LibGuides: Hot Topics: Abortion: Law and Legislation

Library Central Searches by Subject headings

Click on these subject headings to Search for books in Library Central as SUBJECT.
Books on this topic will appear.

Library Central

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!

Selected titles in our SAU Library

Controlling Women : what we must do now to save reproductive freedom by Kathryn Kolbert; Julie F. Kay
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HQ767.5.U5 K65 2021
ISBN: 9780306925634
Publication Date: 2021
"Legal titans Kathryn Kolbert and Julie F. Kay share the story of one of the most divisive issues in American politics through behind-the-scenes personal narratives of the stunning losses and hard-earned victories in landmark abortion rights cases. They chronicle how a convergence of Supreme Court appointments and the strategies of political movements on both sides of this contentious debate have led us to a make-or-break moment for legal abortion in the United States. Most urgently, they propose a bold new strategy for engaging a fresh generation and broadening the scope of abortion rights supporters"
Abortion Regret : the new attack on reproductive freedom by J. Shoshanna Ehrlich; Alesha E. Doan
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HQ767.5.U5 E447 2019
ISBN: 9781440839849
Publication Date: 2019
"[This book]: examines the historical continuity of the abortion regret narrative as a political strategy used to limit women's access to abortion; asserts that the abortion regret narrative is intimately tied to a gendered and paternalistic construction of women's divine role as mothers; examines the antiabortion movement's strategy to place the 'grieving' mother at the center of its oppositional narrative; uses interviews, textual analysis of primary sources, and content analysis of state antiabortion policies to trace the growing impact of the abortion regret narrative; and examines and reveals the antiabortion movement's calculated political motivation for using the abortion regret narrative as its primary strategy to oppose abortion rights."
Reflections on Life, Death, and the Constitution by George Anastaplo
Call Number: SAU Library Second Floor KF385 .A727 2009
ISBN: 9780813125336
Publication Date: 2009
Includes bibliographical references and index.--The role of law in government has been increasingly scrutinized as courts struggle with controversial topics such as assisted suicide, euthanasia, abortion, capital punishment, and torture. Reflections on Life, Death, and the Constitution explores such issues by using classical standards of morality as a starting point for understanding them. Drawing on works of literature and philosophy, and on U.S. Supreme Court decisions, George Anastaplo examines the intimate relationship between human nature and constitutional law.
Scarlet A: the ethics, law, and politics of ordinary abortion by Katie Watson
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HQ767.5.U5 W38 2018
ISBN: 9780190051723
Publication Date: 2018
Her Body, Our Laws by Michelle Oberman
Call Number: Library Third Floor Stacks RG734 .O34 2018
ISBN: 9780807045527
Publication Date: 2018
Description: Beatriz and her case -- Assessing the impact of El Salvador's abortion ban -- The reddest state : Oklahoma's long battle over abortion law -- The abortion-minded woman and the law -- America after Roe -- Conclusion: Parting thoughts on leaving behind the abortion war.
Reproductive Justice by Loretta Ross; Rickie Solinger
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks KF3760 .R67 2017
ISBN: 9780520288201
Publication Date: 2017
"Reproductive Justice is a first-of-its-kind primer providing a comprehensive yet succinct description of the field. Written by two legendary scholar-activists, Reproductive Justice introduces students to an intersectional analysis of race, class, and gender politics. Clearly showing how reproductive justice is a political movement of reproductive rights and social justice, the authors illuminate how, for example, a low-income, physically -disabled woman, living in West Texas with no viable public transportation, no healthcare clinic, and no living-wage employment opportunities, faces a complex web of structural obstacles as she contemplates her sexual and reproductive intentions. Putting the lives and lived experience of women of color at the center of the book, and using a human rights analysis, the authors show how reproductive justice is significantly different from the pro-choice/anti-abortion debates that have long-dominated the headlines and mainstream political conflict. In a period in which women's reproductive lives are imperiled, Reproductive Justice provides an essential guide to understanding and mobilizing around women's rights in the 21st century. Reproductive Justice: A New Vision for the 21st Century Series publishes works that explore the contours and content of reproductive justice. The series will include primers intended for students and those new to reproductive justice as well as books of original research to continue to further knowledge and impact society."--Provided by publisher.
Roe V Wade : the abortion rights controversy in American history by Peter Charles Hoffer; N. E. H. Hull
Call Number: SAU Library Second Floor KF228.R59 H85 2010
ISBN: 9780700617531
Publication Date: 2010
Includes bibliographical references and index.--Abortion becomes a crime, 1800-1900 -- Abortion and birth control, 1900-1965 -- From repression to reform, the road to Roe, 1960-1970 -- The decision in Roe, 1971-1973 -- Roe under siege, 1973-1988 -- The two Roes, 1989-1992 -- Roe in the Clinton years, 1993-2000 -- The abortion rights controversy in the Bush era -- The Roberts court confronts abortion -- Choices : the election of 2008 and beyond -- The never-ending story
When Abortion Was a Crime : women, medicine, and law in the United States, 1867-1973 by Leslie J. Reagan
Call Number: Second Floor Stacks HQ767.5.U5 R378 1997
ISBN: 0520088484
Publication Date: 1997
A history of the time BEFORE Roe v. Wade in America. A crucial historical context source,
Birth Strike: the hidden fight over women's work by Jenny Brown
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HQ766 .B77 2019
ISBN: 9781629636382
Publication Date: 2019
"Argues that the effort to block birth control and abortion in the United States is neither fundamentally about religion nor about politicians pandering to a right-wing base, nor is it a result of prudery or to punish women for having sex. It is about the labor of bearing and rearing children: who will do it and who will pay for it. Hidden behind the conventional explanations is a dramatic fight over women's reproductive labor."

