Library Central
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowLibrary Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
SAU "Library Central" Subject Headings for Shakespeare
Enter any/each of these into the SAU "Library Central" Advanced Search as a SUBJECT to find books on the shelves for you to peruse.
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 (Enter this as an AUTHOR in the catalog OR as a SUBJECT)
Shakespeare plays
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Symbolism
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Biography
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- PLACE NAME OF INDIVIDUAL PLAY HERE
Shakespeare in fiction, drama, poetry, etc.
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Authorship -- Baconian theory
Each play's title may also be entered as a TITLE in the SAU "Library Central" Advanced Search to get the play's text.
Shakespeare Books on the Shelves at the SAU Library
PR 2750 - PR 3112 Third Floor North in the SAU Library.
Shakespeare at University of Iowa
- Shakespeare at Iowa - First Folio Exhibit"The First Folio will be on display from August 29 through September 25, but programs will continue throughout the fall, including a special exhibition in the University of Iowa Main Library Gallery (Iowa City), The Books that Made Shakespeare, open from August 29 through December 30, 2016. The Books that Made Shakespeare is an exhibition of items from the University of Iowa collection selected to complement the First Folio and the statewide SHAKESPEARE AT IOWA celebration."
Research Articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLimit to the Literature journal group once within the advanced search page.
- Research Library: Literature & Language This link opens in a new windowWhen searching authors as subjects, put their last name then a comma, then their first name into search box, drop down the menu to the left to SUBJECTS:Named Person
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowChoose Language and Literature in the SUBJECTS box on the homepage in Credo. Also, the Mind Map is a great tool within Credo, try it out!
- Hyper-Concordance "The Hyper-Concordance covers, Victorian, British, Irish and American authors and reports the total number of text lines, the total word count and the number of occurrences of the word or phrase searched. The full text of the book is displayed in a box at the bottom of the screen. Each line of the text is numbered, and the line number and the term(s) searched provide a link to the full text.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNews articles on Authors, Book reviews and more. Be sure to click on NEWS before entering search terms.
Understanding Shakespeare -- SAU users only
- Understanding ShakespeareConnecting digital texts from the Folger Shakespeare Library with articles on JSTOR.
Pick a play. Click a line. Instantly see articles on JSTOR that reference the line.
- New Oxford Shakespeare This link opens in a new windowThis English and literature database contains full-text editions of Shakespeare's 38 plays. The plays are presented across 3 volumes: the Modern Critical Edition (with modern spelling), the Critical Reference Edition (with original spelling), and the Authorship Companion (dealing with chronology and authorshp issues).
- Jstor Search for ShakespeareUse the 'Search within results' box to narrow it down. Also, look at the subject areas on the left menu to focus in on Performing Arts or Philosophy or lots more.
- Short informative videos on William Shakespearefrom Credo Reference
- Shakespearean historyfrom Credo Reference
Educational Videos on Shakespeare for SAU students and faculty
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis database is restricted to SAU community users only. These users can create an account in Films on Demand to save searches and videos in personal playlists onsite.
- Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new windowThis streaming video product includes over 13,000 video clips and over 5,000 full-length videos covering a range of historical topics and eras.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a video streaming service that provides access to over 30,000 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. Can be viewed on-and-off-campus and is completely free for the SAU community.
Good web sites
- Illuminating Shakespeare" including video essays, infographics, blog articles, quizzes, as well as research-level articles. Themes include Shakespeare and religion, women, money, sex; Shakespeare in performance and in film." ~from Oxford University Press~
- Concordance of Shakespeare's complete works The engine searches the text of the plays and poetry not 'for' a play or poem or critical essay con·cord·ance kənˈkôrdns/ noun Definition:an alphabetical list of the words (especially the important ones) present in a text, usually with citations of the passages concerned.
- Folger Shakespeare Library: Digital Image Collection"By promoting understanding of Shakespeare and his world, the Folger reminds us of the enduring influence of his works, the formative effects of the Renaissance on our own time, and the power of the written and spoken word."
- Shakespeare's Words A great source to find themes, topics, phrases and much more..........
- Shakespeare in Project Gutenbergfull-text
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Need something we don't have?
Have you found the perfect article but don't know if we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.
1. We may have access to the journal in another database. In Library Central, you'll find the Journals A-Z List. From here, you can check a search by journal name and retrieve a comprehensive list of databases in which our journals appear.
2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public--you might find an openly available copy of your article.
3. Using Interlibrary Loan, the library can ask other libraries that subscribe to the journal to send an electronic copy of the article you want. Set up a free user account with your SAU network login to request articles and books. Interlibrary Loan is a service offered to SAU students, faculty & staff only.
- Using Google Scholar Effectively as an SAU studentLink your gmail profile to Google Scholar to see an Access@SAU link to our databases!
Shakespeare
