Subject Heading Search in Library Central for books and more
Use the Library Central link below, and try using these official subject headings below:
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowLibrary Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
- Racial Profiling in Law Enforcement
- Discrimination in Law Enforcement
- Police Brutality
- Police Misconduct
- Racism
- Race Discrimination
- Anti-racism
Selected titles found in SAU Library
America on Fire by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks E185.615 .H524 2021ISBN: 9781631498909Publication Date: 2021Contents: Origins. The cycle -- The projects -- The vigilantes -- The snipers -- The poisoned tree -- The schools -- The commissions -- Legacies. The system -- The proposal -- The reforms -- Timeline of Black rebellions.
"What began in spring 2020 as local protests in response to the killing of George Floyd by Minneapolis police quickly exploded into a massive nationwide movement. To many observers, the protests appeared to be without precedent in their scale and persistence. Hinton shows that the events of 2020 had clear precursors--and any attempt to understand our current crisis requires a reckoning with the recent past. She takes us on a troubling journey from Detroit in 1967 and Miami in 1980 to Los Angeles in 1992, charting the persistence of structural racism and one of its primary consequences, the so-called urban riot. Hinton warns that rebellions will continue until an oppressive system is finally remade on the principles of justice and equality"--Adapted from jacket.
Policing Black Bodies by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks (HV9950 .H395 2021ISBN: 9781538151211Publication Date: 2021Description: Setting the stage -- Social protest, or a logical response to policing Black bodies -- Mass incarceration -- School-to-prison pipeline -- The prison-industrial complex : the new plantation economy -- Policing Black women's bodies -- Policing trans bodies -- Police killings of unarmed Black people -- The ultimate failure : exoneration -- Policing Black athletes' bodies -- Intersectionality, color-blind racism, and a call to action.
"In this book, the authors connect the regulation of African American people in many settings into a powerful narrative. Completely updated throughout, the book now includes a new chapter on policing black athletes' bodies and expanded coverage of the Black Lives Matter movement, policing trans bodies, and policing Black women's bodies"--
Edition: Updated edition..
Black Life Matter by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks ; E185.615 .G671825 2022ISBN: 9781478014843Publication Date: 2022"In Black Life Matter, Biko Mandela Gray offers a philosophical eulogy for Aiyana Stanley-Jones, Tamir Rice, Alton Sterling, and Sandra Bland that attests to their irreducible significance in the face of unremitting police brutality. Gray employs a theoretical method he calls "sitting with"--A philosophical practice of care that seeks to defend the dead and the living. He shows that the police that killed Stanley-Jones and Rice reduced them to their bodies in ways that turn black lives into tools that the state uses to justify its violence and existence. "
Policing the Black Man : arrest, prosecution, and imprisonment by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV9950 P64 2017ISBN: 9781101871270Publication Date: 2017"Policing the Black Man explores and critiques the many ways the criminal justice system impacts the lives of African American boys and men at every stage of the criminal process, from arrest through sentencing. Essays range from an explication of the historical roots of racism in the criminal justice system to an examination of modern-day police killings of unarmed black men. The contributors discuss and explain racial profiling, the power and discretion of police and prosecutors, the role of implicit bias, the racial impact of police and prosecutorial decisions, the disproportionate imprisonment of black men, the collateral consequences of mass incarceration, and the Supreme Court's failure to provide meaningful remedies for the injustices in the criminal justice system. Policing the Black Man is an enlightening must-read for anyone interested in the critical issues of race and justice in America."
Reference Shelf: Policing in America by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV8139 .P65 2021ISBN: 9781642657890Publication Date: 2021Description: Police force. Understanding police brutality -- Long painful history of police brutality in the U.S. / What the police really believe / George Floyd and the history of police brutality in America / 10 things we know about race and policing in the U.S. / Why statistics don't capture the full extent of the systemic bias in policing / Policing in place. Community policing and the role of police : polling finds a divide in how Americans view police and protesters / AND much more...
The Black and the Blue by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV7911.H617 A3 2019ISBN: 9780316440097Publication Date: 2019Description: The boogeyman -- Being black in blue -- Who matters most? -- The system -- The conspiracy -- We can't be made whole -- A culture of criminality -- Culture versus strategy -- A murder in Chicago -- The cover-up -- Damage control -- The journey forward -- At the end of failing systems.
Punishing the Vulnerable by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV9950 .W324 2019ISBN: 9781440858086Publication Date: 2019"Relying on national data and interviews conducted by the author, this book argues that American prisons are not a tool for justice but a tool for the persecution of the weak by the powerful. The book details how African American, American Indian, and Hispanic inmates receive harsher punishments, including solitary confinement, and fewer rehabilitative programs, such as substance abuse treatment and mental health counseling. It also examines other injustices, including how female inmates suffer from a lack of rehabilitative services, Muslim inmates are placed in solitary confinement for practicing their religious beliefs, American Indians are disproportionately punished, and undocumented immigrants are forced from prison to prison in the middle of the night."
