LibGuides: Hot Topics: Climate Change: Law and Legislation

Selected titles in our SAU Library

Climate Change Politics and Policies in America [2 Volumes] by Jerald C. Mast
Call Number: Library Third Floor Stacks QC903.2.U6 C5677 2019
ISBN: 9781440859700
Publication Date: 2019
"Description: Vol. 1: Early warnings about energy use and climate change -- The global warming debate heats up (Reagan and Bush I years) -- Deepening political divide on climate (Clinton years) -- Existential threat or cynical hoax - mainstreaming denial (Bush II years) -- Vol. 2: Fighting global warming in an era of political gridlock (Obama's first term) -- Turning to executive actions - regulation and diplomacy (Obama's second term) -- Ascendency of climate denailism? The election of Donald Trump."
Adjudicating Climate Change: state, national, and international approaches by William C. G. Burns (Editor); Hari M. Osofsky (Editor)
Call Number: K3593 .A93 2011 SAU Library Second Floor
ISBN: 9781107638662
Publication Date: 2011
Includes bibliographical references and index.--Courts have emerged as a crucial battleground in efforts to regulate climate change. Over the past several years, tribunals at every level of government around the world have seen claims regarding greenhouse gas emissions and impacts. These cases rely on diverse legal theories, but all focus on government regulation of climate change or the actions of major corporate emitters. This 2009 book explores climate actions in state and national courts, as well as international tribunals, in order to explain their regulatory significance. It demonstrates the role that these cases play in broader debates over climate policy and argues that they serve as an important force in pressuring governments and emitters to address this crucial problem. As law firms and public interest organizations increasingly develop climate practice areas, the book serves as a crucial resource for practitioners, policymakers and academics.
Climate Law and Developing Countries Legal and Policy Challenges for the World Economy by Scott Richardson; Yves Le Bouthillier (Editor); H. McLeod-Kilmurray (Editor); B. J. Richardson (Editor)
Call Number: SAU Library Second Floor K3593 .C57 2009
ISBN: 9781848442269
Publication Date: 2009
Includes bibliographic references and index.--. . . the book is rich and unique. It offers very useful analysis of climate law in developing countries and the key issues in the ongoing negotiations. . . an important source of reference. Environmental Law Review The editors of Climate Law and Developing Countries have brought together a star-studded group of authors with often innovative views on how climate law works (or fails to work) in those countries where it arguably matters more than elsewhere.
The ABCs of Environmental Regulation by Albert I. Telsey
Call Number: Library First Floor Reference (REF KF3775 .T45 2016
ISBN: 9781598887259
Publication Date: 2016
Includes chapters on: Environmental Quality Improvement Act (EQIA) -- Preventing pollution : Pollution Prevention Act (PPA) -- Air. Air pollution : Clean Air Act (CAA) which have a bearing on climate change.

Library Central

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!

Library Central Subject Headings Searches

Type these subject headings directly into the Library Central advanced search as SUBJECT.

Try the Partner Libraries TAB too. (Interlibrary Loan available if you sign in to Library Central)

Selected Web sites

Climate Change Legislation in the US Legislative branch of the government.
legislative information from the Library of Congress Full-text. Enter "global warming" in quotes into the search box to get full-text bills and resolutions from Congress. Try "climate change" too.
Climate Change Laws of the World
This page collects the relevant laws and policies of various countries into a bibliography.
Energy and Commerce Committee- U.S. House of Representatives
The Committee on Energy and Commerce, the oldest standing legislative committee in the U.S. House of Representatives, is vested with the broadest jurisdiction of any congressional authorizing committee. It covers policy.
The Paris Agreement
"The UNFCCC secretariat (UN Climate Change) is the United Nations entity tasked with supporting the global response to the threat of climate change. UNFCCC stands for United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change. The Convention has near universal membership (197 Parties) and is the parent treaty of the 2015 Paris Agreement. The main aim of the Paris Agreement is to keep the global average temperature rise this century as close as possible to 1.5 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels. The UNFCCC is also the parent treaty of the 1997 Kyoto Protocol. The ultimate objective of all three agreements under the UNFCCC is to stabilize greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere at a level that will prevent dangerous human interference with the climate system, in a time frame which allows ecosystems to adapt naturally and enables sustainable development."
Kyoto Protocol
"The Kyoto Protocol is an international agreement linked to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, which commits its Parties by setting internationally binding emission reduction targets.
Recognizing that developed countries are principally responsible for the current high levels of GHG emissions in the atmosphere as a result of more than 150 years of industrial activity, the Protocol places a heavier burden on developed nations under the principle of "common but differentiated responsibilities."
The Kyoto Protocol was adopted in Kyoto, Japan, on 11 December 1997 and entered into force on 16 February 2005. The detailed rules for the implementation of the Protocol were adopted at COP 7 in Marrakesh, Morocco, in 2001, and are referred to as the "Marrakesh Accords." Its first commitment period started in 2008 and ended in 2012."
Global Climate Action
"The Global Climate Action portal is an online platform where actors from around the globe - countries, regions, cities, companies, investors and other organizations - can display their commitments to act on climate change.
Launched by UN Climate Change, Peru and France in 2014, the portal was born of the realization that addressing climate change will take ambitious, broad-based action from all segments of society, public and private.
The aim is to present a clear, comprehensive view of Global Climate Action, recognizing actors and inspiring still greater ambition, for the good of current and future generations."
EPA Laws and Regulations
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Database for searching legal cases and law reviews

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database includes over 17,000 full-text news sources. Also includes a wealth of company/financial information and a variety of legal cases. Can be tricky to search, but useful under the right circumstances.

A good Journal to search within (SAU Users only)

The George Washington journal of energy & environmental law.
Click to get to record, Sign into Library Central, then click 'View It' tab, then click on Nexis Uni database (to search within that publication) Must be signed in to access fulltext.

A note to users concerning database searching

If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.