LibGuides: Nano Nagle Online Nursing: Search Strategies

Search Strategies and Tips

When searching for scholarly Nursing articles, a good place to start is library databases. Library databases provide access to high-quality, scholarly articles from reputable journals, which are often not openly accessible on the internet.

This page contains links to databases and tutorials that show how to search for scholarly articles in library databases and online.

Accessing Nursing Databases Text Guide
Another way to access library databases is through the A-Z Databases list on SAU Library's website. This text guide shows how to find databases that are best bets for Nursing students.
Search Tips for Finding Scholarly Nursing Articles
This guide provides a range of search tips and strategies to help you effectively search scholarly databases for nursing articles.

CINAHL

CINAHL Ultimate
This nursing database from EBSCO contains nearly 1,600 full-text scholarly journals. Also includes a number of evidence-based care sheets. Widely considered the premier nursing database in the industry.

CINAHL Text Guide
This guide provides instructions and tips for using CINAHL to find scholarly Nursing articles.

MEDLINE

MEDLINE Complete
This biomedicine and health database from EBSCO contains over 1,000 full-text scholarly journals.

MEDLINE Text Guide
This guide provides instructions and tips for using MEDLINE to find scholarly articles.

PubMed Central

PubMed Central
This biomedical and life sciences database contains nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly journals pertaining to a variety of health and biology fields.

PubMed Central Text Guide

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations and theses, preprints, technical reports, patents, manuscripts in preparation, working papers, and many other document types. Note: Many sources that appear in Google Scholar are NOT peer reviewed.

Google Scholar Text Guide

Scholarly Nursing Journals

Open Access Journals

Open access journals contain articles that are available and reusable worldwide free of charge and without restrictions immediately on publication. A few open access sources are listed below, and these may contain Nursing journal articles.

BioMed Central- BMC Nursing
BMC Nursing is a peer-reviewed journal that covers a variety of aspects of Nursing.

BMC Journals
- If you do not see BMC Nursing, it is not likely a Nursing article. There are several other disciplines that that publish in BMC journals, and they are acceptable to use as well.

PLOS ONE
PLOS ONE is a peer-reviewed scientific journal that covers primary research from any discipline within science and medicine.

BMJ Open
BMJ Open is a peer-reviewed medical journal dedicated to publishing medical research from all disciplines and therapeutic areas.