Take Note
The SAU Librarians are here to help you. You can make an appointment in advance, just stop by the reference desk or call us at 563-333-6245.
The reference desk email is librefdesk@sau.edu
Reference Hours when classes are in session
Monday-Thursday, 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday, 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, No reference services; building open 1-5pm
Sunday, 1pm - 9:00 p.m.
Reference Desk 563/333-6245
Email at : librefdesk@sau.edu
Library Hours
Please check the SAU Library webpage for the most up-to-date hours.
Reference Desk 563/333-6245
Email at : librefdesk@sau.edu
Follow Us!
Helpful Handouts
- If you are in a database and want to get the PERMALINK of an articleThis URL will get one directly back to the article in question, especially useful in an APA citation if it does not list a doi number.
- Primary SourcesHow to distinguish between Primary and Secondary sources
- Crafting research questions: a templateTry your topic in this template process sheet
- A comparison of APA 6th and 7th editions for changes to be aware of.Some of the databases will provide the 6th edition, but your professor may want the 7th ed. Know the difference.
ProQuest Central suite of databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
- Health & Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis health and medicine database from ProQuest contains over 5,000 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 400 full-text magazines covering the medical, nursing, and psychology fields.
- Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis philosophy database from EBSCO contains nearly 200 full-text journals and miscellany of other publications pertaining to world philosophy.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from ProQuest includes over 150 high-prestige, full-text scholarly journals. Widely considered the premier psychology database.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from EBSCO indexes over 1,400 scholarly journals and contains over 8,000,000 bibliographic citations. A portion of the content is available in full-text.
Other databases that will be helpful for your project
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowThis science/social science database contains Elsevier's Physical Sciences & Social & Behavioral Sciences journal packages. Provides access to 3,700 full-text scholarly journals with coverage in the sciences and social sciences.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowThis biomedical and life sciences database contains nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly journals pertaining to a variety of health and biology fields.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowThis biomedicine and health database from EBSCO contains over 1,000 full-text scholarly journals.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This nursing database from EBSCO contains nearly 1,600 full-text scholarly journals. Also includes a number of evidence-based care sheets. Widely considered the premier nursing database in the industry.
- SPORTDiscus With Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis sports medicine database from EBSCO contains over 650 full-text scholarly journals.
General Book and Article Search: Library Central
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowLibrary Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
Full-text E-books (SAU only)
Good Web sites
- Literature Reviews"This site will explain what literature reviews are and offer insights into the form and construction of literature reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences."
- How to Analyze a Primary SourceThis guide focuses on History, but many of the principles are the same.
- Using Primary Sources in Your Writingfrom the ALA
- Sort Fact from Fiction Online with Lateral ReadingVid from the Stanford History Education Group.
Take tips from professional fact checkers! - Four Main Components for Effective OutlinesNote the other Outline options on the left side menu once in the guide.
- Tips and Examples for Writing Thesis StatementsThis resource provides tips for creating a thesis statement and examples of different types of thesis statements.
- Library BasicsMore good stuff here.
