Home - Biology 200 - Rhizobia - LibGuides at St. Ambrose University

Search Tips

Keyword Suggestions

Brainstorm 2-3 synonyms or similar terms for each component of your research question; try out scientific and common names.
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase. Ex: “white clover”
Look for alternate/better keywords in titles and abstracts as you search, and try different combinations of keywords.

Database Search Tips:

Use Advanced Search forms to structure your search.
Search at least two different databases.
Use Boolean operators to narrow or expand your search. (Learn more about Boolean operators)
- “White clover” AND rhizobia
- Rhizobia OR rhizobium OR rhizobial
Look at the bibliographies of useful articles–you can often quickly find more relevant articles.

Find Background Information

Plant Fact Sheets:

PLANTS Database
This database was created by the USDA and is a great source for basic fact sheets of many plant varieties.
Hint: Use scientific names here. Ex: For crimson clover, search "Trifolium incarnatum".
Midwest Cover Crops Council
This website provides wide variety of resources covering commercial crop growth, including background sources for several types of clover.

Scholarly Background Information:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
With over 400 full text reference books available and fully searchable, this is an excellent resource for background information and possible lab ideas.
Hint: This is a great resource for background info on Rhizobia/Rhizobium and nitrogen fixation.

ScienceDirect Topics
A subsection of the ScienceDirect database, ScienceDirect Topics collects high-quality reference texts in the natural and physical sciences.
Hint: This is a good resource for background information about rhizobia and nitrogen fixation.

Databases

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journals in the fields of economics, history, political science, sociology, Latin American and Middle Eastern studies, etc.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This science database contains over 3,700 full-text scholarly journals covering the range of hard science disciplines (biology, chemistry, physics, etc.).

Need Something We Don't Have?

Even if we don't have immediate access to an article, we can get it for you! Fill out an Interlibrary Loan request to get articles and books from other libraries.

APA Citation

Reference examples - APA 7th

APA Style Blog
More than 100 reference examples and their corresponding in-text citations are presented in the Publication Manual. Examples of the most common kinds of works that writers cite are provided on this page for your ease of use. Note that print and electronic works have the same foundation; look for the type of work (e.g., journal article, webpage) to determine the format to follow.
Recommended Citation Generator: BibGuru

Biology 200 - Rhizobia: Home

Search Tips

Find Background Information

Databases

Need Something We Don't Have?

APA Citation

Library Workshop Handout