Library Links
- Library HomepageGateway to library resources and services.
- Library Databases PageThis is the gateway page to access the Library's databases.
SAU Library Reference Sources
The History and Social Foundations of American Education by Call Number: LA205 .P84 2013ISBN: 9780132626132Publication Date: 2012-01-05
Library Database Resources
- Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new windowThis education database from Gale contains over 1,100 full-text scholarly journals.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowThis education database from EBSCO contains over 1,000 full-text scholarly journals.
- Education Database This link opens in a new windowThis creatively-named education database from ProQuest contains over 1,100 full-text scholarly journals and over 100 full-text magazines.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database from Gale contains over 8,000 full-text scholarly journals and over 9,000 full-text magazines and newspapers. Also includes full-text of The New York Times from 1985-present. Differs from General OneFile in that it is more oriented towards areas of academic study.
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowLibrary Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis North American history database from EBSCO contains nearly 200 full-text scholarly journals.
Journals
The best way to discover articles is to search databases. Following journal literature is an effective means of scholarship. The following journals provide literature on educational topics.
History of education quarterly
History of education
History of education journal
Journal of philosophy and history of education
History
History of education review.
American educational history journal.
Encounters in Theory and History of Education
Historical encounters : a journal of historical consciousness, historical cultures, and history education.
Featured Faculty Librarian
Search tips
Example Subject Headings for Searches
Education Standards
History - United States
Education
Special Aspects of Education
Sociology
Business & Economics
History - United States, Since the Civil War
History - United States, Slavery & Civil War
State & Local History - South, Gulf States
Biography
History - United States, 1790-1861 State & Local History - N. England, Atlantic Coast (569)
History - United States, Revolutionary Period
Education
Special Aspects of Education
History of Education
Individual Institutions - United States
Theory & Practice of Education
School Administration & Organization
Early Childhood, Preschool, Kindergarten & Primary
Higher Education
Education & Training of Teachers
General Education
Secondary & Middle School Education
Sociology
Sociology, General & Theoretical
Communities, Classes, Races
Business & Economics
Economic History & Conditions
Labor, General