Recommended Books in the SAU library collection
Use your Bee card to check out books from your SAU Library.
Use the index in the back of the book to find useful pages; scan content chapters.
Due date is end-of-semester.
Sustainable Engineering for Life Tomorrow by Call Number: Third Floor Stacks TA163 .S875 2021ISBN: 9781793625014Publication Date: 2021examines the future of sustainable engineering and architecture. The contributors' analyses of sustainable solutions, such as wind and solar power, offer valuable insights fur future policy-making, scholarship, and the management of energy-intensive facilities"
A Brief History of Equality by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks HM821 .P547 2022ISBN: 9780674273559Publication Date: 2022Check new book area too " Piketty shows, human societies have moved fitfully toward a more just distribution of income and assets, a reduction of racial and gender inequalities, and greater access to health care, education, and the rights of citizenship."
Advertising and Reality : a global study of representation and content by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks HF 5823 .A16837 2012ISBN: 9781441191946Publication Date: 2012"Leading scholars from different countries, who specialise in marketing communication and media studies, review and analyse different forms of advertising and give a truly cross-cultural view of the issues at hand. "
Greening Through IT by Call Number: Library Third Floor Stacks TD145 .T48 2010ISBN: 9780262013932Publication Date: 2010"Environmental issues often span long periods of time, far-flung areas, and labyrinthine layers of complexity. In Greening through IT, Bill Tomlinson investigates how the tools and techniques of information technology (IT) can help us tackle environmental problems at such vast scales. Tomlinson describes theoretical, technological, and social aspects of a growing interdisciplinary approach to sustain ability, "Green IT," offering both a human-centered framework for understanding Green IT systems and specific examples and case studies of Green IT in action." "
Ethical Branding and Marketing by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks HF5415 .E7959 2019ISBN: 9781138337275Publication Date: 2019"It includes such topics as truth, integrity, value, vulnerability, and differentiation. Collectively, these cases provide a contemporary overview of intriguing scenarios and best practices in ethical branding. The book provides the reader with real, updated insight into ethical decision making; helps students integrate ethics, branding strategy, and real life, complex situations into an effective learning process; and provides the reader with up-to-date ethical branding cases from around the world"
Give People Money: how a universal basic income would end poverty, revolutionize work, and remake the world by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks HC79.I5 L69 2018ISBN: 9781524758769Publication Date: 2018"she shows how this arcane policy has the potential to solve some of our most intractable economic problems, while offering a new vision of citizenship and a firmer foundation for our society in this age of turbulence and marvels."
The Cost of Being a Girl: working teens and the origins of the gender wage gap by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks HD6061.2.U6 B47 2018ISBN: 9781439913499Publication Date: 2017"Besen-Cassino emphasizes that early inequalities in the workplace ultimately translate into greater inequalities in the overall labor force."
The Fix : overcome the invisible barriers that are holding women back at work by Call Number: Second Floor Stacks HD6054 .K56 2020ISBN: 9781982110925Publication Date: 2020"passionate, practical roadmap for addressing inequality and finally making our workplaces work for women"
The Clean Tech Revolution by Call Number: Library Third Floor Stacks TD145 .P46 2007 BROWSE THIS SHELF TOOISBN: 9780060896232Publication Date: 2007Developing clean technologies is no longer a social issue championed by environmentalists; it's a moneymaking enterprise moving solidly into the business mainstream. In fact, as the economy faces unprecedented challenges from high energy prices, resource shortages, and global environmental and security threats, clean tech technologies designed to provide superior performance at a lower cost while creating significantly less waste than conventional offerings promises to be the next engine of economic growth. Here, authors Pernick and Wilder identify the major forces that have pushed clean tech from utopian dream to a revolution in corporate boardrooms, on Wall Street trading floors, and in government offices around the globe. By highlighting eight major clean tech sectors; solar energy, wind power, biofuels and biomaterials, green buildings, personal transportation, the smart grid, mobile applications, and water filtration, they uncover how investors, entrepreneurs, and individuals can profit from this next wave of technological innovation.--From publisher description.
The Business of Changing the World by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks HV25 .K86 2019ISBN: 9780807059579Publication Date: 2019"Drawing on 2 decades covering global development as editor in chief of Devex, Raj Kumar explores how nontraditional models of philanthropy and aid are empowering the world's poorest people to make progress. Old aid was driven by good intentions and relied on big-budget projects from a few government aid agencies, like the World Bank and USAID. Today, corporations, Silicon Valley start-ups, and billionaire philanthropists are a disrupting force pushing global aid to be data driven and results oriented. This $200 billion industry includes emerging and established foundations like the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative and the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. Entrepreneurial startups like Hello Tractor, which offers an Uber-like app for farmers in Nigeria, and Give Directly, whose app allows individuals to send money straight to the phone of someone in need, are also giving rise to this new culture of charity. The result is a more sustainable philosophy of aid that elevates the voices of the world's poor as neighbors, partners, and customers."
