Book Catalog at SAU Library
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowOur SAU book catalog: Also try the partner Libraries tab. SAU users can interlibrary loan those titles. See box with ILL directions.
- Mental health laws United States
- People with mental disabilities and crime United States
- Mental disability lawSearch in these journals for pertinent articles. SAU users only. Sign in to Library Central for full access.
Books in the SAU Collection
Reference Shelf: Mental Health Awareness by Call Number: Third Floor Stacks RA790.6 .M46 2022ISBN: 9781637002926Publication Date: 2022Chapter 4 has legislation and political implications and examples.
" Politics of behavioral health. Legislation and mental health -- Rep. Porter reintroduces bill to reduce violence against individuals with mental illness and disabilities / Building mental health into emergency responses / Missouri will become last state to enforce Federal laws on mental health care coverage / Federal law says insurers must cover outpatient mental health care : but Mississippi decides not for its state employees / Mental health parity in the US : have we made any real progress? /"
Discrimination Against the Mentally Ill by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV3004 .J657 2016ISBN: 9781610698917Publication Date: 2016""How have individuals with mental illness been treated historically and what are their experiences today? This book investigates the historical and contemporary forms of discrimination faced by those with mental illness. Provides a valuable resource for researching the hot topic of discrimination and injustice against a group of individuals--one that is often overlooked by society as well as by reference books. Supplies annotated primary sources that will serve to improve readers' research and critical reasoning skills. Examines the role the media has played in discriminatory practices towards mental illness. Explores several contemporary issues related to mental illness--including diversity, comorbidity, homelessness, veterans, and the criminal justice system--and their intersection with discrimination"
Committed by Call Number: Library Third Floor Stacks RC455.2.E8 M55 2016ISBN: 9781421420783Publication Date: 2016" Miller and Hanson illuminate the personal consequences of this controversial practice through voices of people who have been helped by the treatment they had as well as those who have been traumatized by it. The authors explore the question of whether involuntary treatment has a role in preventing violence, suicide, and mass murder. They delve into the controversial use of court-ordered outpatient treatment at its best and at its worst. Finally, they examine innovative solutions--mental health court, crisis intervention training, and pretrial diversion--that are intended to expand access to care while diverting people who have serious mental illness out of the cycle of repeated hospitalization and incarceration. They also assess what psychiatry knows about the prediction of violence and the limitations of laws designed to protect the public"
Law and the Unconscious by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks K346.D35 L39 2017ISBN: 9780300188837Publication Date: 2017"Why psychoanalysis matters to law -- The psychoanalytic tradition in American law -- Psychoanalysis and free will -- Guilty minds -- Intimate contracts -- Violent threats -- Sexual choice -- Children's rights.
How do we bring the law into line with people's psychological experience? How can psychoanalysis help us understand irrational actions and bad choices? Our legal system relies on the idea that people act reasonably and of their own free will, yet some still commit crimes with a high likelihood of being caught, sign obviously one-sided contracts, or violate their own moral codes (behavior many would call fundamentally irrational). Anne Dailey shows that a psychoanalytic perspective grounded in solid clinical work can bring the law into line with the reality of psychological experience. Approaching contemporary legal debates with fresh insights, this original and powerful critique sheds new light on issues of overriding social importance, including false confessions, sexual consent, threats of violence, and criminal responsibility. By challenging basic legal assumptions with a nuanced and humane perspective, Dailey shows how psychoanalysis can further our legal system's highest ideals of individual fairness and systemic justice. "
Crime, Punishment, and Mental Illness by Call Number: Library Third Floor Stacks RA1151 .E72 2008ISBN: 9780813543383Publication Date: 2008Description: The social construction of mental illness as a criminal justice problem -- Systems of social control : from asylums to prisons -- Competency to stand trial and competency to be executed -- The problems with the insanity defense : the conflict between law and psychiatry -- The "mad" or "bad" debate concerning sex offenders -- Juvenile offenders, developmental competency, and mental illness -- Criminalizing mental illness : does it matter?
Selected Web sites
- Mental Health law: an overview"Mental health and the law interact in numerous ways. The term "competence" signifies a legal conclusion that an individual is capable of entering into a binding contract, transferring assets, or participating in a legal proceeding. The provision of mental health services is regulated and, to some extent, publicly supported.
Legal standards surround the process by which those who are mentally ill can be forced, against their will, to receive treatment. Statutes for involuntary commitment whether denominated civil or criminal are subject to the due process clause of the 14th Amendment. This is because involuntary commitment severely infringes on a person's right to be free from governmental restraint and the right to not be confined unnecessarily. Courts have held that such statutes must bear some reasonable relation to the purpose for which the individual is committed.
Finally and most conspicuously, the criminal justice system has, of necessity, to address issues of responsibility, appropriateness of trial and treatment in the light of mental health considerations.
States dictate how and when the insanity defense may be invoked in state court while the federal government does so for the federal court system. In 1984, the Insanity Defense Reform Act (18 U.S.C. § 17) was passed. Generally, it placed the burden of proving insanity on the defendant and it cut on the use of mental illness as a defense. Today, insanity is rarely invoked and of those, only a quarter succeed." - Indicators Of Mental Health Problems Reported By Prisoners And Jail Inmates, 2011-2012 Jennifer Bronson, Ph.D., Bureau of Justice Statistics, Marcus Berzofsky, Dr. P.H., RTI International June 22, 2017"Presents prevalence estimates of mental health indicators among state and federal prisoners and jail inmates by different time periods, demographics, criminal justice history, most serious offense, mental health treatment received while incarcerated, and rule violations. Indicators were defined as serious psychological distress (SPD) in the 30 days prior to the interview or having a history of a mental health problem. Data are from BJS's 2011-2012 National Inmate Survey. Comparisons to the general population are based on data from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's National Survey on Drug Use and Health, conducted in 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012"
- Mental Health: Justice Center: Council of State Governments"The Council of State Governments Justice Center provides practical, nonpartisan, research-driven strategies and tools to increase public safety and strengthen communities."
- Emerging Issues in Behavioral Health and the Criminal Justice System"Learn about specific issues that further complicate the lives of people with behavioral health conditions in U.S. criminal and juvenile justice systems."
Legal Journals database
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database includes over 17,000 full-text news sources. Also includes a wealth of company/financial information and a variety of legal cases. Can be tricky to search, but useful under the right circumstances.
A note to users concerning database searching
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.