It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hot Topics: Sustainability: Social Aspects
The theme for the academic year 2013-2014 at St. Ambrose University. This guide has resources on sustainable development and conservation.
Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF HC85 .E49 2019
Publication Date: 2019
"provides a wide variety of perspectives on both traditional and more recent views of Earth's resources. Entries are diverse, with articles covering fisheries, forests, aluminum, the Industrial Revolution, the U.S. Department of the Interior, and placer mineral deposits. top resources are covered, as well as major events, milestone historical events and government laws."--Publisher.
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks K3585 .S245 2018
Publication Date: 2018
"The book discusses the development of the emerging concept of biocultural rights, which are defined as a basket of group rights. These rights are aimed at protecting the stewardship role that certain indigenous peoples and local communities have towards environment. This work provides an overview of the current ethical debate on different approaches towards the conservation of the environment and the problematic definitions of indigenous peoples and local communities."
"The volatility and uncertainty caused by digitalization, globalization, and climate change weave a common backdrop through each chapter. Using case studies drawn from Finland and the US, chapter authors explore various aspects of learning and education system design through the lenses of sustainability and human well-being to evaluate how our understanding and practice of education must transform. Using their scholarly research and experience as practitioners, the authors propose new approaches to preparing learners for a new frontier of the human experience fraught with risks but full of opportunity."
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks (HC79.E5 S5675 2018
Publication Date: 2018
"Description: Theoretical approaches to sustainable entrepreneurship research. Environmental dystopia versus sustainable development utopia : roles of businesses, consumers, institutions, and technologies / Entrepreneurial journey of Geely's founder : from institutional voids to opportunity discovery / Contradictory stakeholder expectations for sustainability reporting - a social contract theory approach / Climate change. Political economy of climate change and sustainable entrepreneurship / Breaking traditions : how entrepreneurs create communities to address climate change / Water rights in California : competition and coopetition in a dynamic environment / Social innovation processes. Social entrepreneurs and field level change : an institutional process model of social entrepreneurship / "Make love, not war?" - a process based approach to social innovation / Social innovation : combining profits and progress / Ethics of social innovation. Bioethical reasoning and the propensity of millennials to adopt sustainable development behaviors / Sustainable consumption practice : the effect of eco-friendly packaging on buying behavior based on generations "
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HC79.E5 T4759 2013
Publication Date: 2013
"This book provides a broad-ranging introduction to the concept and practice of sustainability today. It addresses the history, scope, and contested meanings of sustainability as an ethical ideal, an ascendant ideology, and a common sense approach to living in an ever more crowded world of increasingly scarce resources. Key topics covered include environmental health and ecological resilience, the promise and unintended consequences of technology, political and legal challenges, economic limits and opportunities, and cultural change. Unlike most other approaches to this crucial topic, the author argues that sustainability requires innovation and adaptation as much as the conservation of resources"
Call Number: HC79.E5 C364 2011 SAU Library Second Floor
Publication Date: 2011
Includes bibliographical references and index.--Through a series of case studies from around the world, Capitalism and Conservation presents a critique of conservation's role as a central driver of global capitalism. Features innovative new research on case studies on the connections between capitalism and conservation drawn from all over the world Examines some of our most popular leisure pursuits and consumption habits to uncover the ways they drive and deepen global capitalism Reveals the increase in intensity and variety of forms of capitalist conservation throughout the world
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks GE195 .C379 2014
Publication Date: 2014
"While sustainability draws upon ideas of social justice, ecological economics, and environmental conservation, it is more than the sum of its parts. Caradonna's book broadens our understanding of what the term means, showing how it progressed from a relatively marginal concept to an ideal that dominates lifestyle choices, government and corporate strategies, and even national and international policy."
