It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hot Topics: Paying College Athletes: Social Aspects
Resources for exploring the role of amateur athletics, wages and college sports.
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks (GV351 .B46 2020
Publication Date: 2020
This book "examines the corrupting influence and damaging financial effects of big-time intercollegiate athletics, especially football and to a lesser extent basketball, on American higher education. Students, scholars, sports fans, and those interested in learning how big-time football and basketball have cast such an enormous-and often baleful-shadow upon American colleges and universities will profit from this provocative and engagingly written book""
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks GV351 .N59 2014
Publication Date: 2014
"Description: Commercialization, college sports, and the athletic trap -- The intercollegiate golden triangle -- The business of college sports -- The arms race, inequalities, and the pressures of the college sports business -- Deviance, corruption, and scandals in college sports -- Control and reform in big-time college sports -- Reforming college sports."
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks GV346 .J69 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Description: Introduction -- Schools sports programs -- Student athlete population -- Student athletes academic performances -- Athletics environment -- Academics/sports controversies -- Reforms : Academics/sports -- Summary.
"Applying concepts, data, and other information from various sources in the literature when and where appropriate, the book reveals and examines the behavior, contribution, and impact of student athletes (SAs) on campuses of American colleges and universities. It highlights, in part, SAs' progress academically while they devoted time and resources to participate in one or more of their schools' individual and/or team sports in Division I, II, and/or III of the National Collegiate Athletic Association, or in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics and/or National Junior College Athletic Association."--back cover.
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks GV709.18.U6 E45 2017
Publication Date: 2017
"Description: The female youth sports to college pipeline -- Higher education and the youth sports to college pipeline -- The commercialized youth sports to college pipeline -- Creating demand for the youth sports to college pipeline -- Female sports on male terms -- Saving girls' youth sports by changing higher education -- Appendix: The challenges of ethnography.
"This book looks closely at college sports and how they shape the athletic and personal landscape for girls and young women. Filled with interview excerpts from women athletes of all ages, the book chronicles how college and youth sports have become more corporate, to the detriment of participants"
Call Number: GV706.3 .E86 2007 SAU Library Second Floor
Publication Date: 2007
Includes bibliographical references and index.--"The latest edition of Ethics in Sport doesn't rest on its laurels as the finest and most comprehensive collection of literature to date on moral and ethical issues confronting sport in contemporary society. The diverse anthology of essays written by world-renowned scholars has been updated to reflect the very latest issues of significance in the sporting world."
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks GV351 .S23 1998
Publication Date: 1998
"Sack and Staurowsky show that the NCAA formally abandoned amateurism in the 1950s and passed rules in subsequent years that literally transformed scholarship athletes into university employees. In addition, by purposefully fashioning an amateur mythology to mask the reality of this employer-employee relationship, the NCAA has done a disservice to student-athletes and to higher education."
Call Number: Interlibrary Loan from our partner libraries (SAU users only)
Publication Date: 2020
"In this thought-provoking new book, John C. Barnes examines the current state of commercial college athletics as a guide for potential administrators, coaches, regents, and others involved in collegiate athletic operations and decision-making. Each chapter provides an overview of an industry shaped by such current realities as Title IX requirements, commercial investments, student testing, and television contracts. Barnes provides an accessible outline of the historical background and potential future of the commercial college athletics industry from a non-judgmental perspective. Same Players, Different Game not only serves as a text and guide for governance and leadership but also as a primer for the economic and political realities of modern college athletics that students and sports fans will find fascinating"
"Every article you read here is written by university scholars and researchers with deep expertise in their subjects, sharing their knowledge in their own words. We don’t oversimplify complicated issues, but we do explain and clarify. We believe bringing the voices of experts into the public discourse is good for democracy."
"In the Association’s continuing efforts to support college athletes, the NCAA’s top governing board voted unanimously to permit students participating in athletics the opportunity to benefit from the use of their name, image and likeness in a manner consistent with the collegiate model."
Allen R. Sanderson is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Economics , University of
Chicago , Chicago , IL. John J. Siegfried is a Visiting Research Fellow, School of Economics,
University of Adelaide, Adelaide, Australia ; Secretary-Treasurer Emeritus, American Economic
Association, Nashville, TN ; and Professor Emeritus, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN
From the conclusion: "There is no excuse for college athletes to be restricted from earning money from their NIL, or for the athletes to be denied compensation for their hard work. This change is long overdue, and this two-prong approach offers the ideal solution because it will end the exploitation of college athletes, it will combat poverty within the NCAA, and it will enable student athletes at all levels who struggle financially to be rewarded for their hard work and dedication."
SAU users may get full text by contacting their SAU Librarian. A handful of programs would pay top dollar for a select few athletes, while other schools would get caught up in a bidding war they couldn’t afford.
By Cody J. McDavis: The author "is a law student and former Division I college basketball player."
"The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists."
"With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, this esteemed collection provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field and is an indispensable resource for researchers, practitioners, students, and educators."
With nearly 4 million records and upwards of 4,000 indexed records added each week, this ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts offers a broad view of the field.
"College sports is a big-money business, with football and basketball programs generating millions of dollars in revenue every year. Is it time to rewrite the rules in college sports and allow athletes a fair share of the profits? Should colleges pay athletes?"