It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Peer reviewed articles on the ethical questions raised by current biomedical research and issues. Questions are considered on the basis of concrete ethical, legal, and policy problems, and in terms of fundamental concepts, principles and theories.
These are just a few examples from the reference collection - be sure to search Library Central to find the full extent of available materials.
Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF BS680.E84 O94 2014
Publication Date: 2014
"The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics (OEBE) explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through extensive analytical and constructive treatments of a wide range of topics by leading biblical scholars and ethicists. Combining traditional theoretical frameworks, such as comparative religion, with more recent approaches (postmodern, queer and gender theory, etc.), the OEBE provides a landmark reference overview of everything from ethics in books of the Bible to modern movements and hot-button issues, such as capital punishment, bioethics, and abortion."
Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF BJ63 .I58 2013
Publication Date: 2013
"Unmatched in scholarship and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the definitive single-source reference work on Ethics, available both in print and online.
Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts
Is arranged across 9 fully cross-referenced volumes including a comprehensive index
Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics
Covers the major philosophical and religious traditions
Offers an unprecedented level of authority, accuracy and balance with all entries being blind peer-reviewed"
Indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
Atla Catholic is now contained in the main Atla Religion Database
American Theological Library Association (Atla)
Content within its scope is selected for indexing based on enduring scholarly merit. Atla CPLI contains indexing from 1981 to the present and is updated quarterly. Indexing for ATLA CPLI contains index records produced by the Catholic Library Association (CLA) from 1980 through the November 2011 update of the database. Records produced by The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) will begin appearing with the February 2012 update. Atla acquired Atla CPLI in September 2011 and holds the copyright for Atla CPLI.
"DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects)."
Comprised of more than 600 hospitals and 1,400 long-term care and other health facilities in all 50 states, the Catholic health ministry is the largest group of nonprofit health care providers in the nation.
" Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts."
Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.