Call Number: HC79.E5 M669 2010 SAU Library Second Floor
Publication Date: 2010
Includes bibliographical references (p. 222-245) and index.--Encouraging students to engage in the challenges and complexity of sustainability, this text considers not only the theories underlying sustainability, but more importantly how theories are translated into practice and the difficulties of achieving this in the world in which we live. This pragmatic focus gives students a greater understanding of the practice of sustainability and highlights the challenges involved. Models and theories are illustrated throughout with real world examples to help students move away from the abstract and connect with genuine issues. The text begins by focusing on sustainable production and consumption and how they are related. The role of tools such as modelling and sustainability indicators are explored, and extended into the fields of stakeholder participation, livelihoods and evidence-based policy. The final chapter explores the interconnections between apparently disparate subjects and the importance of taking an interdisciplinary perspective
Call Number: HC79.E5 G333 2006 SAU Library Second Floor
The absence of strong spiritual and ethical dimensions in twentieth-century development helped to produce one of the most violent, environmentally impoverished, and economically unequal centuries in human history. Ethical and spiritual contributions in the twenty-first century are needed to rectify these pitfalls. Religions can help societies to wrestle with the bedrock question of societal advancement: What does it mean to be a developed society? In doing so, religious traditions help to create the new worldviews needed to build sustainable civilizations in the new century. Fortunately, many religious traditions are awakening to their vital role. Inspiring Progress identifies the value that religions add to the debate about societal advancement, and it encourages the world's religious traditions to step up their involvement in shaping the development path of the human family in the twenty-first century.
"The U.S. Department of Agriculture is committed to working with partners and stakeholders toward sustainability of diverse agricultural, forest and range systems. USDA seeks to balance the goals of: Satisfying human needs; Enchancing environmental quality, the resource base, and ecosystem services; Sustaining the economic viability of agriculture; Enhancing the quality of life for farmers, ranchers, forest mangers, workers and society as a whole."
The International Institute for Sustainable Development is a Canadian-based, international public policy research institute for sustainable development." For development to be sustainable, it must not only generate wealth: it must also advance social justice, reduce and eventually eliminate poverty, and remain within the limits imposed by ecosystem and resource resilience."
"The Division for Sustainable Development (DSD) provides leadership in promoting and coordinating implementation of the sustainable development agenda of the United Nations. The United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development (Rio+20) which concluded on 22 June 2012, is been considered one of the largest conferences in the history of the United Nations. Governments renewed their strong political commitment to sustainable development and to promote integration and coherence of policies and the implementation of actions in the social, economic and environmental areas."
"Based on the evidence, more than 97% of climate experts have concluded that human-caused climate change is happening. What We Know helps us understand the science behind the realities, risks and response to the climate challenge."
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest non-government general science membership organization and the executive publisher of Science, a leading scientific journal.
The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists.
"The Ministry of Environment & Forests (MoEF) is the nodal agency in the administrative structure of the Central Government for the planning, promotion, co-ordination and overseeing the implementation of India's environmental and forestry policies and programmes." In English.
"Environmental-Finance.com is an online news and analysis service established in 1999 to report on sustainable investment, green finance and the people and companies active in environmental markets.
The site is updated every day with news and analysis on a range of related issues - from finance, deals and investments to policy initiatives, interviews and opinion pieces. All material uploaded to the site is archived and easily searchable."
"With 189 member countries, staff from more 170 countries, and offices in over 130 locations, the World Bank Group is a unique global partnership: five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries. "
"a digital library of academic research covering issues of environmental stress and its challenges for human society. ... Search a digital library of academic research covering issues related to environmental stress and its challenges for human society. JSTOR Sustainability helps researchers navigate an interdisciplinary terrain, with Topic Pages and Influential Articles (developed in partnership with the UW DataLab) acting as road signs."
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
A specific search in Greenfile on Sustainability OR Sustainable development
"With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, this esteemed collection provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field and is an indispensable resource for researchers, practitioners, students, and educators."
With nearly 4 million records and upwards of 4,000 indexed records added each week, this ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts offers a broad view of the field.
Includes a transcript and a citation.
Perhaps the biggest challenge facing the agricultural industry today is feeding the world’s rapidly growing population while also caring for the environment. At the center of the challenge is the tension between sustainable and more mainstream industrial farming practices. This video looks at ecological problems caused by farming which relies on pesticides, hormones, and heavy mechanization. The program also assesses the advantages and disadvantages of sustainable alternatives. Interviews with a vegetable farmer, an organic winemaker, and an environmental scientist explore issues at the core of agribusiness while touching on innovative ideas and ongoing technological changes in farming practices around the world. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online."