Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Archival Material & Special Collections

The Archive is accessible Monday through Friday from 8 am – 4:30 pm. Appointments are preferred, please contact the archivist.

Photographs

Photographs from the late 1880s to the present

Ambrose Hall

Student Newspapers

 

Ambrosian News: 1931 - 1968

Ambrose Magazine: Fall 1984 - Spring 1992The Paper Sac: 1968/69 - 1983/84

The Buzz: Fall 1992 - present

Alumni Publications

Ambrosian Alumnus: 1949 - 1961

St. Ambrose College Alumnus: 1961 - 1974

Acorns & Oaks: 1959 - 1974

Ambrose Scene: 1974 - present

Newsletters / Bulletins

The President’s Newsletter: 1988 - current

Oakleaf: 2000 - current, (letter to faculty & staff)

Campus Bulletin: 1961 - current, weekly

Press Releases: 1957 - current

Campus Ministry Bulletin: 1992 - current

The Ambrosian: 2008 - current, quarterly newsletter about Ambrosians for Ambrosians

AmbroseZine: 2001 – current, monthly electronic newsletter

Official Documents

St. Ambrose College Catalogs: 1885 -1987

St. Ambrose University Catalogs: 1988 -- current

Directories (Staff & Student): 1966 -- current

Student Handbooks: 1950s – current

Faculty Handbooks: 1974 -- current

Staff Handbooks: current

Yearbooks

Flip through your past with our collection of yearbooks!

The Ambrosian: 1913 - 1923

The Oaks: 1940 -1941; 1948 -1984

Literary and Student Publications

The Ambrosian: 1923/24 - Fall 1933

Contemporary Club Papers: 1928 -1948 (annual publication of essays)

Ambrosian Quarterly: Fall 1936 - Summer 1942

Sea Breeze: 1943 – 1945, (publication during V-12 training)

The Phoenix: 1948

Their Feet Showed It: 1975Ambrosian Review: 1965

Ambrosian Salad: 1976

Student Voice (no date)

Quercus: 1992 - presentJournal of Student Research: 1982 - 1983

Mazy Mind : 2012 - present


History of the University

  1. Oaks & Acorns from the College Campus, by Rev. U.A. Hauber ’05, 1951
  2. The Early Years of St. Ambrose College – a dissertation, by Rev. William F. Dawson ’50, 1956
  3. Bees & Burr Oaks – 100 Years of St. Ambrose College, by Rev. Anthony G. Farrell ‘60, 1982
  4. A Great and Lasting Beginning: The First 125 Years of St. Ambrose University, Rev. George McDaniel ‘66, 2006

History of the University

Other

  • Doctoral Dissertations of DBA students & some faculty
  • Master Theses of Master of Organizational Leadership, Education, Criminal Justice Students
  • Undergraduate Theses: 1926-1957
  • Self-Studies for the North Central Accreditation: 1950s - current
  • Strategic Planning: 1975 – current
  • Architectural Plans
  • Campus Master Plans developed by consultants/firms