Library Hours
Please check the SAU Library webpage for the most up-to-date hours.
Reference Desk 563/333-6245
Email at : librefdesk@sau.edu
Citation help
- Citation help pageCovers APA, MLA, Chicago and more!
Reference books online at SAU
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis background and reference database contains over 1,200 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 3,500,000 full-text articles and/or chapters. Think of it as a Wikipedia you can use in your papers!
Selected titles found in SAU Library
Conceptualising Arbitrary Detention by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781529222494Publication Date: 2024"This book examines what happens when states and other authorities use detention to abuse their power, deter dissent and maintain social hierarchies. Written by an author with decades of practical experience in the human rights field, the book examines a variety of scenarios where individuals are unlawfully detained in violation of their most basic rights to personal liberty and exposes the many fallacies associated with arbitrary detention."
Use Library Central to find books on the SAU shelves chosen by SAU professors on the topic. Sign in with your SAU creds in the upper right corner of Library Central for full functionality and service.
Use as SUBJECTS
United States Emigration and Immigration
Emigration and Immigration (for world countries)
Detain and deport : the chaotic U.S. immigration enforcement regime by Call Number: Online e-bookPublication Date: 2019Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents
A transnational ethnography of U.S. detention and deportation -- Ecuadorian migration, U.S. policy, and human smuggling -- The making of a massive system -- Ordering chaos : system organization and operation -- The "peculiar" advantages of chaos : detainees' experiences -- "You don't know how I suffer, waiting every day" : reverberations of detention in Ecuador -- "There is no other way" : postdeportation insecurities and continued migration -- Ordering chaos, opening space -- Appendix A. Interviewed functionaries -- Appendix B. Interviewed deportees, basic data -- Appendix C. Deportee interview question guide.- Immigration : policy, background and laws by Call Number: Online e-bookPublication Date: 2019Includes index.
- Everyone Who Is Gone Is Here: The United States, Central America, and the Making of a CrisisCall Number: ON ORDERPublication Date: 2024Named a Best Book of the Year by The New Yorker, Chicago Tribune, Newsweek, PBS NewsHour, LitHub, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Lunch, Christian Science Monitor, and Counterpunch • One of Barack Obama's Summer Reading List Picks • Named a Notable Book by New York Times and Washington Post • Nominated for the Carnegie Medal for Excellence and the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction
- The criminalization of migration : context and consequences by Call Number: Online e-bookPublication Date: 2018The Criminalization of Migration maps how the predominant trend toward the criminalization of migration in Canada and abroad can be reversed for the benefit of all, especially those forced to migrate for the protection of their inherent human rights and dignity.
Bibliographic Note: Includes bibliographical references.
Full-Text e-book collection
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis background and reference database contains over 1,200 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 3,500,000 full-text articles and/or chapters. Think of it as a Wikipedia you can use in your papers!
Definitions
This page covers the moral, ethical, and societal views and includes breaking news.
Definitions:
Immigration : noun 1. the action of coming to live permanently in a foreign country.
2. the place at an airport or country's border where government officials check the documents of people entering that country.
Deportation : noun 1. an act or instance of deporting
2. the removal from a country of an alien whose presence is unlawful or prejudicial
US Legal Definition: Deportation is the process of removing a noncitizen from the U.S. for violating immigration law. The U.S. may detain and deport noncitizens who participate in criminal acts.
Emigration : noun 1. an act or instance of emigrating : departure from a place of abode, natural home, or country for life or residence elsewhere
SAU Article Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database contains over 2,800 full-text scholarly journals, 30,000 full-text eBooks, and 40,000 full-text research reports from various organizations and policy institutes. Beoved by many old-school professors in the humanities and social sciences.
- CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher This link opens in a new window
This background and reference database contains over 4,500 full-text reports on a variety of topics and current affairs. The reports are scholarly and well-referenced, but also quite readable. If you find a report on your topic you will have a great source!
- Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new windowThis political science database from Gale contains nearly 150 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 250 full-text magazines pertaining to war and the United States military.
- Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis creatively-named political science database from ProQuest contains over 460 full-text scholarly journals.
- Sociology Database This link opens in a new windowThis wittily-titled sociology database from ProQuest contains over 700 full-text scholarly journals.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowThis business database from EBSCO includes over 1,350 full-text, scholarly business journals. Also includes a large number of company profiles, many of which are for private companies.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowThis religious studies database from EBSCO includes 380 full-text scholarly journals and 2,500 indexed journals. Also includes the CATHOLIC PERIODICAL & LITERATURE INDEX, which includes essay collections, church documents, papal documents, and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
Try using the keywords in the databases above various combinations (not too many at a time!)
Immigration
"United States"
border
deportation
deport
"economic impact"
aliens
refugees AND "united states"
Legal Journals and News
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database includes over 17,000 full-text news sources. Also includes a wealth of company/financial information and a variety of legal cases. Can be tricky to search, but useful under the right circumstances.
A note to users concerning database searching
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.
Selected Web sites
- ImmigrationLegal Information Institute: "brings legal domain expertise together with emerging technologies to enhance and explain the law for the public. We identify, extract, annotate, index, and present features latent in the raw data provided by government publishers. We also create original content meant to explain and clarify the law, like Wex, our Supreme Court Bulletin Previews, and the case summaries in our Women & Justice Collection."
- U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP)"As the United States’ first unified border entity, CBP takes a comprehensive approach to border management and control, combining customs, immigration, border security, and agricultural protection into one coordinated and supportive activity."
- Immigrant Stories (Primary Source)The Immigrant Defense Project (IDP) was founded over 20 years ago to combat an emerging human rights crisis: the targeting of immigrants for mass imprisonment and deportation.
- Questions and Answers: RefugeesU.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services; a part of Homeland Security
SAU Reference Librarian
Streaming video
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis database is restricted to SAU community users only. These users can create an account in Films on Demand to save searches and videos in personal playlists onsite.
- Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new windowThis streaming video product includes over 13,000 video clips and over 5,000 full-length videos covering a range of historical topics and eras.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a video streaming service that provides access to over 30,000 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. Can be viewed on-and-off-campus and is completely free for the SAU community.
Interlibrary Loan
Breaking News from the New York Times
- U.S. Immigration and Border Newsup-to-today's news on this topic. SAU has access to full articles. Ask your SAU librarian for any help you need.
