Selected books
Inside Out : The Equity Leader's Guide to Undoing Institutional Racism by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780865719811Publication Date: 2023Includes bibliographical references and index.
"Inside Out is written specifically for prospective leaders championing diversity, equity, and inclusion in their workplace. It is a must-read for anyone guiding the challenging work of becoming an anti-racist organization where no one's identity is a barrier to access or opportunity and everyone belongs."
The Address Book : what street addresses reveal about identity, race, wealth, and power by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HE336.S77 M37 2020ISBN: 9781250134769Publication Date: 2020" In many parts of the world, your address can reveal your race and class, causing them to be a shorthand for snobbery or discrimination. In this wide-ranging and remarkable book, Mask looks at the fate of streets named after Martin Luther King, Jr., the wayfinding means of ancient Romans, how Nazis haunt the streets of modern Germany, and why numbered streets dominate in America but not in Europe. The flipside of having an address is not having one, and we see what that means for millions of people today, including those who live in the slums of Kolkata, on the streets of London, or in post-earthquake Haiti. Filled with fascinating people and histories, The Address Book illuminates the complex and sometimes hidden stories behind street names and their power to name,to hide, to decide who counts, who doesn't-and why"
Down along with That Devil's Bones: a reckoning with monuments, memory, and the legacy of white supremacy by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks E467.1.F72 O56 2020ISBN: 9781616209100Publication Date: 2020"A journalist's memoir-plus-reporting about modern-day conflicts over Southern monuments to Nathan Bedford Forrest, a Confederate hero and original leader of the Ku Klux Klan, as well as a personal examination of the legacy of white supremacy through the US today, tracing the throughline from Appomattox to Charlottesville"
Race, Work, and Leadership: new perspectives on the Black experience by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HF5549.5.M5 R34 2019ISBN: 9781633698017Publication Date: 2019"Race, Work, and Leadership is a rare and important compilation of essays that examines how race matters in people's experience of work and leadership. What does it mean to be Black in corporate America today? How are racial dynamics in organizations changing in a post-Obama era? How do we build inclusive organizations? "
Policing Black Bodies by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks (HV9950 .H395 2021ISBN: 9781538151211Publication Date: 2021Description: Setting the stage -- Social protest, or a logical response to policing Black bodies -- Mass incarceration -- School-to-prison pipeline -- The prison-industrial complex : the new plantation economy -- Policing Black women's bodies -- Policing trans bodies -- Police killings of unarmed Black people -- The ultimate failure : exoneration -- Policing Black athletes' bodies -- Intersectionality, color-blind racism, and a call to action.
"In this book, the authors connect the regulation of African American people in many settings into a powerful narrative. Completely updated throughout, the book now includes a new chapter on policing black athletes' bodies and expanded coverage of the Black Lives Matter movement, policing trans bodies, and policing Black women's bodies"--
Edition: Updated edition..
(((Semitism))): Being Jewish in America in the Age of Trump by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks DS146.U6 W45 2018ISBN: 9781250169938Publication Date: 2018""A short, literary, powerful contemplation on how Jews are viewed in America since the election of Donald J. Trump, and how we can move forward to fight anti-Semitism. Anti-Semitism has always been present in American culture, but with the rise of the Alt Right and an uptick of threats to Jewish communities since Trump took office, New York Times editor Jonathan Weisman has produced a book that could not be more important or timely. "
Voting Rights under Fire: the continuing struggle for people of color by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks -- KF4893 .B76 2015"With continued debate over existing and proposed voter ID laws and a host of other measures that seem designed to impede the ability of people of color to vote, racism as an institutional factor in American voting and politics is clear. " Publisher information
Color in the Classroom: how American schools taught race, 1900-1954 by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HT1506 .B87 2011ISBN: 9780199751723Publication Date: 2011Description: Introduction: The social construction of race in American schools -- Race as nation, 1900-1938 -- Franz Boas : reforming "race" in American schools -- Ruth Benedict and Margaret Mead : teaching teachers race and culture -- Race as color, 1939-1945 -- Race as culture, 1946-1954 -- Conclusion: Race and educational equality after Brown v. Board of Education.