Responsible Manufacturing by Call Number: Third Floor Stacks TS155.7 .R47 2019ISBN: 9780815375074Publication Date: 2019Responsible textile design and manufacturing : environmentally conscious material selection
Catholic Economics by Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BR115.E3 S4735 2015ISBN: 9780814648681Publication Date: 2015Description: The excesses of individualism -- Libertarians misunderstand liberty -- Abuses of financial capitalism -- Competition and consumption -- The libertarian disrespect for labor -- Labor unions, full employment and industrial democracy sustainability and environment -- The Catholic concept of property -- Freedom of contract -- Justice, charity and distribution -- Free trade and fair trade -- The role of politics -- Stability and change -- Ways forward.
Sustainability, Human Well-Being, and the Future of Education by Call Number: online full-textISBN: 331978580XPublication Date: 2019"This open access book explores the key dimensions of a future education system designed to enable individuals, schools, and communities to achieve the twin twenty-first century challenges of sustainability and human well-being. "
- Poverty : a persistent global reality John Dixon; David MacarovThis book addresses the long-standing global issue of poverty. An introductory chapter explores concepts and definitions of poverty, the subsequent chapters providing detailed examinations of poverty in ten different countries: UK, USA, Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Ireland, Malta, The Netherlands, The Philippines and Zimbabwe. Each chapter follows a consistent format, to facilitate comparison and focuses on the following issues:- * the socio-economic and historical context within which poverty exists * the extent and nature of poverty its causes *
- Global Environmental Health Research Gaps and Barriers for Providing Sustainable Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene Services: Workshop Summary Institute of Medicine (US) Roundtable on Environmental Health Sciences, Research, and Medicine."This two-day workshop held on October 17–18, 2007, in Washington, DC, follows up on previous workshops in 2003 and discusses how to provide people with access to drinking water in the context of sanitation and hygiene. The legislation of the 1970s started to show the value of water by providing protection. This workshop brings together people from various sectors of water services and from various countries to consider how to do this in a sustainable way."
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society by Call Number: Library Second Floor HF5387 .E53 2008ISBN: 9781412916523Publication Date: 2008
Ethics - Questions and Morality of Human Actions by Call Number: BJ63 .E54 2019 Second floor stacks (we have a scanner on the main level to email yourself a pdf of any entry)ISBN: 1642653330Publication Date: 2019Volume 3: Ethics & professional practices -- Bioethics: health, medicine & morality
BEST BET databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database contains over 2,800 full-text scholarly journals, 30,000 full-text eBooks, and 40,000 full-text research reports from various organizations and policy institutes. Beoved by many old-school professors in the humanities and social sciences.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database searches all of the ProQuest company's databases in one unified search (we have 22 ProQuest databases at the library). Will contain a variety of scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, and books.
- Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis philosophy database from EBSCO contains nearly 200 full-text journals and miscellany of other publications pertaining to world philosophy.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowThis business database from EBSCO includes over 1,350 full-text, scholarly business journals. Also includes a large number of company profiles, many of which are for private companies.
Need statistics?
Try these sites for good authoritative sources:
Pew Research Center
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Resources on Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and Freight Sustainability Planning
The Conversation Insight Series:
Curated by professional editors, The Conversation Insight series offers Long-Form journalism, informed commentary and debate on many issues affecting our world including breakthrough technologies..
Other Long-Form journalism sources (magazines):
MasterFile
Some Searches
Research;
Consumers;
Credibility;
Attitudes;
Attitudes and advertising
Advertising campaigns;
Classical conditioning
Sustainability Practices in GreenFile
Sustainability AND practice in ProQuest
College sports in ProQuest
College Sports in Ebscohost
SAU Hot Topic Libguide: Paying College Athletes
subject("Military sales") AND "arms trade"
(use Jstor too - try "Arms sales")
Outsourcing Ebscohost "offshore outsourcing"
subject(Offshoring) AND ethic* ProQuest
offshoring OR outsourcing AND ethic* in Jstor
Atla Religion and Ethics databases
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowThis religious studies database from EBSCO includes 380 full-text scholarly journals and 2,500 indexed journals. Also includes the CATHOLIC PERIODICAL & LITERATURE INDEX, which includes essay collections, church documents, papal documents, and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
- Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThis creatively-named religious studies database from ProQuest contains nearly 300 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 50 full-text magazines.
- Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new windowThis unambitiously-named religion and philosophy database contains over 150 full-text scholarly journals.
Persuasive/Argumentative paper resources
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowThis current events database from Gale contains viewpoints, news, reference content, scholarly articles, and video on 100s of today's hottest topics. Each topic is presented in a pro/con format with balanced and comprehensive resources. A great resource for speeches and debates.
- CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher This link opens in a new window
This background and reference database contains over 4,500 full-text reports on a variety of topics and current affairs. The reports are scholarly and well-referenced, but also quite readable. If you find a report on your topic you will have a great source!
