LibGuides: School of Social Work: Social Policy: SWK 310

Week One

Week 2

Week 3

Pioneering social worker John E. (Jack) Hansan, Ph.D. (1930 – 2019), launched the Social Welfare History Project in 2010. Recognizing the power of the World Wide Web as an information-sharing platform, Hansan created the site to help the public understand and appreciate the history of social reform and social welfare services that have strengthened the fabric of American society. The Social Welfare History Project reflected not only on glory and greatness, but also explored the acts of omission and commissions of hurt and discrimination. (from VCU website)

Background and Reference Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This background and reference database contains over 1,200 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 3,500,000 full-text articles and/or chapters. Think of it as a Wikipedia you can use in your papers!

Encyclopedia of Social Work
This encyclopedia from the National Association of Social Workers Press and Oxford University Press has 800+ overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards.
Oxford Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care
Contains 1500+ encyclopedia articles from Oxford University Press covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics such as health and education.

Social Work Resources

Encyclopedia of Social Work
A continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers Press and Oxford University Press. Over 800 overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards.