Reference & Instruction Librarian
Books at the SAU Library
- Library Central This link opens in a new windowLibrary Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!
Books and commentaries can also be searched in our partner libraries. Choose SAU & Partner libraries (TRAC) in Library Central at the top of the advanced search box. Be sure to be signed into Library Central (same creds as Blackboard) to order books from our partner university libraries right from the book record! If ordered, Books from Partner libraries will be available at our own SAU circ desk for you to pick up, use and return right here.
Good databases for Theology and Religion
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowThis religious studies database from EBSCO includes 380 full-text scholarly journals and 2,500 indexed journals. Also includes the CATHOLIC PERIODICAL & LITERATURE INDEX, which includes essay collections, church documents, papal documents, and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
- Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThis creatively-named religious studies database from ProQuest contains nearly 300 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 50 full-text magazines.
- Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new windowThis unambitiously-named religion and philosophy database contains over 150 full-text scholarly journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database contains over 2,800 full-text scholarly journals, 30,000 full-text eBooks, and 40,000 full-text research reports from various organizations and policy institutes. Beoved by many old-school professors in the humanities and social sciences.
Search strategy suggestions
(prophecy OR prophets) AND (hebrew OR Judaism OR judaic OR Jewish OR "old testament" ) AND (commentary OR commentaries)
NOT ("new testament")
(prophecy OR prophets) AND (hebrew OR Judaism OR judaic OR Jewish OR "old testament" ) AND (commentary OR commentaries) AND (MICAH) NOT ("new testament")
Add a prophet's name or a scholar's last name in the ( ) that includes MICAH above instead of the word MICAH
Copy and paste these into a database for a more focused list
SAU Interlibrary Loan Portal
- SAU Interlibrary Loan PortalOrder full-text articles and books from other libraries (if not already available through our databases). The librarians will obtain them for you. SAU users only. SIgn in with SAU credentials.