Selected Web sites

In first nationwide election since Roe was overturned,(2022) voters opt to protect abortion access
"The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists."
more...less...
includes statistics.
Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization (2022)
From Cornell Law Library
Abortion
a great legal overview of Roe v. Wade with links to primary sources from the Cornell University Legal Information Institute. Use search box onsite to get more, including all 50 states regulations. An excellent primary source.
U.S. Supreme Court Docket Search
Place your key concept into the search box, below the first 3 paragraphs of text.
Congress.gov
enter the key concept word into the search bar for bills up in the U.S. Congress
Abortion: Judicial History and Legislative Response
US Congressional Abortion Bills
Use this page to browse bills in the U.S. Congress related to the subject Abortion. Full-text of bills too. Scroll down the page.
Iowa Legislature: Bills concerning Abortion
You can also search that keyword within:
Senate / House
Legislators
Legislation(39)
Committees
Iowa Law and Rules
Publications and Reports
Resources and Civic Education
Documentation
more...less...
https://www.legis.iowa.gov
Abortion Services and Military Medical Facilities
Center for Reproductive Rights
Has many useful links, scroll down.
Abortion Policies and Reproductive Health around the World
Excellent source.
Global Abortion Policies Database A tool to expand knowledge, encourage transparency, and promote accountability.
more...less...
HRP is the main instrument within the United Nations system for research in human reproduction, bringing together policymakers, scientists, health care providers, consumers and community representatives to identify and address priorities for research to improve sexual and reproductive health. The work of HRP in sexual and reproductive health is based on the international agreements adopted at the International Conference on Population and Development (Cairo, 1994) and the Fourth World Conference on Women (Beijing, 1995) and their respective follow-up reviews, as well as the Millennium Development Goals adopted in 2001 and Sustainable Development Goals adopted in 2015.

The Global Abortion Policies Database is designed to strengthen global efforts to eliminate unsafe abortion by producing an interactive open-access database and repository of current abortion laws, policies, and national standards and guidelines. This tool builds upon the UNPD’s previous work in this area, resulting in a more comprehensive information resource on abortion policies in the 21st century. The database will facilitate analyses of countries’ abortion laws and policies when they are placed in the context of WHO guidelines and human rights norms and standards. It is intended to help states identify and eliminate the barriers that women encounter in accessing safe abortion services. It is also intended to increase both the transparency of abortion laws and policies and to ensure accountability for the protection of women’s health and their human rights.

Please cite the Global Abortion Policies Database using the following citation: World Health Organization. Global abortion policies database. 2018. https://abortion-policies.srhr.org/. Accessed [date]
Roe v. Wade Full-text of the decision (historical as of summer 2022)

NexusUni database for law journals and cases (Full-Text)

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database includes over 17,000 full-text news sources. Also includes a wealth of company/financial information and a variety of legal cases. Can be tricky to search, but useful under the right circumstances.

Video - SAU Users Only

Even with Roe v. Wade intact, many states have aggressively restricted abortion access
Using this link witll give access to the transcript of the video listed above.
"Description:
Judge Brett Kavanaugh's nomination to the Supreme Court has many abortion rights advocates worried that the landmark 1973 Roe v. Wade decision is in imminent peril. In many places the rollback of access is already steadily progressing. Amna Nawaz reports from South Dakota, one of four states that would immediately ban all abortions if Roe were overturned."

A note to users

If you are not a St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to Lexis Nexis database which is subscription based. Call your public library to ask them.

Hot Topics: Abortion: Law and Legislation