LibGuides: Hot Topics: Peace and Justice: Home

Full-Text e-book collection

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This background and reference database contains over 400 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 2,000,000 full-text chapters and entries. A great resource for getting reliable, readable information for your papers.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This background and reference database contains over 1,200 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 3,500,000 full-text articles and/or chapters. Think of it as a Wikipedia you can use in your papers!

Credo Online Reference Books

The 100 Greatest Americans of the 20th Century: A Social Justice Hall of Fame
"a colorful and witty history of the most influential progressive leaders of the twentieth century and beyond."
more...less...
This book is full-text. Available to SAU community only.

Recommended Books in the SAU Library collection

Becoming Brave : finding the courage to pursue racial justice now by Brenda Salter McNeil; Austin Brown (Foreword by)
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BR115.J8 M42 2020
ISBN: 9781587434471
Publication Date: 2020
Description: Foreword by Austin Channing Brown -- Preface -- The law of timing -- The making of an activist -- What called you forth? -- When politics becomes personal -- Palace living -- The prophetic power of lament -- What's going on? -- Healing the disconnection -- Breaking our silence -- Intercessors for justice -- Speaking truth to power -- The reconciling power of women -- Conclusion: Seizing our moment of destiny.
"Brenda Salter McNeil offers a distinctly Christian framework for addressing systemic injustice, inspiring readers to challenge the status quo in racial reconciliation"--
McNeil offers a distinctly Christian framework for addressing systemic injustice. Looking through the lens of the biblical narrative of Esther, she challenges us to be everyday activists who become courageous enough to break the silence. By working together, we can repair the broken systems of injustice.
The Future of Peace and Justice in the Global Village by Thomas R. McFaul
Call Number: BL65.P4 M34 2006 SAU Library Second Floor
ISBN: 9780275993139
Publication Date: 2006
--Includes bibliographical references and index.--"It addresses the role the world's major religions will play in bringing either greater peace and justice or hatred and hostility into the global village."
Religion and Politics in the United States, 8th ed. by Allison Calhoun-Brown; Kenneth D. Wald
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BL2525 .W35 2018
ISBN: 9781538105122
Publication Date: 2018
Description: A secular society? -- Religion in the American context -- Religion and American political culture -- Religion and the state -- Mobilizing religious interests -- Religion and political action -- Religion and public opinion -- Religion and conservative political mobilization -- Religion and centrist political mobilization -- Religion and liberal political mobilization -- The struggle for minority rights : gender and sexuality -- Religion and American political life.
Unjust: social justice and the unmaking of America by Noah Rothman
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HM671 .R685 2019
ISBN: 9781621577928
Publication Date: 2019
" In this penetrating work, Commentary editor and MSNBC contributor Noah Rothman uncovers the real motives behind the social justice movement and explains why, despite its occasionally ludicrous public face, it is a threat to be taken seriously."--Provided by publisher."
Peacebuilding by Robert R. Schreiter (Editor); Scott Appleby (Editor); Gerard Powers (Editor)
Call Number: SAU Library Second Floor Stacks BX1795.P43 P43 2010
ISBN: 9781570758935
Publication Date: 2010
--Includes bibliographical references and index.--"In this groundbreaking volume, leading Catholic theologians, scholar-practitioners, and ethicists take up the challenge of developing a conceptually coherent, theologically accurate, spiritually enlivening, and practically effective approach to Catholic peacebuilding that can complement the rich Catholic teaching on the ethics of war. Peacebuilding will be indispensable to all scholars and practitioners engaged in developing a theology and ethic of just peace, as well as for students seeking to understand the interaction between theology, ethics, and lived Christianity."
Justice and Mercy Will Kiss by Michael K. Duffey; Deborah S. Nash
Call Number: BL65.P4 J87 2008 SAU Library Second Floor
ISBN: 9780874627350
Publication Date: 2008
--Includes bibliographical references and index.
Education for Sustainable Peace and Conflict Resilient Communities by Borislava Manojlovic
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks JZ5534 .M36 2018
ISBN: 9783319571706
Publication Date: 2018
"This book articulates a practice and theory of education that aims to facilitate the emergence of sustainable peace and conflict-resilient communities in societies plagued by conflict. It does so by examining the agency of conflict-resilient communities and the dynamic processes of their interactions with larger societal structure. Although education is seen as a human right, the design of education policies, schooling models and curricula has primarily been the prerogative of elites, be they governments, academics or international actors. This book argues for a different approach to education, contending for more inclusivity and open deliberation in modeling education frameworks. Drawing on case studies and interviews with practitioners, scholars, activists, and policymakers, it applies the lenses of conflict resolution to a variety of education issues within fragile societies. "
Holy War by Steven J. Rosen (Editor)
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BL1138.66 .H65 2002
ISBN: 0937194441
Publication Date: 2002
Subjects: Just war doctrine; Violence -- Religious aspects -- Hinduism; g Social psychology; War -- Moral and ethical aspects; War -- Religious aspects; War (Philosophy); Bhagavadgītā -- Criticism, interpretation, etc

Ask your librarian for help in finding more.

Theology/Philosophy Research Librarian

The Librarian is available for individual help as well, as needed.

“Seek peace and pursue it.”- Psalm 34:15

Religion and Ethics Journals Search

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
This religious studies database from EBSCO includes 380 full-text scholarly journals and 2,500 indexed journals. Also includes the CATHOLIC PERIODICAL & LITERATURE INDEX, which includes essay collections, church documents, papal documents, and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
This creatively-named religious studies database from ProQuest contains nearly 300 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 50 full-text magazines.
Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This unambitiously-named religion and philosophy database contains over 150 full-text scholarly journals.

