Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV7436 .T66 2020
Publication Date: 2020
"Top journalists, organizations, and anti-gun-violence advocacy groups are represented here--from Pamela Coloff to Ibram X. Kendi to Everytown for Gun Safety and the Giffords Organization--to collect the most comprehensive, thoughtful and practical guide on gun violence in America. "
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BR526 .A89 2019
Publication Date: 2019
"Description: Not in the stats : the collateral damage of 393 million guns -- Slogans we die by : ten myths about guns -- "In this game for keeps" : a short history of gundamentalism -- Fear and incivility : living in a nation with more guns than people -- Not just for soldiers : PTSD, suicide, and the epidemic of despair -- Our teachers' arms : guns in public spaces -- Count the cost: the economic toll of gun violence -- Whose law and order? The interface of guns, racism, and poverty -- Come to the light : exposing falsehoods, advocating for truth -- Show love, demand justice: some modest proposals for change -- Finding hope : working toward God's peaceful tomorrow."
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV7436 .C36 2017
Publication Date: 2017
". Many of the covered topics are placed in historical and cross-cultural perspective. The new edition of Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook enables the reader to navigate and interpret the research to become sufficiently educated on any specific aspect of the gun issue to make an informed decision--for example, whether to support stricter or more lenient gun control; whether to become a gun owner; whether to support a particular political party or candidate; or whether to develop or to refine a particular philosophy regarding guns. Other aspects of the contemporary gun debate that are addressed include whether the Supreme Court's ruling that the Second Amendment guarantees an individual right will withstand future challenges, whether the strong gun regulations used in Europe would be effective and applicable in reducing gun violence in the United States, and whether the diversity explosion created by the high rate of immigration from countries where guns are strictly controlled will soon change the politics of the U.S. gun control debate."
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV7436 .W555 2015
Publication Date: 2015
"As this book shows, the debate over firearms begins with cultural values and extends into questions of constitutional rights, public health and safety, and politics. Examining its subject through the prism of the Sandy Hook shootings, the book looks at the influence of elected officials, the courts, interest groups, and average citizens in shaping gun-control laws. It shares poll results detailing what the public really thinks about guns and why, and it explains the various components of gun policy and policymaking to show how they come together to form the current reality."
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV7436 .G8778 2017
Publication Date: 2017
"A national debate continues to rage in regard to 2nd Amendment rights in contemporary society. This collection will deal with concerns about domestic violence committed by guns, the ramifications of a widely armed citizenry, the government's failure to pass comprehensive gun legislation, as well as police brutality, strong gun lobbies, open carry laws, home-grown terrorism, the recent rise of fatal shootings of black men by police, and the Orlando massacre. From domestic terrorism to the Black Lives Matter movement articles in this title reflect differences in policy views on the subject in the longstanding debate around gun rights and gun control."
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BR115.F56 A97 2020
Publication Date: 2020
"A biblical treatment on gun ownership and laws in America. Defends the view-from a non-pacifist perspective-that the right to own and use a gun is a conditional right; using a gun to harm another person is only a last resort, and the United States needs more legal restrictions"--
"National Institute of Justice’s findings point to the adoption of uniform definitions and comprehensive databases as logical next steps for improving research and practice to prevent mass shootings.".
from the U.S. Dept. of Justice: "Additionally, a recent surge in gun sales has increased already rising concerns among those of us working to protect people from domestic violence and sexual assault due to the already tense situations that may become more dangerous with a (new) firearm in the house."
This interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
This background and reference database contains over 400 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 2,000,000 full-text chapters and entries. A great resource for getting reliable, readable information for your papers.
This background and reference database contains over 1,200 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 3,500,000 full-text articles and/or chapters. Think of it as a Wikipedia you can use in your papers!
Kanopy is an video streaming service that provides access to over 30,000 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. Can be viewed on-and-off-campus and is completely free for the SAU community.