Hot Topics: Euthanasia - Assisted Suicide: Law and Legislation

"...provides a complete examination of right-to-die issues in the United States that dissects the complex arguments for and against a person's liberty to receive a physician's assistance to hasten death. It covers the legal aspects and the politics of the right-to-die controversy, analyzes the battles over the right to die in state and federal courts, and supplies primary source documents that illustrate the political, medical, legal, religious, and ethical landscape of the right to die. Additionally, the book examines how members of our society typically die has changed in the past 150 years and how the practice of medicine has evolved over that time; explains why the right to die is strongly opposed by many religious groups as well as members of the medical profession; considers the "slippery slope" argument against doctor-assisted suicide; and identifies the reasons that the disabled, the poor, the elderly and infirm, and some members of ethnic, racial, and religious minority groups typically fear physician-assisted death."--Publisher's website.

Description: "Sane" and "Insane" Suicide: The Law of Competence -- The Right to Die, Involuntary Commitment, and the Constitution -- Assisted Suicide in the States -- International Perspectives in Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia -- Assisted Suicide and the Medical Profession -- Mental Health Professionals and Suicide -- Types of Suicide -- Discrimination on the Basis of Suicidality -- Prevention and Treatment: Policy and Legal Barriers -- Conclusion: People with Psychiatric Diagnoses and Assisted Suicide -- Appendix A: Model Statutes -- Appendix B: Survey of People Who Have Attempted Suicide -- 1. Survey: Experiences with Suicide -- 2. Final Results of Survey -- Table of Cases.

Includes bibliographical references and index.--Over the past hundred years, average life expectancy in America has nearly doubled, due largely to scientific and medical advances, but also as a consequence of safer working conditions, a heightened awareness of the importance of diet and health, and other factors. Yet while longevity is celebrated as an achievement in modern civilization, the longer people live, the more likely they are to succumb to chronic, terminal illnesses. In 1900, the average life expectancy was 47 years, with a majority of American deaths attributed to influenza, tuberculosis, pneumonia, or other diseases. In 2000, the average life expectancy was nearly 80 years, and for too many people, these long life-spans included cancer, heart failure, Lou Gehrig's disease, AIDS, or other fatal illnesses, and with them, came debilitating pain and the loss of a once-full and often independent lifestyle. In this compelling and provocative book, noted legal scholar Howard Ball poses the pressing question: is it appropriate, legally and ethically, for a competent individual to have the liberty to decide how and when to die when faced with a terminal illness? At Liberty to Die charts how, the right of a competent, terminally ill person to die on his or her own terms with the help of a doctor has come deeply embroiled in debates about the relationship between religion, civil liberties, politics, and law in American life. Exploring both the legal rulings and the media frenzies that accompanied the Terry Sciavo case and others like it, Howard Ball contends that despite raging battles in all the states where right to die legislation has been proposed, the opposition to the right to die is intractable in its stance. Combining constitutional analysis, legal history, and current events, Ball surveys the constitutional arguments that have driven the right to die debate.

Includes bibliographical references (pages 209-244) and index. "Providing a thorough, well-researched investigation of the socio-legal issues surrounding medically assisted death for the past century, this book traces the origins of the controversy and discusses the future of policymaking in this arena domestically and abroad."

Chapter 20 on pages 480-505 covers Suicide and the Law and has a bibliography.