ProQuest Central suite of databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
This health and medicine database from ProQuest contains over 5,000 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 400 full-text magazines covering the medical, nursing, and psychology fields.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This philosophy database from EBSCO contains nearly 200 full-text journals and miscellany of other publications pertaining to world philosophy.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This psychology database from ProQuest includes over 150 high-prestige, full-text scholarly journals. Widely considered the premier psychology database.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This psychology database from EBSCO indexes over 1,400 scholarly journals and contains over 8,000,000 bibliographic citations. A portion of the content is available in full-text.

other databases to try

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
This creatively-named religious studies database from ProQuest contains nearly 300 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 50 full-text magazines.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
This religious studies database from EBSCO includes 380 full-text scholarly journals and 2,500 indexed journals. Also includes the CATHOLIC PERIODICAL & LITERATURE INDEX, which includes essay collections, church documents, papal documents, and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.

The Catholic News Archive
"The iconic newspaper of the 'Catholic Worker' movement for more than 80 year"s: Full-Text Available online: DATES: 1 January 1943 - 1 December 2016 (654 issues)
more...less...
"The Catholic Worker movement began in New York City in 1933. It was founded by Dorothy Day, a radical journalist and Catholic convert, and Peter Maurin, an itinerant French worker/scholar. The movement steadily grew into an international faith-based, grassroots movement for peace and social justice through nonviolent direct action. It continues its work to this day."

Library Central This link opens in a new window
The SAU Catalog. Sign in for best access. Be sure to explore the Partner Libraries tab as well.

Book subject searches in Library Central

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!

A note to users concerning database searching

If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.

Selected Scholarly Web Sites

Catholic Social Teaching
"Catholic social teaching is based on and inseparable from our understanding of human life and human dignity."--from the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.
Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace
from the Vatican.
The Catholic Worker Movement
"Today 227 Catholic Worker communities remain committed to nonviolence, voluntary poverty, prayer, and hospitality for the homeless, exiled, hungry, and forsaken. Catholic Workers continue to protest injustice, war, racism, and violence of all forms.
Explore the life and writings of Dorothy Day and Peter Maurin as well as sample contemporary Catholic Worker thought and action."
Prayers for Peace and Justice from the World's Religious Traditions
from the Harvard Divinity School
One Peace at a Time Full Video (01:23:44)
"One Peace at a Time focuses on specific solutions. The goal is to create a virtual roadmap to a better future."
SAU Users only.
Father Coughlin & The Search For "Social Justice"
Speeches: A Primary Source.
more...less...
"Father Coughlin first took to the airwaves in 1926, broadcasting weekly sermons over the radio. By the early 1930s the content of his broadcasts had shifted from theology to economics and politics. Just as the rest of the nation was obsessed by matters economic and political in the aftermath of the Depression, so too was Father Coughlin.
He began as an early Roosevelt supporter, coining a famous expression, that the nation's choice was between "Roosevelt or ruin." Later in the 1930s he turned against FDR and became one of the president's harshest critics. His program of "social justice" was a very radical challenge to unbridled capitalism and to many of the political institutions of his day. In the three broadcasts reproduced here he outlines his program and responds to his critics."
Universal Declaration of Human Rights
United Nations

SAU Campus only

AMBROSIANS FOR PEACE AND JUSTICE
Wednesdays at 8:00pm
Ambrosians for Peace and Justice (APJ) is a group of students who are interested in peace and justice, who learn about Catholic Social Teaching, and who perform service together during the school year. All are welcome to join! Contact Campus Ministry at ministry@sau.edu

Other selected titles in World Religions

Holy War : violence and the Bhagavad Gita by Steven J. Rosen (Editor); Christopher Chapple; William L. Jackson; Swami B. V. Tripurari; Arvind Sharma; Michel Danino; Bradley Clough; Nicholas Sutton; Patrick Olivelle; Ramesh Rao; Hector Avalos
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BL1138.66 .H65 2002
ISBN: 0937194441
Publication Date: 2002
Just War Doctrine, Hinduism
Jihad: the origin of holy war in Islam by Reuven Firestone
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BP182 .F5 1999
ISBN: 0195125800
Publication Date: 1999
The Warrior and the Pacifist : competing motifs in Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam by Lester R. Kurtz (Editor)
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BL65.V55 W38 2018
ISBN: 9781138585430
Publication Date: 2018

SAU Reference Librarian

Stella Herzig

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Library 124

563-333-6056

Subjects: English & Literature, Hot Topics, Philosophy, Psychology, Theology & Catholic Studies

Citation help

Citation help page
Covers APA, MLA, Chicago and more!

Obtaining sources form other libraries: Interlibrary Loan

Step-by-step directions

How to obtain materials through Interlibrary Loan as an SAU student

SAU Archive and Special Collections

Information on accessing our SAU Archival Materials

The St. Ambrose University Archives holds many materials on the role that Peace and Social Justice has played in our SAU history.

Some practical resources

Scaffolded Anti-Racism Resources
"This is a working document for scaffolding anti-racism resources. The goal is to facilitate growth for white folks to become allies, and eventually accomplices for anti-racist work. These resources have been ordered in an attempt to make them more accessible."

Words by Pope Francis

Nor is peace “simply the absence of warfare, based on a precarious balance of power; it is fashioned by efforts
directed day after day towards the establishment of the ordered universe willed by God, with a more perfect
justice among men”