Skip to main content

HIST 401: Senior Seminar- Vietnam Wars: SAU Archives & Special Collections

Archives and Special Collections

Open Monday - Friday 8 a.m - 5 p.m.

Appointments are preferred. 
Please contact the archivist at MarquezOnnicaF@sau.edu or (563) 333 - 5868.

To access the Archives and Special Collections, head to the third floor of the library.  Look for the director's office along the blue wall. The entry to the archives is through the director's assistant, Julie Dobek's, office.  We will be sure to pull the appropriate materials for you ahead of time.  We look forward to your visit!

SAU Library Archives & Special Collections

The following primary sources are available for research by appointment.

Poster - "On Strike" used during student protests on campus

Vietnam War Veteran's Oral Histories, four interviews conducted in the fall of 2006

(audio recordings with transcripts)

1. Thomas R. Crowder interviewed by Kelly Kratt

2. Mike Bladel interviewed by Amy M. Oliger

3. Bill Loane interviewed by Kelsey Smith

4. Dennis M. Reese interviewed by Andrea Reese

St. Ambrose on Strike

Historiography class project, Fall 1970, Francis M. Speltz, consultant

Analysis of local and national events May 1970 surrounding Kent State killings, other protests of Vietnam War, and schools striking (including St. Ambrose College)

Student Newspaper Collection 

The Ambrosian News: 1931/32-1967/68

Paper S.A.C.: 1968/69 - 1983/84

Yearbook Collection 

The Oaks: 
1948 - 1984

 

 

 

History of the University

Bees & Burr Oaks - 100 Years of St. Ambrose College, by Rev. Anthony G. Farrell '60, 1982

A Great and Lasting Beginning: The First 125 Years of St. Ambrose University, Rev. George W. McDaniel '66, 2006

 

John Smith Personal Papers

Smith was a history professor at St. Ambrose College who kept records related to Vietnam - ranging from amnesty and draft resistance to peace protests he assisted in organizing and material he saved for his coursework.  The finding aid below lists the subject areas in his collection of 12 boxes and 6 scrapbooks of news clippings.  Items known to be Vietnam-related are highlighted in yellow in the finding aid.