It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hot Topics: Euthanasia - Assisted Suicide: Social Aspects
A selection of sources concerning legislation and different perspectives around the topic of assisted suicide and euthanasia.
Call Number: Library Third Floor Stacks R726 .D446 2015
Publication Date: 2015
"Death on Demand explores the polarizing role of Jack Kevorkian - "Dr. Death" - as the most visible leader of the right-to-die movement. From a feature on the cover of Time magazine to interviews on shows like 60 Minutes, Kevorkian was a high-profile figure in the right-to-die movement, capturing constant media attention as he helped more than one hundred people kill themselves. / The book opens with the death of Janet Adkins in 1990 - Kevorkian's first assisted suicide - then travels back to Kevorkian's medical school days and follows his nearly four decades as a lone activist. Death on Demand draws on Kevorkian's interviews and published work as well as newspaper and magazine articles to describe the doctor's publicity stunts, criminal trials, years in prison, and activities after he was paroled. Author Michael DeCesare examines Kevorkian's actions in the context of the right-to-die movement to understand his crucial role in bringing the controversial practice of assisted suicide into the public conversation."
Call Number: R726 .L49 2011 SAU Library Third Floor
Publication Date: 2010
Includes bibliographical references and index.--At the present time there are seven jurisdictions in the world that, with various restrictions, have legalized the practice of assisted death -- physician-assisted suicide and/or voluntary euthanasia - to wit, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Switzerland in Europe and the states of Oregon, Washington and Montana in the United States. Four of these regimes - in the Netherlands, Belgium, Switzerland and the state of Oregon -- have been functioning for many years, and we have for them a substantial body of data as well as much observational research. This book is based upon this material. The literature dealing with the moral, legal and social aspects of assisted death is voluminous, but there is a paucity of writing that provides a detailed account of the way these four regimes are actually working. Many partisans, on both sides of the issue, cite existing data selectively or, at times, willfully distort the empirical evidence in order to strengthen their case. Based on the documentary record and interviews with officials and scholars, this book seeks to give the specialist as well as the general interested reader a reliable picture of the way assisted death functions and to draw relevant lessons
Call Number: REF QH332 .E52 2004 v.1-5 First Floor In Library Only - we have a scanner
Publication Date: 2004
Includes bibliographical references and index.--Look on page 1410 in vol. 3 under "Life-sustaining treatment and Euthanasia" for the main entry, and in the index under 'assisted suicide' there are many different page numbers throughout the five volumes to explore.
Call Number: REF HQ1073 .E544 2009 V. 1-2 SAU Library First Floor In House Use only - we have a scanner.
Publication Date: 2009
Includes bibliographical references and index.--This two-volume resource addresses the traditional death and dying--related topics but also presents a unique focus on the human experience to create a new dimension to the study of death and dying. With more than 300 entries, the Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning. The Encyclopedia is enriched through important multidisciplinary contributions and perspectives as it arranges, organizes, defines, and clarifies a comprehensive list of death-related perspectives, concepts, and theories.
Description: The ethics of the deathbed : euthanasia from art to technique -- The holy craft of dying : the birth of the modern art of dying -- Medical euthanasia : from aiding the dying to hastening death -- Legalizing euthanasia : the role of law and the rule of technique -- Euthanasia as public policy : the Euthanasia Society of America -- Lethal dosing : technique beyond the law -- Mercy killing : the limits of technique -- Art and technique, death and freedom -- Mercy killing : case history.
Call Number: SAU Library Third Floor R726 .L37 1985
Publication Date: 1991
"New York Times" bestseller--This is a classic, practical guide for the terminally ill to dying with dignity through assisted suicide. This considerate book is for mature adults who are considering the option of ending their lives because of unbearable pain or terminal illness.
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BL1214.72 .L55 2013
Publication Date: 2014
This volume gives an Eastern perspective from the tradition of Hinduism. Description: Final exam / Cultural and philosophical perspectives. Understanding death / Remembering death / Death and dying in the Vedic tradition / Thinking of Krishna at the time of death / Caring for the terminally ill. Mother Arcā-vigraha : an inspiration. Arcā-vigraha's saintly vision / Value of care / Perspective of caregivers. Vaishnava care : how and why : a discussion between Giriraj Swami and the Vaishnava care team in Houston -- All obstacles removed : caring for Mother Kaumudakī / Promise fulfilled : caring for Nirguṇa dāsa / His darkness ended with light : his art ended with god / Returning home : caring for my mother / My father and mother : realizing their good fortune / Perspectives of relatives. Caring for my mother / Care, support, and love / Auspicious departure : a community project / Hospice care. Preparing for life's ultimate test : with help / Bhaktivedanta hospice : a dream fulfilled. Devotee care / Great service / unlimited service, unlimited mercy / Celebrating a year of service : Bhaktivedanta hospice fifteen months later / Facing death. Die before dying / Facing death alone - with Krishna / Die to live / After death. Grieving, healing, and rejoicing / Preparing for life's final exam /
from 'The Conversation' :"a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists."
"At a time of national debate over health care costs and insurance, a Pew Research Center survey on end-of-life decisions finds most Americans say there are some circumstances in which doctors and nurses should allow a patient to die. At the same time, however, a growing minority says that medical professionals should do everything possible to save a patient’s life in all circumstances."
"With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, this esteemed collection provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field and is an indispensable resource for researchers, practitioners, students, and educators."
With nearly 4 million records and upwards of 4,000 indexed records added each week, this ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts offers a broad view of the field.