The End of Policing by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV8139 .V58 2018ISBN: 1784782920Publication Date: 2018"The core of the problem must be addressed: the nature of modern policing itself. This book attempts to spark public discussion by revealing the tainted origins of modern policing as a tool of social control. It shows how the expansion of police authority is inconsistent with community empowerment, social justice even public safety. Drawing on groundbreaking research from across the world, and covering virtually every area in the increasingly broad range of police work, Alex Vitale demonstrates how law enforcement has come to exacerbate the very problems it is supposed to solve. In contrast, there are places where the robust implementation of policing alternativessuch as legalization, restorative justice, and harm reduction has led to a decrease in crime, spending, and injustice. The best solution to bad policing may be an end to policing."
Excessive Use of Force: one mother's struggle against police brutality and misconduct by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks (HV8141 .P72 2018ISBN: 9781538108000Publication Date: 2018"The vast majority of the law enforcement officers in this country perform their very difficult jobs with respect for their communities and in compliance with the law. Even so, there have been incidents in which this was not the case. Police brutality and misconduct has been under the microscope for the last several years, and Loretta Prater brings these issues to light through research reports and numerous examples of cases, including the personal case of her son"
White Privilege and Black Rights: the injustice of U.S. police racial profiling and homicide by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV7936.R3 Z33 2015ISBN: 9781442250550Publication Date: 2015Description: White privilege, entitlements, and rights -- Black rights and police racial profiling -- Black injustice and police homicide.
Profiling and Criminal Justice in America : A Reference Handbook by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV9950 .B86 2015ISBN: 9781610698511Publication Date: 2015""Seven of ten African American men between the ages of 18 and 34 believe they have been victims of an insidious form of discrimination: racial profiling. Are they right? Or rather, is profiling a legitimate, fair, and effective law enforcement tool? This unique handbook examines the history behind racial, gender, and religious profiling, charts its guiding philosophies, surveys supporting legal doctrines and legislation, and presents the arguments pro and con. It focuses on profiling by police, prosecutors, and judges; federal and state civil rights laws; key legal cases and studies; and more. Whether one wishes to explore racial profiling by state troopers in New Jersey, the identification of serial killers by the FBI, or the screening of potential terrorists by airport security, this is the book to consult. Features: Includes a chronology of key events in American criminal justice including discussions of key court cases, developments in criminal procedure, the development of sentencing guidelines, civil rights milestones, and examples of court-sanctioned profiling such as the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II."
Our Enemies in Blue by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV8138 .W615 2015ISBN: 9781849352154Publication Date: 2015" In this extensively revised and updated edition of his seminal study of policing in the United States, Kristian Williams shows that police brutality isn't an anomaly, but is built into the very meaning of law enforcement in the United States. From antebellum slave patrols to today's unarmed youth being gunned down in the streets, peace keepers have always used force to shape behavior, repress dissent, and defend the powerful."
Cop Watch : spectators, social media, and police reform by Call Number: HV8139 .T63 2012 Second FloorISBN: 9781433811197Publication Date: 2012Includes bibliographical references and index.--"In Cop Watch: Spectators, Social Media, and Police Reform, renowned social psychologist Hans Toch takes stock of the vast changes in police procedures that have occurred over the last half-century by examining the evolving role of spectators to police-citizen interactions. This sympathetic and informed analysis details the concerns of both disgruntled citizens and unsettled police. Their interactions are played out on a broad stage, from 1960s riots and Kerner Commission findings, to 2011 accusations of police brutality in Seattle. In this unflinching examination of the power of the crowd and society to shape police practice, Toch provides a uniquely compelling look at the struggles and complexities of policing in a volatile world."
Driving While Black: highways, shopping malls, taxicabs, sidewalks : how to fight back if you are a victims of racial profiling by Call Number: HV8141 .M39 2000 Second Floor SAU LibraryISBN: 9780767905497Publication Date: 2000includes bibliographic references---"Driving While Black clearly defines the system officially known as CARD (class, age, race, dress) and offers advice about how to handle potentially life-threatening situations with the police, as well as recourse for readers who suspect their civil rights have been denied due to racial profiling. A book written to save lives, Driving While Black is not just for people of color, but for anyone who likes to wear a baseball cap, baggy jeans, sneakers, and a tee shirt and finds they are often treated like a "suspect."
