Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST-400 Capstone Research Experience: HIST-400

HIST-400 This course will build on the fundamental historical skills explored in HIST 205. Emphasis will be placed on choosing a strong research topic, developing a research plan, and exploring preliminary arguments that will lay the groundwork for furthe

Article Analysis

 

In this assignment you will examine a scholarly historical article related to your field of interest, whether that is women’s history, the Middle Ages, modern France, or any number of other topics.  I have included a partial list of peer-reviewed journals available at the SAU Library or via J-STOR.  Articles from other journals may be available via library databases and you may certainly use them as long as they are peer-reviewed.  Check with a reference librarian or with me if have any concerns.

American Historical Review: 

  • Full text available at: Academic Search Elite
  • Available from 02/01/1985.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences I
  • Available from 1895 volume: 1 issue: 1.
    Most recent 6 year(s) not available.

Central European History:

  • Full text available at: Academic Search Elite
  • Available from 03/01/2001.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: MasterFILE Premier
  • Available from 03/01/2001.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: ProQuest Central
  • Available from 03/01/2006.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

Eighteenth Century Studies:

  • Full text available at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences I
  • Available from 1967 volume: 1 issue: 1.
    Most recent 6 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: ProQuest Central
  • Available from 10/01/2002.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

History Workshop:

Journal of American History: 

  • Full text available at: Academic Search Elite
  • Available from 09/01/2003.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences I
  • Available from 1964 volume: 51 issue: 1.
    Most recent 6 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: ProQuest Central
  • Available from 03/01/1988 until 12/31/2011.

Journal of Economic History: 

  • Full text available at: ABI/INFORM Collection
  • Available from 03/01/2001.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences I
  • Available from 1941 volume: 1 issue: 1.
    Most recent 6 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: ProQuest Central
  • Available from 03/01/2001.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: Social Science Database
  • Available from 03/01/2001.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

Journal of Illinois History: 

Journal of Modern History:

Journal of Social History:

Journal of Sport History:

Journal of the History of Ideas:

  • Full text available at: Academic Search Elite
  • Available from 01/01/2005.
  • Full text available at: Academic Search Premier
  • Available from 01/01/2005.
  • Full text available at: Health & Medical Collection
  • Available from 10/01/2002 until 12/31/2015.
    Available from 01/01/2020.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: Healthcare Administration Database
  • Available from 10/01/2002 until 12/31/2015.
    Available from 01/01/2020.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences I
  • Available from 1940 volume: 1 issue: 1.
    Most recent 4 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: ProQuest Central
  • Available from 10/01/2002 until 12/31/2015.
    Available from 01/01/2020.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: Social Science Database
  • Available from 10/01/2002 until 12/31/2015.
    Available from 01/01/2020.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

Journal of World History:

  • Full text available at: Academic Search Elite
  • Available from 03/01/2001.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: Military Database
  • Available from 04/01/1998.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: ProQuest Central
  • Available from 04/01/1998.
    Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

Labor History:

  • Full text available at: ABI/INFORM Collection
  • Available from 04/01/1997 until 08/31/2000.
  • Full text available at: Business Source Elite
  • Available from 01/01/1985.
    Most recent 1 year(s) 6 month(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: Business Source Premier
  • Available from 01/01/1966.
    Most recent 1 year(s) 6 month(s) not available.
  • Full text available at: ProQuest Central
  • Available from 04/01/1997 until 08/31/2000.
  • Full text available at: Sociology Database
  • Available from 04/01/1997 until 08/31/2000.

Mediaeval Studies:

William and Mary Quarterly: