, the text of this
work is in the “Public Domain” in Australia.
HOWEVER, copyright law varies in other countries, and the work may still be under copyright in the country from which you are accessing this website. It is your responsibility to check the applicable copyright laws in your country before downloading this work.
Tolstoy : a life of my father /translated from the Russian by Elizabeth Reynolds Hapgood. 1st ed..
by Aleksandra Tolstoy 1884-1979.
Library Third Floor Stacks PG3385 .T53
more...less...
543 p., [[16] p. of plates : ill.
Tolstoy: a collection of critical essays
by Ralph E. Matlaw , editor
Library Third Floor Stacks PG3386 .M36

Journal Article Database for more

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This English and literature database from EBSCO indexes over 25,000 journals and book series related to world literature, folklore, linguistics, and modern languages. Some full-text available.

The Zen of Tolstoy: How to Read War and Peace... Author:Bram, Christopher Source:Commonweal 2016 Mar 11; 143 (5): 12-16.
"It is a historical novel, which people often forget. The action feels so immediate and natural that many readers assume Tolstoy was writing about his own time. But the book was published in 1868 and was about his parents' generation." ~from the article~

Music associations

St Ambrose University Event

Fall Vocal Concert: War and Peace

Friday, October 25

7:30 p.m.

Allaert Auditorium, Galvin Fine Arts Center, St Ambrose University Campus

Professor Nathan Windt, Conductor.

Description: The St. Ambrose University Chorale, Chamber Singers, and Bella Voce vocal ensembles present "War and Peace," an eclectic pairing of classic and contemporary choral works addressing issues relating to war, conflict, peace, and understanding.
The event is free and open to the public.

Subject Headings

Napoleonic Wars, 1800-1815 -- Campaigns -- Russia -- Fiction;

Russia -- History -- Alexander I, 1801-1825 -- Fiction;

Russian fiction -- Translations into English

Tolstoy, Leo, graf, 1828-1910 books ABOUT the author himself and critical works about the author's own work.

Look for more in our Partner Libraries too!

Partner Libraries Collection: Literary Criticism of "War and Peace"
SAU students can order these to be sent from Library Central database.

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!

Understanding the novel

Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace: an audio guide
BY AMY MANDELKER
OCTOBER 30, 2017
Tolstoy’s epic masterpiece intertwines the lives of private and public individuals during the time of the Napoleonic wars and the French invasion of Russia. Balls and soirees, the burning of Moscow, the intrigues of statesmen and generals, scenes of violent battles, the quiet moments of everyday life–all in a work whose extraordinary imaginative power has never been surpassed.

In this Oxford World’s Classics audio guide, Amy Mandelker, Associate Professor of Comparative Literature at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York, discusses Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace and suggests ways of approaching this magnificent – but sometimes rather daunting – masterpiece of world literature for the first time.

Films on Demand: SAU Users Only

Neat Connections

The Origins of Nonviolence: Tolstoy and Gandhi in their historical settings by Martin Green
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks DS481.G3 G732 1986
ISBN: 0271004142
Publication Date: 1990

Satyagraha: A Film
Library, First Floor Music (OPERA M1500.G53 S38 2001).
Description: Act 1. Tolstoy -- Act 2. Tagore -- Act 3. Martin Luther King.
This visionary opera tells the story of how Mahatma Gandhi developed the philosophy of satyagraha, nonviolent active resistance, as a political revolutionary tool to fight oppression, connecting his lifework to three historical figures who advanced his philosophy: the celebrated Russian writer Leo Tolstoy, the great Indian poet and philosopher Rabindranath Tagore and the American civil rights leader Martin Luther King, Jr.
more...less...
Hugo Käch; Achim Freyer 1934-; Philip Glass; Constance DeJong; Leo Goeke; Ralf Harster; Helmut Danninger; Inga Nielsen 1946-; Georg Greiwe; Reiner Moritz Associates.; Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen.; Channel Four (Great Britain); RM Arts (Firm); Image Entertainment (Firm) c2001
Why We Hurt Each Other: Tolstoy’s Letters to Gandhi on Love, Violence, and the Truth of the Human Spirit
“Love is the only way to rescue humanity from all ills.”

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Stella Herzig

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Library 124

563-333-6056

Subjects: English & Literature, Hot Topics, Philosophy, Psychology, Theology & Catholic Studies

Iowa City Events

Public Reading of "War and Peace"
Sept.30 - Oct. 3, 9am-9pm/ Oct.4, until it is finished.
Location: Weatherdance Fountain Stage Pedestrian Mall
(Graduate Hotel in inclement weather) Iowa City, IA

The University of Iowa Stanley Museum of Art
"The disasters of War" in the Stanley Visual Classroom, third floor
IMU, Sept 26 - Dec. 8, 2019

University of Iowa's Main Library, Special Collections Reading Room
"Goya's "Diasaters of War"
and Tolstoy's "War and Peace":
A Dialogue between
Art and Literature.

Recasting Tolstoy for World War II:
Sergei Prokofiev's Opera 'War and Peace'
and the Russian Epic Tradition
Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019, 6:30pm-10:30pm
The University of Iowa School of Music, Voxman Bldg
Stark Opera Studio

War and Peace
at FilmScene
In Collaboration with the Iowa City Book Festival
and in celebration of the 150th anniversary
of Leo Tolstoy's epic,
FilmScene presents a new digital restoration
of Sergei Bondarchuk's eight-hou rmasterpiece.
Sunday Oct. 6, $25 , Significant hours
1:30pm Intro, 2pm Chapter 1, 4:45pmChap. II,
6:30pm Chap. III The Year 1812, 8pm Chap. IV.
Monday Oct. 7, and Oct 8th
Encore presentations 5:30pm-10pm.

Misc.

Institutional Repository: Univ. of South Africa
Click here for more.
From the C.M. Doke Collection.