If you are off-campus
If you are off-campus and want to access our SAU databases fully as an SAU community member, please go to the SAU portal https://mysau.sau.edu/ , navigate to the Library portal page and look on the right side for library links to databases and libguides. Doing it that way will authenticate you as 'on-campus' of a sort. If you need help, contact your librarian at librefdesk@sau.edu or use the chat box on the HOME tab of this libguide.
Books at the SAU Library
When doing book searches in the links below and if you want more books than what we have on the shelves, remember to search our Partner Libraries for more and different books. It is a button in the advanced search box to the right of the DEFAULT button in Advanced Search SEARCH CRITERIA in Library Central. Be sure to be signed in to Library Central (upper right corner) to be able to order books from Partner Libraries right through this catalog. Ask a librarian for help, if needed. Books will be available for pick-up at the circ desk in the SAU Library once they have arrived and you can return them here to our building.
Handbook of U. S. Theologies of Liberation by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks BT30.U6 .H36 2004ISBN: 9780827214484Publication Date: 2004Books on the same topic are shelved together - browse the BT30s for more.
White Too Long : the legacy of white supremacy in American Christianity by Call Number: PARTNER LIBRARY - obtain through this linked catalogISBN: 9781982122867Publication Date: 2020Be sure to be signed in to the book catalog (upper right, same password creds as Blackboard)
The Oxford Handbook of Religion, Conflict, and Peacebuilding by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks BL65.P4 O94 2015ISBN: 9780199731640Publication Date: 2015Includes chapters : Religious violence : the strong, the weak, and the pathological / Historical and the histocrist. Religion, peace, and the origins of nationalism / Religion, nationalism, and the politics of secularism
Final Acts: the end of life, hospice and palliative care by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks R726.8 .F552 2017ISBN: 9780895038654Publication Date: 2017Has a chapter: Spirituality in end of life care : a Roman Catholic perspective " ALSO "Existential empathy : caregiver understanding of patients' religious beliefs at the end of life"
Facing Death: where culture, religion, and medicine meet by Call Number: Third Floor Stacks R726.8 .F33 1996ISBN: 0300063490Publication Date: 1996one chapter is "James E. Ponet -- Catholic theology's main thoughts on death"
International Handbook of Practical TheologyCall Number: Online access - e-bookPublication Date: 2022"The articles in this handbook recognize that faith, spirituality, and lived religion, within and beyond institutional communities, refer to realms of cultures, ritual practices, and symbolic orders, whose boundaries are not clearly defined and whose contents are shifting. The International Handbook of Practical Theology offers insightful transcultural conceptions of religion and religious matters gathered from various cultures and traditions of faith."
Black Catholic Studies Reader by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks BX1407.B63 B53 2021ISBN: 9780813234298Publication Date: 2021"This first-ever Black Catholic Studies Reader offers an introduction to the theology and history of the Black Catholic experience from those who know it best: Black Catholic scholars, teachers, activists, and ministers. The reader offers a multi-faceted, interdisciplinary approach that illuminates what it means to be Black and Catholic in the United States"
The Bible by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks BS475.3 .C664 2021ISBN: 9780199383047Publication Date: 2020Bible and Bibles -- Languages, texts, and translations -- The contents of the Bible -- Authors and authorship -- The contexts of the Bible -- Interpretive strategies -- The uses of the Bible -- Biblical concepts -- Biblical values
Websites of Interest
- United States Conference of Catholic BishopsThese are the "Official” Catholic documents and views. Keep in mind that they would not include dissenting theological views.
- Religion and Ethics NewsweeklyWebsite for the weekly TV program.
- The Liberation Theology Podcast with host David Inczauskis, SJ"A close look at the basic concepts of Latin American liberation theology "
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar gives you the ability to search a wide variety of journals easily, and to access journal articles that are freely available on the internet. Ask your librarian how to sync Google Scholar to your SAU google account. librefdesk@sau.edu
- The VaticanEnglish language site
- Christians against Christian NationalismIncludes a podcast series (10 episodes) and other articles and sources.
- Spiritual Care in Palliative Care: A Podcast episodeAllison Kestenbaum is a board certified chaplain (NAJC and APC) and certified pastoral educator (ACPE), Katy Hyman is Program Coordinator, Palliative Care, Long Beach Medical Center, and Paul Galchutt, MPH, MDiv. Research Chaplain - PhD Student. Transforming ChaplaincyUniversity of Minnesota School of Public Health
- Robert P. Jones on White Supremacy and ReligionAuthor of 'White too Long : the legacy of white supremacy in American Christianity' hosts this 31 minute podcast and "brings us his expertise in data and theology with what he has titled the “racism index,” a scale used to examine the impact religion has had on a person’s potential racism through a series of racial attitude questions. His results were both affirming and surprising, and he explains them in today’s episode, as he and Mark question what a movement to integrate Sunday morning might look like."
How to sync Google Scholar with SAU Library content
A note to users concerning database searching
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.
ATLA searches for topics
- White SupremacyATLA article result list for the SUBJECT heading of : "White supremacy movements"
Add keywords in the other boxes once there to narrow it down - Christian NationalismSome official SUBJECT headings to try in ATLA include:
;New Right (Christianity)
;White nationalism
;Nationalism - Religious aspects - Christianity
;Christianity and politics
;Power (Social sciences) - Religious aspects - Christianity - Latin America (as a GE SUBJECT Geographic Name in the drop down of first box) AND "liberation theology" (as a SU SUBJECTS in the drop down of second box)Some other SUBJECT headings to try:
"South America" AND "liberation theology"
;Religion; Brazil
;Catholic Church Consejo Episcopal Latinoamerican
;Decolonization
;Political theology
;Poverty
;Freedom -- Religious aspects -- Christianity - Hospices and hospice care (as SU SUBJECTS in drop down)Other SUBJECT heading terms to try:
Palliative treatment
;Older people -- Care
;Spiritual care (Medical care)
;Terminal care
; Death -- Religious aspects -- Christianity
SAU Library Databases
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowThis religious studies database from EBSCO includes 380 full-text scholarly journals and 2,500 indexed journals. Also includes the CATHOLIC PERIODICAL & LITERATURE INDEX, which includes essay collections, church documents, papal documents, and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database contains over 2,800 full-text scholarly journals, 30,000 full-text eBooks, and 40,000 full-text research reports from various organizations and policy institutes. Beoved by many old-school professors in the humanities and social sciences.
- Jstor: ReligionClick here to search their Religion collection only
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
- Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThis creatively-named religious studies database from ProQuest contains nearly 300 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 50 full-text magazines.
- Research Library: Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowThis social sciences database from ProQuest contains nearly 1,900 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 350 magazines pertaining to the fields of social sciences (the 5 most prominent social science fields being economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology).
- Research Library: History This link opens in a new windowThis history database from ProQuest contains over 1,300 full-text scholarly journals and over 250 full-text magazines.
