other sample searches
- metropolis AND (movie OR film)in Jstor
- frankenstein AND (movie OR film) AND WhaleIn Ebscohost Communications and Media database
- UT Passion of the Christ (Motion picture)from ATLA Religion database
- "Blade Runner" AND (movie OR film)in ATLA database (19 results)
- (("Blade Runner" AND (movie OR film)) AND ((Bible OR biblical)))from Jstor dadtabase (over 300 results - all full-text)
- "Ex Machina" AND (movie OR film)from ATLA database (5 results)
- "Ex Machina" AND Garland AND alexfrom Jstor database
- "The Mission" AND joffe AND filmfrom Jstor database (search within results with your own keywords)
- "God on Trial" AND de Emmonyfrom ProQuest Central
Citation Style
Databases for articles
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowThis religious studies database from EBSCO includes 380 full-text scholarly journals and 2,500 indexed journals. Also includes the CATHOLIC PERIODICAL & LITERATURE INDEX, which includes essay collections, church documents, papal documents, and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
- Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new windowThis unambitiously-named religion and philosophy database contains over 150 full-text scholarly journals.
- Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThis creatively-named religious studies database from ProQuest contains nearly 300 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 50 full-text magazines.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database contains over 2,800 full-text scholarly journals, 30,000 full-text eBooks, and 40,000 full-text research reports from various organizations and policy institutes. Beoved by many old-school professors in the humanities and social sciences.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database searches all of the EBSCO company's databases in one unified search (we have 28 EBSCO databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
In Ebscohost, go to CHOOSE DATABASES and checkmark the Communications and Mass Media choice for more focused results.
While in the database of your choice, use the Advanced Search feature: make one box drop down to ALL TEXT for the: movie title in quotemarks,
then the second box just have: (movie OR film)
In the third box you can try ALL text for the word: Bible too, FYI or any other keyword you like
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Books
Interlibrary Loan the book chapter:
T&T Clark Handbook of Jesus and Film
Chapter 25. “It's Alive!”: Frankenstein and His Horrible Fellows as Messianic Figures - Robert Paul Seesengood, Albright College, USA
| ISBN | 9780567686916 |
|---|
| Publisher | Bloomsbury Publishing |
|---|
in your SAU ILL portal
: https://sau.cliohosting.com/Account/Login?ReturnUrl=%2f
A list of books you can browse in our SAU collection and check the indexes (may or may not have these film titles - take a chance)
The Bible in Film by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1281399507Publication Date: 2010includes "passion of the Christ"
The Bible in Motion, Part 1 : a handbook of the Bible and its reception in film by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1501500163Publication Date: 2016includes Blade Runner (dir. Ridley Scott, 1982, The Ladd Company, US). PAGES 240, 244, 250, 317, 318,
325, 870
