LibGuides: Hot Topics: 19th Amendment: 100th Anniversary: Home

Books in our collection

How Long Must We Wait? by Tina Cassidy
Call Number: Library Second Floor JK1899.P38 C37 2019
"An eye-opening, inspiring, and timely account of the complex relationship between leading suffragist Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson in the fight for women's equality.Cassidy weaves together the trajectories of Alice Paul and Woodrow Wilson, two apparent opposites. From solitary confinement, hunger strikes, and mental institutions to ever more determined activism, the journey to the vote was spearheaded in no small part by Alice Paul's leadership. -- adapted from jacket "
African American Women in the Struggle for the Vote, 1850-1920 by Rosalyn Terborg-Penn
Call Number: Library Second Floor JK1896 .T47 1998
"Revisiting the question of race in the woman suffrage movement -- African American women in the first generation of woman suffragists : 1850-1869 -- African American woman suffragists finding their own voices : 1870s and 1880s -- Suffrage strategies and ideas : African American women leaders respond during "the nadir" -- Mobilizing to win the vote : African American women's organizations -- Anti-black woman suffrage tactics and African American women's responses -- African American women as voters and candidates -- The nineteenth amendment and its meaning for African American women. "
The Woman Suffrage Movement in America by Corrine M. McConnaughy
Call Number: e-book (click on title)
Publication Date: 2013
"This book departs from familiar accounts of high-profile woman suffrage activists whose main concern was a federal constitutional amendment. It tells the story of woman suffrage as one involving the diverse politics of women across the country as well as the incentives of the men with the primary political authority to grant new voting rights - those in state legislatures. Through a mix of qualitative and quantitative evidence, the book explains the success and failures of efforts for woman suffrage provisions in five states and in the US Congress as the result of successful and failed coalitional politics between the suffrage movement and important constituencies of existing male voters, including farmers'organizations, labor unions, and the Populist and Progressive parties."
Women's Suffrage in America: an eyewitness history by Elizabeth Frost; Kathryn Cullen-DuPont
Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF JK1898 .F76 1992
Can be scanned from in Library. "Chronicles the struggle of American women for the right to vote, from 1800 to their victory in 1920. Includes quotations from contemporary witnesses through memoirs, letters, and other documents of the period."
The Home, Heaven, and Mother Party: female anti-suffragists in the United States, 1868-1920 by Thomas J. Jablonsky
Call Number: Library Second Floor JK1896 .J33 1994
the opposing view. "Focuses on the organizational history and the rise and fall of the anti-women's suffrage movement. The book is based on research in the organizational records of the anti-suffragists on a state and national level, the records of Congressional hearings, biographical works, and the manuscripts of leaders. Offers a sympathetic but critical evaluation of the anti-suffragists and disproves the suffragist's argument that they were merely pawns of male interest groups. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc."

Library Central

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!

Enter any/each of these into the SAU "Library Central" Advanced Search as a SUBJECT to find books on the shelves for you to peruse.

More general subject headings:

Call number range for books at the SAU Library

JK1896 to JK1911 Also KF478 on the 2nd Floor in the SAU Library

19th Amendment

The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.

Congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation.

Video

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This streaming video database contains over 38,000 streaming video titles and almost 300,000 video clips. The titles are educational in nature, but address a variety of subjects and topics.

If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.

Good web sites

The 2020 Centennial Learning Center
Includes primary sources.
Five You Should Know: African American Suffragists
From the National Museum of African American History and Culture.
National Suffrage Timelines
States and Territories Fully Enfranchising Women Prior to 19th Amendment
A Map.
Suffering for Suffrage
Soundcloud audio essay. " In 1913, Alice Paul organized a peaceful parade that marched women down Pennsylvania Avenue straight to the White House. But it didn’t stay peaceful for long. Brian and Peter speak with Jill Zahniser about the women’s suffrage movement."
Suffrage: Women Fight for the Vote
Many of the personal papers of Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Mary Church Terrell, Carrie Chapman Catt, and Anna E. Dickinson are included here, and have never been fully transcribed. Explore the daily lives of these determined leaders and their stories of hope, perseverance, sacrifice, courage, creativity, and conviction, as well as how everyday Americans participated in and reacted to the suffrage movement.
Transcript of 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Women's Right to Vote (1920)
Includes image of the original document and signatures.
Votes for Women: a Century of Suffrage
From "The Atlantic" magazine: A collection of long-form articles. Excellent.

Databases for Journal Articles: SAU users only

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This North American history database from EBSCO contains over 1,600 scholarly journals, many of which are available in full-text.
Research Library: History This link opens in a new window
This history database from ProQuest contains over 1,300 full-text scholarly journals and over 250 full-text magazines.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database from EBSCO contains over 1,900 scholarly full-text journals and over 2,100 full-text newspapers and magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database contains over 2,800 full-text scholarly journals, 30,000 full-text eBooks, and 40,000 full-text research reports from various organizations and policy institutes. Beoved by many old-school professors in the humanities and social sciences.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Stella Herzig

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Library 124

563-333-6056

Subjects: English & Literature, Hot Topics, Philosophy, Psychology, Theology & Catholic Studies

Need something we don't have?

Have you found the perfect article but don't know if we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.

1. We may have access to the journal in another database. In Library Central, you'll find the Journals A-Z List. From here, you can check a search by journal name and retrieve a comprehensive list of databases in which our journals appear.

2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public--you might find an openly available copy of your article.

3. Using Interlibrary Loan, the library can ask other libraries that subscribe to the journal to send an electronic copy of the article you want. Set up a free user account with your SAU network login to request articles and books. Interlibrary Loan is a service offered to SAU students, faculty & staff only.

Using Google Scholar Effectively as an SAU student
Link your gmail profile to Google Scholar to see an Access@SAU link to our databases!