Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks GV706.3 .E866 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Chapters include:Sports enhancement / Performance-enhancing substances in sports : a review of the literature / Science at the Olympics : four selections -- Ethics of technologically constructed hypoxic environments in sport / Gene transfer for pain : a tool to cope with the intractable or an unethical endurance-enhancing technology?
Call Number: REF RC1206 .W67 2007 V.1-2 SAU Library First Floor In Library Only-- We have a scanner
Publication Date: 2006
Includes bibliographical references and index.--World of Sports Science provides a comprehensive overview of the science of sports. Consisting of 600 entries alphabetically organized across 2 volumes, entries will range in length from 250 to 2,500 words and include theoretical and practical treatment of all aspects of sports science, including Doping in Sports.
Call Number: REF RC1218.C45 Y678 2008 SAU Library First Floor In Library Only -- We have a scanner
Publication Date: 2007
Includes bibliographical references and index.--∗ An essential text that defines the medical and scientific aspects of the child and adolescent athlete ∗ Meets the need for a responsible approach to the developing athlete ∗ Covers key concepts in six sections: Growth, Maturation, and Physical Performance; Conditioning; Injuries; Non-orthopaedic Health Concerns; Psychosocial Issues; Disease and the Young Athlete. Look in the Index for drug topics.
Call Number: GV706.3 .E86 2007 SAU Library Second Floor
Publication Date: 2007
Includes bibliographical references and index.--The finest and most comprehensive collection of literature to date on moral and ethical issues confronting sport in contemporary society. The diverse anthology of essays written by world-renowned scholars reflect the significance of the sporting world .
"Description: Our sporting heroes do things with their bodies that are almost superhuman. But how many of them reach these heights illegally? As sports continue to hit the headlines for all the wrong reasons, Horizon investigates the controversial world of doping. Discover the extraordinary ways professional cheaters avoid detection, and meet the amateur athletes destroying their bodies in pursuit of perfection. Presenter Xand van Tulleken undergoes a unique experiment in endurance with his twin brother Chris, and interviews Tim Montgomery – once the fastest man in the world – to find out why many sportspeople risk their health to win.
A BBC Production."
"The debate over athletes' use of steroids and other performance-enhancing drugs has taken on newfound urgency in recent years with more and more revelations of widespread use throughout the sports world. Are these athletes breaking the rules for an unfair advantage over others? Are they endangering their own health, and that of younger athletes encouraged to follow suit? Or is it hypocritical for society to disdain drug use for sports, when it encourages consumers to seek drugs to treat all sorts of ailments and conditions? Has the risk to athletes been overstated? Should we accept performance-enhancing drugs in competitive sports?"
In the not-so-distant future, athletes and other physically active people won’t use needles, pills, or stick-ons for extra strength and endurance—those traits will be cultivated genetically. But one person’s athletic utopia is another’s sci-fi nightmare, and the World Anti-Doping Agency is already raising the alarm. This program examines the controversy in the wider context of biomedical advances as well as in the arena of sports. Featured case studies include gene therapy experiments with mice conducted by famed researcher Dr. Nadia Rosenthal and several other genetically relevant medical examples. Renowned geneticist Dr. Theodore Freidmann is also interviewed. Contains brief posterior nudity related to steroid use testing. "
Steroids, syringes and stigma: the quest for the perfect male six-pack. In the search for a quick route to a muscular physique, many young men turn to controversial anabolic steroids to achieve their goals. But in the wake of deaths in the bodybuilding community, do the statistics showing a fourfold increase in their use, really add up?
Producer:: Guardian News & Media Ltd.
A note to users concerning database searching
If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.