Skip to main content

Nursing 420 - Research Utilization: Off campus access

A guide to useful resources for nursing students.

Ebsco Databases

CINAHL

CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.

CINAHL Complete


MEDLINE

MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Medline Complete

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

Health Source: Nursing

Need something we don't have?

Have you found the perfect article, but it doesn't appear that we subscribe to it? Here are some steps you can take.

1. We may have access to that journal in another database. Under the Resources tab of the library homepage, you'll find the Periodical Holding List. From here, you can check a comprehensive list of which databases our journals appear in.

2. Try searching for the title of the article in Google Scholar. Any research that makes use of taxpayer funding must be eventually released to the public - you might find an openly available copy of your article.

3. We can go to other libraries that subscribe to the journal, and have them send us a copy. Go to the Interlibrary Loan page, and choose "Borrow a Journal Article." Fill out the information the form requests, and if it's available, we can get you a copy of the article in 3-10 days.

Primary vs. Secondary Guidelines

If you'd like a refresher on what qualifies as a primary source, the American Journal of Nursing has provided guidelines as used by authors submitting to the journal.

Other Library Databases

Internet Resources

APA Format Resources

Citation builders, such as EasyBib, NoodleTools Express, Ebscohost Cite, etc. seem to simplify the construction of a references list; however, there are often errors that need to be corrected. Use the APA tutorial below to learn the proper formatting, order, and mechanics of the elements of a citation.

Subject Guide

Julia (Dickinson) Salting's picture
Julia (Dickinson) Salting
Contact:
St. Ambrose University Library. Office# 131
563-333-6244