LibGuides: Hot Topics: Drug Use in Sports: Law and Legislation

Subject Headings Searches in Library Central

Try doing a Library Central search for books

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!

Selected titles in our SAU Library

The Oxford Handbook of American Sports Law by Michael A. McCann (Contribution by)
Call Number: Available from Partner Libraries - See handout below
ISBN: 9780190465957
Publication Date: 2018
You can order this book through our book catalog Library Central. SAU Users only.
Doping in Sport and the Law by Ulrich Haas (Editor); Deborah Healey (Editor)
Call Number: Second Floor Stacks K3702 .D666 2016
ISBN: 9781509905881
Publication Date: 2016
"Each of the 14 chapters addresses doping regulation from a legal perspective such as tort, corporate governance, employment law, human rights law, or a scientific area. Legal areas are generally considered from an international and not national perspective. Issues including fairness, logic and the likelihood of compliance are explored. It is vital reading for anyone interested in the law, regulation and governance of sport."
Essentials of Sports Law by Glenn M. Wong
Call Number: KF3989 .W66 2010 SAU Library Second Floor
ISBN: 9780313356759
Publication Date: 2010
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.--In this thoroughly revised Fourth Edition, Glenn Wong provides a comprehensive review of the various sports law issues facing professional, intercollegiate, Olympic, high school, youth, and adult recreational sports. Major topics include drug testing and many more.

Requesting items from Partner Libraries

Selected Web sites

21 USC § 2001 - Designation of United States Anti-Doping Agency
International Convention against Doping in Sports
INTERNATIONAL SPORTS DOPING: U.S. Code 21 USC Ch. 29
CHAPTER 29—INTERNATIONAL SPORTS DOPING
Sec.
2401.Definitions.
2402.Major international doping fraud conspiracies.
2403.Criminal penalties and statute of limitations.
2404.Coordination and sharing of information with USADA.
World Anti-Doping Code
The World Anti-Doping Code was first adopted in 2003 and became effective in 2004. This, the 4th revision, was implemented in 2015.
S.259 - Rodchenkov Anti-Doping Act of 2019
Full-text of a bill in the U.S. Congress. To impose criminal sanctions on certain persons involved in international doping fraud conspiracies, to provide restitution for victims of such conspiracies, and to require sharing of information with the United States Anti-Doping Agency to assist its fight against doping, and for other purposes.
IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES
January 29, 2019

Database for searching legal cases and law reviews

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database includes over 17,000 full-text news sources. Also includes a wealth of company/financial information and a variety of legal cases. Can be tricky to search, but useful under the right circumstances.

A note to users concerning database searching

If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.