Other searches
- allintitle: "arms sales" site:.gov filetype:pdfGovernment sources
- Jstor: Firearms and manufacturingAdd a keyword in the 'Search within the results' box
- Firearms Industryfrom the Bookings Institution
Article Searches in Library Central
Click on the links below for full-text article search results in Library Central.
Sign in to Library Central (upper right corner) once there for full access facility.
- Povertyonce in the list, add a search term to the word in the search bar:
Poverty AND yourterm - Sustainable Economic GrowthOnce in the list, add a keyword of your choice after the phrase "sustainable economic growth
AND yourterm
Library Central
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowLibrary Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
- Arms SalesBooks in the SAU Library on this topic
Good Philosophy Websites
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)" the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). "
- The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)"The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article. The IEP articles are written by experts but not for experts in analogy to the way the Scientific American magazine is written by scientific experts but not primarily for scientific experts."
- A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names"This is a concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy."
- Credo Reference for BioethicsFor SAU students and faculty/staff only.
- Credo Reference Sources on PhilosophyFor SAU students and faculty/staff only.
- WorldCat Book CatalogTry the subject terms listed above in this out-of-area, much larger catalog. ILL instructions are on the video to the right of this box. Books from this catalog may take up to two weeks to arrive in the mail.
Streaming video
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis database is restricted to SAU community users only. These users can create an account in Films on Demand to save searches and videos in personal playlists onsite.
- Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new windowThis streaming video product includes over 13,000 video clips and over 5,000 full-length videos covering a range of historical topics and eras.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a video streaming service that provides access to over 30,000 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. Can be viewed on-and-off-campus and is completely free for the SAU community.
SAU Reference Librarian
Global warming and Climate change resources
- Credo Reference Book entries on Global Warming and Climate Change"“Climate change” is the now commonly used term, having replaced “global warming,” for the rapid rise in the average temperature of the Earth's surface, including air and ocean, for the past century or more. The increase is widely attributed to the phenomenon known as “the greenhouse effect,” whereby the atmospheric buildup of excess concentrations of carbon dioxide, methane, chlorofluorocarbons, and nitrous oxide—known as greenhouse gases (GHGs)—prevents infrared energy from escaping and traps heat at the earth's surface. Although there remains a minority of staunch skeptics, climate change is almost universally regarded as a fact in the scientific community and generally linked to human activity, in particular the burning of fossil fuels. "
- National Atmospheric and Oceanic Agency"According to NOAA's 2021 Annual Climate Report the combined land and ocean temperature has increased at an average rate of 0.14 degrees Fahrenheit ( 0.08 degrees Celsius) per decade since 1880; however, the average rate of increase since 1981 has been more than twice as fast: 0.32 °F (0.18 °C) per decade."
Need something we don't have?
Have you found the perfect article but don't know if we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.
1. We may have access to the journal in another database. In Library Central, you'll find the Journals A-Z List. From here, you can check a search by journal name and retrieve a comprehensive list of databases in which our journals appear.
2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public--you might find an openly available copy of your article.
3. Using Interlibrary Loan, the library can ask other libraries that subscribe to the journal to send an electronic copy of the article you want. Set up a free user account with your SAU network login to request articles and books. Interlibrary Loan is a service offered to SAU students, faculty & staff only.
- Using Google Scholar Effectively as an SAU studentLink your gmail profile to Google Scholar to see an Access@SAU link to our databases!
Syncing google scholar to your SAU google account
A note to users concerning database searching
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.
PhilPapers.org - Free Articles on Web
- PhilPapers.orgPhilPapers uses advanced trawling techniques and large-scale crowd-sourcing to monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. Our index currently includes 2,481,698 research books and articles. Over 5,000 individuals have contributed content to our index.
PhilPapers includes an Open Access archive that is integrated with its citation index. This innovative fusion has enabled PhilPapers' archive to quickly become the primary open access archive of research in philosophy.
PhilPapers' index and its archive are integrated with the largest structured bibliography in the field. PhilPapers' structured bibliography organizes half a million entries into 5,638 topics at different levels of generality. Classification is maintained by a combination of automatic classification, crowd-sourcing, and curation work done by approximately 400 appointed academics.
Your SAU Librarians
helpful APA style citation guides
- Student Paper Setup Guide"This guide will help you set up an APA Style student paper. The basic setup directions apply to the entire paper. Annotated diagrams illustrate how to set up the major sections of a student paper: the title page or cover page, the text, tables and figures, and the reference list."
- In-Text Citation ChecklistLook at this before handing in your paper.
(chapter 10 refers to the APA style Manual at BF76.7 .P83 2020 in the SAU library)
Your librarians at the Reference Desk in the library atrium can look over your in-text and references citations before handing in your paper to your professor. We can also help by email at librefdesk@sau.edu
or email your Psychology librarian, Stella, at herzigtellaj@sau.edu
Please use your SAU email account when emailing us and attach the paper or google share it to that email . Thanks.