Voices from Criminal Justice : thinking and reflecting on the system by Call Number: HV9950 .V65 2012 Second Floor SAU LibraryISBN: 9780415887489Publication Date: 2011An excellent book with primary source material. Includes bibliographical references and index.
"This innovative text/reader provides a companion or alternative to traditional texts. Instead of providing a "catalog of information" this book gives students rich insights into what it is like to work within the system (as practitioners) as well as from those who experience criminal justice as outsiders (as citizens, clients, jurors, probationers, or inmates).
Racial Profiling : research, racism, and resistance by Call Number: HV7936.R3 G56 2009 Second Floor SAU LibraryISBN: 9780742561052Publication Date: 2009Includes bibliographical references and index---"Sociologist Glover examines racial profiling as an element used to usher men of color into a justice system that is racially ordered in many aspects. While this is a logical way to frame the issue and a solid foundation for an examination of profiling the author provides a deeper perspective by questioning methods used to collect criminological data, develop theoretical foundations, and teach about crime and social control. The study of criminology tends to focus on formal stages, such as sentencing and parole. In contrast institutionalized racism is more active, often in subtle ways, during informal stages, Glover's research examines these informal processes and their impacts on the people targeted by the system."
Police Brutality: Opposing Viewpoints by Call Number: Available through our Partner Libraries. Ask a Librarian.ISBN: 0737705159Publication Date: 2001Contents: "Is misconduct by law enforcement a serious problem? -- What factors cause police brutality? -- Do modern police methods cause police misconduct? -- Who should police the police?"
Selected Web sites
- Deaths in police custody in the United States: Research reviewBy Denise-Marie Ordway, John Wihbey and Leighton Walter Kille June 7, 2020
"Journalist’s Resource (JR) posts multiple research roundups, articles and tip sheets for journalists" - State of Black America : An Annual ReportClick on the REPORT tab for the latest year.
"First issued in 1976, the State of Black America® is one of the most highly-anticipated benchmarks and sources for thought leadership around racial equality in America across economics, employment, education, health, housing, criminal justice and civic participation. Each edition contains penetrating commentary and insightful analysis from recognized authorities and leading figures in politics, the corporate and tech sectors, the nonprofit arena, academia and popular culture." - Guidance Regarding the Use of Race for Law Enforcement Officers"This Guidance supersedes the Department of Justice’s 2003 Guidance Regarding the Use of Race by Federal Law Enforcement Agencies. It builds upon and expands the framework of the 2003 Guidance, and it reaffirms the Federal government’s deep commitment to ensuring that its law enforcement agencies conduct their activities in an unbiased manner. Biased practices, as the Federal government has long recognized, are unfair, promote mistrust of law enforcement, and perpetuate negative and harmful stereotypes. Moreover — and vitally important — biased practices are ineffective."
- Statistics on the Use of Force by law enforcement."The collection of law enforcement use of force statistics has been mandated as a responsibility of the Attorney General since the passage of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994. Title XXI: State and Local Law Enforcement, Subtitle D: Police Pattern or Practice, Section 210402, states the responsibility of the Attorney General to collect data on excessive force."
- Federal Deaths in Custody and During Arrest, 2020 – Statistical Tables from 'The Bureau Of Justice Statistics'"The Arrest-Related Deaths (ARD) program is an annual national census of persons who died either during the process of arrest or while in the custody offederal law enforcement personnel. The ARD program collects data on civilian deaths caused by any use of force by state or local law enforcement personnel as well as those not directly related to actions of law enforcement, such as deaths attributed to suicide, intoxication, accidental injury, illness, or natural causes. "
- Data Collection: Police-Public Contact Survey (PPCS)The Justice Dept is supposed to update this data every three years, but the most recent is 2015. FYI
- Officer Safety and Wellness Group Meeting Summary: Promoting Positive Coping Strategies in Law Enforcement—Emerging Issues and Recommendationsfrom the US Dept. of Justice - what they want to see in terms of officer coping strategies: "OSW Group convened to discuss positive coping strategies for officers who might
be particularly vulnerable to alcoholism and substance abuse. In contrast to previous meetings,
whose topics included line-of-duty deaths, post-traumatic stress, and suicide, this meeting
focused on more common day-to-day stressors that, while not acute or obvious, nevertheless
can accumulate and take a mental, physical, and emotional toll on our nation’s law enforcement
officers. The goal was to identify and understand the potentially negative coping strategies
officers and deputies may tend to use and then to design and develop solutions that can supply
them with tools to make more positive choices. In this as in so many other areas, the support of
leadership is essential. " - The Race Gap in America’s Police DepartmentsAvailable for SAU students at Library, ask a librarian: "In hundreds of police departments across the country, the percentage of whites on the force is more than 30 percentage points higher than in the communities they serve, according to an analysis of a government survey of police departments. Minorities make up a quarter of police forces, according to the 2007 survey, the most recent comprehensive data available."
