Periodicals
- CommonwealThe library has print copies ranging from 1924-2012.
- National Catholic ReporterThe library has print copies for the current year, and microfilm available from 1975 forward.
Scholarly Journals
- The Hastings Center ReportThe library has print copies ranging from 1971-2007.
- Horizons: The Journal of the College Theology SocietyThe library has a full print run of this journal.
Reference Sources
These are just a few examples from the reference collection - be sure to search Library Central to find the full extent of available materials.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics by Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF BS680.E84 O94 2014ISBN: 9780190204860Publication Date: 2014"The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics (OEBE) explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through extensive analytical and constructive treatments of a wide range of topics by leading biblical scholars and ethicists. Combining traditional theoretical frameworks, such as comparative religion, with more recent approaches (postmodern, queer and gender theory, etc.), the OEBE provides a landmark reference overview of everything from ethics in books of the Bible to modern movements and hot-button issues, such as capital punishment, bioethics, and abortion."
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics, 9 Volume Set by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks BJ63 .I58 2013ISBN: 9781405186414Publication Date: 2013"Unmatched in scholarship and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the definitive single-source reference work on Ethics, available both in print and online.
Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts
Is arranged across 9 fully cross-referenced volumes including a comprehensive index
Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics
Covers the major philosophical and religious traditions
Offers an unprecedented level of authority, accuracy and balance with all entries being blind peer-reviewed"
Bioethics by Call Number: Third Floor Stacks QH332 .E52 2014ISBN: 9780028662053Publication Date: 2014
Databases
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowThis religious studies database from EBSCO includes 380 full-text scholarly journals and 2,500 indexed journals. Also includes the CATHOLIC PERIODICAL & LITERATURE INDEX, which includes essay collections, church documents, papal documents, and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
- Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThis creatively-named religious studies database from ProQuest contains nearly 300 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 50 full-text magazines.
- Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new windowThis unambitiously-named religion and philosophy database contains over 150 full-text scholarly journals.
Websites of Interest
- Vatican Library: Search and discover collections"DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects)."
- The Catholic Health Association of the United StatesComprised of more than 600 hospitals and 1,400 long-term care and other health facilities in all 50 states, the Catholic health ministry is the largest group of nonprofit health care providers in the nation.
- United States Conference of Catholic BishopsThese are the "Official” Catholic documents and views. Keep in mind that they would not include dissenting theological views.
- Religion and Ethics NewsweeklyWebsite for the weekly TV program.
- Pew Research Center: Religion and Public Life" Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts."
- Gallup Polls: Trends A-ZFind your ethical issue in this list. for polling data on it.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar gives you the ability to search a wide variety of journals easily, and to access journal articles that are freely available on the internet.
Syncing google scholar to your SAU google account
Subject Guide
MLA Citation Guides
Other Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOffers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis background and reference database contains over 1,200 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 3,500,000 full-text articles and/or chapters. Think of it as a Wikipedia you can use in your papers!
to consider
- What Is Ethics in Research & Why Is It Important?by David B. Resnik, J.D., Ph.D.
December 23, 2020