LibGuides: Sociology 200: Research Methods: Scholarly Sources That Aren't Peer-Reviewed Articles

Scholarly Chapters & Reports Databases

Try these three databases for additional scholarly material that might inform your research proposal:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This background and reference database contains over 1,200 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works. Contains nearly 3,500,000 full-text articles and/or chapters. Think of it as a Wikipedia you can use in your papers!
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher This link opens in a new window
This background and reference database contains over 4,500 full-text reports on a variety of topics and current affairs. The reports are scholarly and well-referenced, but also quite readable. If you find a report on your topic you will have a great source!
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This current events database from Gale contains viewpoints, news, reference content, scholarly articles, and video on 100s of today's hottest topics. Each topic is presented in a pro/con format with balanced and comprehensive resources. A great resource for speeches and debates.

Library Reference Desk
(563)-333-6245 / librefdesk@sau.edu

Reference Contacts

Luke Beatty Library Director	(563)-333-6241
Hannah Carlton Teaching Librarian	(563)-333-6474
Olivia Davison Head of Media Services	(563)-333-6242
Stella Herzig Reference & Instruction Librarian	(563)-333-6056
Onnica Marquez Archivist & Reference Professional	(563)-333-5868
Elizabeth Kunze Sanders Reference & Instruction Librarian	(563)-333-6035
Corin Sowers Access & Systems Librarian	(563)-333-5813
Alison Tollas Teaching Librarian	(563) 333- 6244