- Addressing Police Misconduct Laws Enforced By The Department Of Justice"This document outlines the laws enforced by the United States Department of Justice (DOJ) that address police misconduct and explains how you can file a complaint with DOJ if you believe that your rights have been violated. "
- Revisiting Who Is Guarding the Guardians? A Report on Police Practices and Civil Rights in AmericaThis report, though from 2000, delineates clearly the different roles courts, government, etc play in this issue. Excellent background information and historical context. ---"Through its seminal report titled Who Is Guarding the Guardians? and numerous subsequent reports, the Commission has made important recommendations to improve the quality of police protection while ensuring the protection of civil rights for all Americans. The Commission has consistently endeavored to underscore these connected goals."
- Publications of various topics covered by the Bureau for Justice.These statistics are up-to-date and the page includes an expanded search feature. An excellent, authoritative source.
- How they did it: 4 news outlets team up to reveal police dogs bite and maim thousands of people a year"The journalists offer tips for investigating how police primarily use dogs on people suspected of minor offenses — or no crimes — and cause injuries that can be severe and life changing."
Breaking News from the New York Times
Loading ...
Criminal Justice Abstracts
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowThis aptly-named criminal justice database from ProQuest contains over 600 full-text scholarly journals pertaining to areas of sociology, social work, and criminology.
SocIndex with Full Text
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis sociology database from EBSCO contains over 850 full-text scholarly journals. Widely considered the premier database in sociology.
- Research Library: Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowThis social sciences database from ProQuest contains nearly 1,900 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 350 magazines pertaining to the fields of social sciences (the 5 most prominent social science fields being economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology).
ProQuest Central suite of databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
- Health & Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis health and medicine database from ProQuest contains over 5,000 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 400 full-text magazines covering the medical, nursing, and psychology fields.
- Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis philosophy database from EBSCO contains nearly 200 full-text journals and miscellany of other publications pertaining to world philosophy.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from ProQuest includes over 150 high-prestige, full-text scholarly journals. Widely considered the premier psychology database.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from EBSCO indexes over 1,400 scholarly journals and contains over 8,000,000 bibliographic citations. A portion of the content is available in full-text.
Legal Journals and News
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database includes over 17,000 full-text news sources. Also includes a wealth of company/financial information and a variety of legal cases. Can be tricky to search, but useful under the right circumstances.
Full-Text e-book collection
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis background and reference database contains over 1,200 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 3,500,000 full-text articles and/or chapters. Think of it as a Wikipedia you can use in your papers!
Streaming video
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis database is restricted to SAU community users only. These users can create an account in Films on Demand to save searches and videos in personal playlists onsite.
- Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new windowThis streaming video product includes over 13,000 video clips and over 5,000 full-length videos covering a range of historical topics and eras.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a video streaming service that provides access to over 30,000 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. Can be viewed on-and-off-campus and is completely free for the SAU community.
SAU Users Only
- Policing Is Racially Biased: A Debate - Full Video (01:44:35)Includes a transcript and citation.
- Target: Philadelphia Full Video (56:28)"DESCRIPTION
In 1985, Philadelphia police bombed a residential building to end a standoff with Black liberation group MOVE, setting a new standard for institutionalized violence and the dehumanization of Black bodies. TARGET: PHILADELPHIA explores the rise of police militarization within the contexts of Black nationalism and the systemic disenfranchisement that incubates movements like Black Lives Matter."
Interlibrary Loan - Obtaining materials
- SAU Library Interlibrary Loan portalSign in with your SAU credentials and fill out the form for the book or article you need full-text.
A note to users concerning database searching
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.
Quotes
“We cannot tolerate or turn a blind eye to racism and exclusion in any form. At the same time, we have to recognize that violence is self-destructive and self-defeating. Nothing is gained by violence and so much is lost. Let us pray for reconciliation and peace.”
Pope Francis
“The voices calling for an end to the killings of unarmed African Americans need to be heard. The voices calling for an end to police violence need to be heard.”
Michelle Bachelet, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
"We need the harm to stop in our communities. We need the damage to be repaired. We need to be able to have the opportunity to have a life of dignity, and the possibility to thrive."
Opal Tometi, Co-founder, Black Lives Matter movement
“No one is born hating another person because of the colour of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love”.
Nelson Mandela
“On either side of a potentially violent conflict, an opportunity exists to exercise compassion and diminish fear based on recognition of each other's humanity. Without such recognition, fear fueled by uninformed assumptions, cultural prejudice, desperation to meet basic human needs, or the panicked uncertainty of the moment explodes into violence.”
Aberjhani, American writer