Skip to main content

KIN 224: Foundations and History of Physical Education: SAU Archives resources

"Introductory course . . . with focus on historical, theoretical and philosophical aspects of physical education."

Archives and Special Collections

Open Monday - Friday 8 a.m - 5 p.m.

Appointments are preferred.  
Please contact the archivist atLovewellHeatherL@sau.edu or (563) 333 - 5868.

To access the Archives and Special Collections, head to the third floor of the library.  Look for the director's office along the blue wall.  The entry to the archives is through the director's assistant, Kathy Byer's, office.  We will be sure to pull the appropriate materials for you ahead of time.  We look forward to your visit!

SAU Archives & Special Collections

The following primary sources are available for research by appointment.

Student Newspaper Collection 

Ambrosian News: 1931/32-1967/68

The Paper Sac: 1968/69 - 1983/84

Ambrose Magazine: Fall 1984 - Spring 1992

The Buzz: Fall 1992 - present

 


Yearbook Collection 

The Ambrosian: 1913 - 1923 - earlier yearbooks often give a play-by-play account of major athletic events

The Oaks: 1940 -1941; 1948 -1984

 

       

 


The Ambrosian

This is a literary publication that was published by the students.  1923/24 - 1942/43

Although there are many fiction pieces, this quarterly publication also includes reports on athletics.  


History of the University

Bees & Burr Oaks - 100 Years of St. Ambrose College, by Rev. Anthony G. Farrell '60, 1982

A Great and Lasting Beginning: The First 125 Years of St. Ambrose University,

Rev. George W. McDaniel '66, 2006


Athletic Department Sports Information Collection

The Athletic Department has kept records about the sports program at St. Ambrose College and later University that span from 1892-2011.  Please peruse the finding aid below to become better acquainted with the 31 boxes of files stored in the archives.