LibGuides: Evidence Based Practice: Filtered Resources

What are filtered resources?

Filtered resources have undergone critical review, and often contain recommendations for practice. Such sources include

Systematic Reviews

Focused on a specific clinical questions, systematic reviews are a comprehensive overview of the existing literature, with the less reputable results eliminated. Then, specific guideline and recommendations for practice are based off of the remaining well done studies.

Critically-Appraised Topics

A summary of research evidence and practice recommendations based around a clinical question, a CAT is like a less rigorous and comprehensive version of a systematic review.

Critically-Appraised Individual Articles

Individual articles that have been evaluated and synopsized for practice recommendations.

Systematic Reviews

Pubmed Clinical Queries
Look to the central column for citations for systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines.
Cochrane Library of Evidence-Based Medicine Databases
TEMPORARY ACCESS INTERRUPTION (effective 1/31) WORKING TO RESTORE ACCESS WITH WILEY INTERSCIENCE TECH SUPPORT.
more...less...
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Full text and abstracts of methodology reviews, trials register, protocols, assessments, and evaluations of health care interventions.

Help navigating this database is available at http://www.cochranelibrary.com/help/how-to-use-cochrane-library.html.
The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effect (DARE)
The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) provides access to over 35,000 quality assessed systematic reviews of health and social care interventions and summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews and protocols up to March 2015.
Evidence Based Reports
Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality to "...provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies."

Critically-Appraised Topics & Articles

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Created through a partnership between the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the American Medical Association, this site is an accessible means of obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.

Detailed help on navigating this website is available here.
Evidence Alerts
Quality articles from over 110 clinical journals are selected by research staff, and then rated for clinical relevance and interest by an international group of physicians. Includes a searchable database of the best evidence from the medical literature and an email alerting system. From BMJ Publishing Group and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit.