Take Note
The SAU Librarians are here to help you. You can make an appointment in advance, or just stop by the reference desk or call us at 563-333-6245.
The reference desk email is: librefdesk@sau.edu
Reference Hours when classes are in session
Monday-Thursday, 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday, 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday, No reference services; building open 1-5pm
Sunday, 1pm - 9:00 p.m.
Reference Desk 563/333-6245
Email at : librefdesk@sau.edu
General Book and Article Search: Library Central
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowLibrary Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
Full-text E-books (SAU only)
ProQuest Central suite of databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
- Health & Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis health and medicine database from ProQuest contains over 5,000 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 400 full-text magazines covering the medical, nursing, and psychology fields.
- Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis philosophy database from EBSCO contains nearly 200 full-text journals and miscellany of other publications pertaining to world philosophy.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from ProQuest includes over 150 high-prestige, full-text scholarly journals. Widely considered the premier psychology database.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis psychology database from EBSCO indexes over 1,400 scholarly journals and contains over 8,000,000 bibliographic citations. A portion of the content is available in full-text.
Selected Web sites
- American Fact FinderUS Census data, including income and much more, including custom data set creation.
- Annual Reports"Provides links to the annual reports of publicly-held companies, including new product announcements, financial information, plans for the future."
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsMore Sources of Data
Some BLS data are available only through the homepages of individual programs, rather than from the BLS Databases and Tables page.
If you can't find what you are looking for from the BLS Databases and Tables page here, visit the homepage of the related program. The programs are listed on the Subject Areas page on our website. - Iowa State Data Center"The State Data Center of Iowa is your source for population, housing, business and government statistics about Iowa, including data from the U.S. Census Bureau, Iowa state agencies, and other state and federal sources. "
- SBA: U.S. Small Business AssociationInformation on planning a new business, launching a business, managing the business, and growing the business.
- SCORE.orgA resource partner of the SBA, SCORE provides lots of information for new business owners, as well as the opportunity to download a template to take you step-by-step through the process of writing a new business plan.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark OfficeSearch for existing trademarks on business and product names, or patents for new products in this government database
Legal and financial research database
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database includes over 17,000 full-text news sources. Also includes a wealth of company/financial information and a variety of legal cases. Can be tricky to search, but useful under the right circumstances.
Business Research
Selected titles from our SAU library
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Market Research by Call Number: HF5415.2 .W454 2012ISBN: 9780313396052Publication Date: 2012-01-16
How to Create a Successful Business Plan by Call Number: HD30.28 .G347 2016ISBN: 9789814651288Publication Date: 2015-10-31
Industry Research Using The Economic Census by Call Number: REF HC101 .B594ISBN: 157356351XExplains Census concepts, methods, terminology, and data sources in an understandable manner, and assists Census users in locating needed Census data.
NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)Call Number: REF HF1042 .N67 2017ISBN: 9781598885491Publication Date: 2017Provides the classification numbers for various industries in North America.
Proquest Statistical Abstract by Call Number: REF HA202 .U6ISBN: 9781598887938Publication Date: 2017Provides statistics on a variety of topics, including census information, retail sales, industry information.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys by Call Number: REF HC106.6 .S74Publication Date: 2017Provides emerging trends, statistical information, top companies within an industry.
SAU Reference Librarian
Need something we don't have?
Have you found the perfect article but don't know if we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.
1. We may have access to the journal in another database. In Library Central, you'll find the Journals A-Z List. From here, you can check a search by journal name and retrieve a comprehensive list of databases in which our journals appear.
2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public--you might find an openly available copy of your article.
3. Using Interlibrary Loan, the library can ask other libraries that subscribe to the journal to send an electronic copy of the article you want. Set up a free user account with your SAU network login to request articles and books. Interlibrary Loan is a service offered to SAU students, faculty & staff only.
- Using Google Scholar Effectively as an SAU studentLink your gmail profile to Google Scholar to see an Access@SAU link to our databases!
