Need something we don't have?
Have you found the perfect article but don't know if we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.
1. We may have access to the journal in another database. In Library Central, you'll find the Journals A-Z List. From here, you can check a search by journal name and retrieve a comprehensive list of databases in which our journals appear.
2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public--you might find an openly available copy of your article.
3. Using Interlibrary Loan, the library can ask other libraries that subscribe to the journal to send an electronic copy of the article you want. Set up a free user account with your SAU network login to request articles and books. Interlibrary Loan is a service offered to SAU students, faculty & staff only.
- Using Google Scholar Effectively as an SAU studentLink your gmail profile to Google Scholar to see an Access@SAU link to our databases!
Library Article Databases
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowThis medical database provides evidence-based clinical decision support via extensive drug information, best practice guidelines across a number of allied health fields, and patient education documents written in plain language.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThis nursing database from EBSCO contains nearly 1,600 full-text scholarly journals. Also includes a number of evidence-based care sheets. Widely considered the premier nursing database in the industry.
- Health & Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis health and medicine database from ProQuest contains over 5,000 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 400 full-text magazines covering the medical, nursing, and psychology fields.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis nursing database from EBSCO includes over 140 full-text scholarly journals pertaining to pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, and nursing management.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowThis biomedicine and health database from EBSCO contains over 1,000 full-text scholarly journals.
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis medical database from McGraw Hill contains nearly 250 full-text textbooks, 1,500 medical cases, and almost 3,000 drug information sheets. Also contains a variety of multimedia and patient education sheets.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThis health and medicine database includes almost 9,000 full-text systematic reviews, 3,000 full-text clinical answers, and information about nearly 200,000 medical trials that have been completed or are in-progress. Many systematic reviews are also indexed with PICO(T) questions.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowThis biomedical and life sciences database contains nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly journals pertaining to a variety of health and biology fields.
Search using MeSH Terms Tutorials
American Medical Association (AMA) Citation Style
AMA Manual of StyleCall Number: HEALTH R119 .A533 2007ISBN: 9780195176339The hard copy version of the AMA style guide - available at the Health Sciences Resource Room.
- AMA Style InsiderThe official blog of the AMA Style keepers. Fairly informal, but often covers particular use cases in ways that can be helpful.