LibGuides: Hot Topics: Sustainability: Law and Legislation

Books in the SAU Collection

Before Earth Day: the origins of American environmental law, 1945-1970 by Karl Boyd Brooks; Brooks Karl Boyd
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks KF3775 .B727 2009
ISBN: 0700616276
Publication Date: 2009
Prvides historical cntext to a paper: "Description: "To think like an environmental lawyer" : making American environmental law throughout the postwar era -- Seed time : planting environmental law in the postwar years -- Fertilization : environmental lawmaking in the postwar administrative state -- Harvest home : environmental lawmaking and postwar federalism -- The people out of doors : popularizing postwar environmental law -- Across the new frontier : nationalizing environmental law -- From the files of Bruce Bowler, postwar environmental lawyer -- "A field so varied and rapidly changing" : American law schools discover environmental law -- Conclusion: Environmental law's unstable legacy."
The ABCs of Environmental Regulation by Albert I. Telsey
Call Number: Library First Floor Reference REF KF3775 .T45 2016
ISBN: 9781598887259
Publication Date: 2016
We have a scanner for sections.

Database for searching legal cases and law reviews

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database includes over 17,000 full-text news sources. Also includes a wealth of company/financial information and a variety of legal cases. Can be tricky to search, but useful under the right circumstances.

A note to users concerning database searching

If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.

Selected Web sites

Laws & Regulations: EPA
from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Centre for International Sustainable Development Law (CISDL)
"The mission of the Centre for International Sustainable Development Law (CISDL) is to promote legal education relating to sustainable societies and the protection of ecosystems by advancing the understanding, development and implementation of international sustainable development law."
more...less...
It has full-text materials too.
ENVIRONMENTAL LAW: AN OVERVIEW
"A variety of protections with the goal of protecting the environment. Environmental law is a “belt-and-suspenders” collection of laws that work together and often overlap in areas."
Investment law and policy on the Environment
"The International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) is an award-winning independent think tank working to fulfill a bold commitment: to create a world where people and the planet thrive."
Yale Center for Environmental Law and Policy
"a joint undertaking between the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies and the Yale Law School, seeks to incorporate fresh thinking, ethical awareness, and analytically rigorous decision-making tools into environmental law and policy."
Code of Federal Regulations on Ecological, Social, and Economic Sustainability
36 CFR 219.19 to be specific.
Sustainable Development Law & Policy
"Sustainable Development Law & Policy ("SDLP") is a student-run initiative at American University, Washington College of Law that focuses on reconciling the tensions between environmental sustainability, economic development, and human welfare. The SDLP journal embraces an interdisciplinary approach to provide a fuller view of current legal, political, and social developments. Our mission is to serve as a valuable resource for practitioners, policy makers, and concerned citizens promoting sustainable development throughout the world."