Race on the Brain : what implicit bias gets wrong about the struggle for racial justice by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV9950 .K34 2018ISBN: 9780231184243Publication Date: 2018"Of the many obstacles to racial justice in America, none has received more recent attention than the one that lurks in our subconscious. As social movements and policing scandals have shown how far from being "postracial" we are, the concept of implicit bias has taken center stage in national conversation about race. Millions of Americans have taken online tests purporting to show the deep, invisible roots of their prejudice. When a recent Oxford study claimed to have found a drug that reduced implicit bias, it was only the starkest example of a pervasive trend. But what do we risk when we seek the simplicity of a technological diagnosis-and solution-for racism? What do we miss when we locate racism in our biology and our brains rather than in our history and our social practices? In Race on the Brain, Jonathan Kahn argues that implicit bias has grown into a master narrative of race relations-one with profound if unintended negative consequences for law, science, and society. He emphasizes its limitations, arguing that while useful as a tool to understand particular types of behavior, it is only one among the various tools available to policymakers. An uncritical embrace of implicit bias, to the exclusion of power relations and structural racism, undermines civic responsibility for addressing the problem by turning it over to experts. Technological interventions, including many tests for implicit bias, are premised on a color-blind ideal and run the risk of erasing history, denying present reality, and obscuring accountability. "
Diversity Explosion: how new racial demographics are remaking America by Call Number: Second Floor -- E184.A1 F739 2015"At its optimistic best, America has embraced its identity as the world's melting pot. Today it is on the cusp of becoming a country with no racial majority, and new minorities are poised to exert a profound impact on U.S. society, economy, and politics...." Publisher information
Mascot Nation : the controversy over Native American representations in sports by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks GV714.5 .B55 2018ISBN: 9780252083785Publication Date: 2018"Their original research, meanwhile, surveys sports fans themselves on their thoughts when a specific mascot faces censure. The result is a book that merges critical-cultural analysis with qualitative data to offer an innovative approach to understanding the camps and fault lines on each side of the issue, the stakes in mascot debates, whether common ground can exist and, if so, how we might find it."--Publisher information.
Redskins? : sports mascots, Indian nations and white racism by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks GV714.5 .F46 2017ISBN: 9781612057392Publication Date: 2017Description: Foreword / Joe R. Feagin -- Introduction: Redskins, wahoos and racism thru the ages -- Racist formulation and the Indian as red man -- Redskin : race and systemic racism in sociolinguistic analysis -- Surveying the landscape of racist America -- Cleveland Indians and Washington Redskins surveys -- Legal histrionics and the legacy of racism -- The red man plays on.
Unleashing Suppressed Voices on College Campuses: diversity issues in higher education by Call Number: Online EbookThis resource is challenging to navigate, after clicking on title; Sign into Library Central, then click on GET IT tab. Please contact the SAU Library Reference Desk for assistance, if needful.
Discrimination American Style : institutional racism and sexism by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks JC599.U5 F38ISBN: 0132158973Publication Date: 1978For Historical context.
Selected Webpages
- How Systemic Racism Continues To Determine Black Health And Wealth In Chicagoauthoritative podcast which provides a transcript
- Black Americans view capitalism more negatively than positively but express hope in Black businessespoll data (a primary source)
- Views of DEI have become slightly more negative among U.S. workerspoll data (a primary source)
- Race and Ethnicity: Discrimination and Racial InequalityScroll down the page. An excellent source of up-to-date polling data. A Primary Source.
- ColorlinesRace Forward Media encompasses the various ways we push forward the conversation on race in the media. Race Forward’s primary media product is Colorlines, an award-winning, daily news site where race matters. Colorlines brings a critical racial lens to its journalism, as it covers breaking news, offers context and analysis for fast-moving stories and digs deeper with investigative reporting. [Race Forward website]
- Henry Louis Gates Jr. Points To Reconstruction As The Genesis Of White Supremacy"Gates says white supremacy was born in the years after the Civil War, as white Southerners looked for ways to roll back the newly acquired rights of African-Americans."
Gates' new book is:
Stony the Road:Reconstruction, White Supremacy, and the Rise of Jim Crow, by Henry Louis Gates - Articles on Systemic Racism"The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists."
Films On Demand: Racialized America
- Description
-
"Over the past decade, social justice movements in the United States have encouraged public school officials and educators to teach students about systemic racism, privilege, gender diversity, and sexual orientation—subject matter that some refer to as “woke.” While some school districts have adopted such policies, some parents, teachers, and community leaders question whether these subjects should be taught in the classroom. Supporters of teaching these subjects in school argue that they make students more socially aware and responsible citizens. Educating America’s youth about historical injustices and topics surrounding race and gender, they contend, helps create a more just and inclusive society. Opponents of teaching these subjects in school argue that they indoctrinate students into learning about certain divisive topics and ideologies their parents may oppose. Educating the nation’s young people on these “woke” issues can polarize students, they contend, and induce guilt, discomfort, and a “victim mentality.” Is wokeness in public schools helping or hurting students?"
- Details
- Producer: Open to Debate
- Copyright Date: © 2024
- Run Time: 01:02:21
- Language: English
Article Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database contains over 2,800 full-text scholarly journals, 30,000 full-text eBooks, and 40,000 full-text research reports from various organizations and policy institutes. Beoved by many old-school professors in the humanities and social sciences.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis North American history database from EBSCO contains nearly 200 full-text scholarly journals.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis sociology database from EBSCO contains over 850 full-text scholarly journals. Widely considered the premier database in sociology.
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.
A note to users concerning database searching
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.